We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place despite some disappointments” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Toscana Laticastelli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Toscana Laticastelli
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rapolano Terme
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice place despite some disappointments”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We (my husband and I) stayed in Laticastelli for 5 nights in September. The place is really beautiful, cosy and you fell in a tuscan villa. Swimming pool area is great, and has a very beautiful view. The bedroom and the bathroom are large. Our bed was not confortable because it was tilted to one side. So sleep quality was not good enough.

We had a little problem with the air conditioner because the remote control batteries ran off. It was a little late, like 11 pm, we called reception and kindly asked for new batteries because it was really hot. Nicoleta seemed not to believe that the problem was the battery and was rude on the phone and when came to our room. She grabs the remote from my hands roughly and went out of the room stomping her feet. I was a little shocked. Maybe it's the italian way... I don't know... well, but she's not even italian he he. Than she went back with new batteries, I thanked her and she said you're welcome rudely again. I got shocked because she was so polite and friendly by email and the time we checked in.

There's no drain in the bathroom and there's a courtain in shower area. One night while I was taking a shower the courtain wasn't positioned properly and the floor was like a swimming pool!

Breakfast was a real disappointment. We felt like we were on a plane. Almost everything was in small packages, everything is industrialized. We were expecting fresh fruits and local ingredients from Tuscany. We got canned fruits and regular cheese and ham, even beeing in the land of the prosciutto and pecorino cheese. Croissant were soft, not crunchy.

The restaurant, when the breakfast is served has a beautiful view and staff is nice. We had dinner there twice: first time we had a delicious goat cheese, tomatoes and watercress salad for entry and then a delicious tartuffo sauce pasta. Second time I got a seafood pasta that was totally blend, my husband had a pasta as well that he didn't like. After that we didn't come back to the restaurant.

Location is great: you are very near Siena, that is a lovely town and has lots of nice places to have dinner. And you are very central, near the best areas to visit, like Val d'Orcia (amazing), Chianti, Monteriggioni, Colle di Val d'Elsa etc.

Room Tip: I think you should ask for bedrooms in the center of the hotel area to avoid bedrooms that faces the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    66
    19
    3
    3
See reviews for
46
189
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cordoba, Spain
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

I was in Laticastelli 5 years ago, but I stil remember how wonderful was my stay there. The staff were really kind and you could breathe peace. The cooker, I think his name is Lucho, was amazing. I tasted there the best tiramisu in the world. Our room was very charming and they had a shampoo with olive oil that leaves your hair perfumed all the day.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
336 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

Laticastelli is a very smal medioeval place, 27 rooms which actually are the old houses resfurbished.

Rooms are nice and clean. Good size, if you think you are living a medioeval house!

Breakfast and dinber are in a countryside overlooking terrace, same as swimmingpool. In this area hills are less green and alittle bit dry, so it is a different view compare to the other part of Chiantishire.

Love the quite, kindness all around of the staff.

It is an absolutely shame in Italy when breakfast has not fresh bread and home made cakes. It is so easy to fine a proper bakery...
Really this is a shame...

I will come back passing by. Realky thank you to everybody.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francesca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

We did not stay at this hotel, but went to them 4 times for lunch and dinner. The view from the restaurant is fantastic and the food equally great. Definitely a pleasant experience. Bisteca Fiorentina must be one of their specialties, along with a dark and white chocolate cake that simply melts in your mounth!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MadaNea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We fell in love with Laticastelli from the moment we drove onto the property! Truly breathtaking! Location fantastic – in the heart of Tuscany. For wine lovers a paradise – can visit Chianti, Montepulciano, Montalcino. Very close to Sienna. Staff great & very knowledgeable - both Luca and the owner Gonzalo gave us some great tips on where to go - we drove to Florence one day, chianti region the next. We were a group of family and friends with kids ranging in age from 8-15. The pool is awesome!! Absolutely perfect to head out to the pool after a long day of touring and the setting, among the rolling hills is beautiful and very conducive to relaxing with a bottle of Prosecco! Our rooms were huge and very comfortable. It was still quite cool in the evenings when we went so we could turn off the a/c and sleep with the windows open - heavenly! We cannot say enough great things about Laticastelli and really hope to return some day!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ramicaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Laticastelli is a corner of paradise just outside Siena, surrounded by verdant woodland within a landscape of incomparable beauty in exceptional location with an excellent reception.
The rustic, rural wooden furniture is complemented by antique doors and windows, with marble and travertine contributing to the enchanting melange of styles
Pristine and beautiful, you can enjoy typical Tuscan high quality dishes.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anuar74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

Our family of four including two teenage daughters (13 & 16) stayed for three nights while touring around Tuscany. Fabulous, historical accomodation, great running routes for a triathlete, outstanding infinite pool and the most charming hosts we have every experienced! We look forward to our return visit again!

Sue & Jim from Toronto, Canada

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachhouseowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapolano Terme
17.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclu...
#2 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
8.1 mi away
Montaperti Hotel
Montaperti Hotel
#1 of 1 in Casanova Pansarine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,482 reviews
6.6 mi away
Castello di Leonina Relais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#2 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
13.3 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
5.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
19.4 mi away
Albergo Le Terme
Albergo Le Terme
#2 of 3 in Bagno Vignoni
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Toscana Laticastelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Toscana Laticastelli

Property: Hotel Toscana Laticastelli
Address: SS 78, km 23 | Località Laticastelli, 53040, Rapolano Terme, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Rapolano Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rapolano Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Toscana Laticastelli 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Toscana Laticastelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing