We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this place! I've been twice and going again!”
Review of The Monkey Hut

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Laguna de Apoyo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Monkey Hut
Certificate of Excellence
Wicklow, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“I love this place! I've been twice and going again!”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I love monkey hut! The Lago de Apoyo is one of the most amazing places I've ever seen in my life! Can you imagine swimming in mineral water inside the crater of a volcano? Well you can do it here - or you can kayak, lye in a rubber tube or just float around in a life jacket - and Monkey Hut provides all of this! Don't go to Nicaragua without visiting this place! It is just breathtaking! The only thing I'll say is maybe bring your own food! Monkey Hut allow you use their kitchen! The restaurant service is terrible but that is no fault whatsoever of the Monkey Hut as the food is run by another company!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Allan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    52
    22
    13
    9
See reviews for
23
53
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013 via mobile

We were taken here by Ramon of No Rush Tours (who is wonderful). We easily could have spent a long time here just poking around, swimming and sunning. The staff is nice. We ordered a pizza and a couple of Tonas. The pizza was very good. We watched an iguana roam around while we ate, and then we popped in the wonderful water for a swim. The water is like a bath. They provide tubes and kayaks, and there is a floating dock to just hang out on. There is a shower to clean up before you go. It's a lovely way to spend a lazy afternoon, or day.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Krissie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

The grounds itself and the lake are great. It's gorgeous there (looked a lot better than when we kayaked by Oasis) but can ultimately be enjoyed in a day. The room was 29$ with a shared bathroom and was definitely not worth the cost. It looked like it was put together in 15 minutes with plywood planks. It was ridiculously hot and soo so noisy (we were on the bottom level and we could hear everything happening upstairs). The shared bathroom was small and not that clean. Realistically, it was one of the worst rooms we stayed in in a month in nicaragua. The foods good and reasonably priced.
Overall, a really nice place to relax but the rooms are awful. You cannot get food after 6 and it is completely dead. There is literally no one around, no common area, mothing to do, no games or pool table or anything. My guess is there was maybe 6 guests while we were there. So bring some cards and a book if you're going to stay! It would be worth it if you could afford the beachside cabana.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank j123456123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed a night at monkey hut after making reservations before hand, although when i showed up they didnt have my reservation. Luckly the place was empty and i got a room. Maybe a good place for the day but not worth staying there as its small and no ones around. They close the kitchen at six, although they dont tell you that, so if your staying the night you got to eat early. The grounds are kept nice and they do provide some water fun like kayaks and inner tubes.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank briswan20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

So, first: we did not stay at The Monkey Hut; we only spent a few hours there. But we had good food, cold beer, and a fun time swimming in the lake. There is a US $6 entrance fee if you're not a guest. This might seem a bit steep by Nica standards, but it's a nice place to spend the day. The property itself is very pretty (bungalows built on a fairly steep hillside) and has a dramatic view. Although extremely deep, the lake is quite warm, thanks to geothermal warming. It was very windy and wavy the day we were there, and locals reported that is how it usually is. The waves made things more fun, anyway. There are a couple kayaks and a few inner tube floats you can use, and there is a dock you can swim out to (kind of tricky getting onto it with the waves!). Lunch was quite good, and not particularly expensive. There are plenty of nice, shady spots to sit or lie down, and it's fairly cool due to the breeze off the lake. There's nothing particularly fancy about the place, so don't go if you're looking for luxury. But if you want a nice, mellow place to hang out, enjoy the view with a cold Tona, and swim in a warm volcanic lake.... then go! Enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gringoflaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

If you want 4-star hotel accommodations this place is only a day time hangout to soak up sun, kayak, swim, have drinks, relax in hammocks, and have a few appetizers. If you are the camping type and need a cheap place to stay then you will really appreciate an overnight stay here also. I've experienced both on separate occasions during my trip to Nicaragua. Other than Playa Popoyo, this was possibly the most rugged stay however I don't mind that especially on this dream of a lake and at a low rate.

They run a tab of everything: activities, room, drinks .. except food so don't be offended if you're asked to pay when served.

Pros: view, lake access, low room rate
Cons: food is hit-or-miss, minimalist room amenities

Room Tip: Appearently it's tough to get the hut but I'd bet it's the best place to stay. The dorm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

My husband and I didn't stay at Hut, we traveled in from Granada for the day to hang out on property. We took the Managua Express from Granada (about $1) and told the driver where we were going. The bus stopped on a highway, we crossed the street and walked up the road a bit until we could catch a taxi.

We were both so glad we visited this hostel. It as so chill. There was a nominal fee to spend the day there and received a pass that was used by the bar/restaurant staff to keep a tab of drink and food orders.

We spent the day lounging on hammocks (with adult beverages in hand) and enjoyed the breeze off of the lake. If you go, bring a swim suit as there are kayaks, inner tubes and a floating dock. Lunch order took a bit, but it was well worth it. We both ordered the whole fish and it was delicious. One of the tastier meals we had in Nica. In all we spent about $55 on property b/w admission, food and bev (2 entree lunches, 4 drinks (alchoholic and non) per person and a Monkey Hut tank top.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank thedoodlegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Laguna de Apoyo
1.7 mi away
Pacaya Lodge & Spa
Pacaya Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Catarina
103 reviews
3.7 mi away
Madera's Inn
Madera's Inn
#3 of 5 in Masaya
61 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel con Corazon
Hotel con Corazon
#2 of 43 in Granada
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Los Patios Hotel
Los Patios Hotel
#6 of 43 in Granada
321 reviews
6.9 mi away
Casa San Francisco
Casa San Francisco
#5 of 43 in Granada
700 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Monkey Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Monkey Hut

Property: The Monkey Hut
Address: Laguna de Apoyo del triangulo 100 metros al Norte | Catarina, La Laguna de Apoyo, Masaya NVT, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Masaya Department > Masaya > La Laguna de Apoyo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in La Laguna de Apoyo
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Monkey Hut Nicaragua/La Laguna De Apoyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing