We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostel on the Lake”
Review of The Monkey Hut

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Laguna de Apoyo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Monkey Hut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We have never stayed at this hostel over night but go to it for the day. They have day passes where you can use the facilities for swimming and kayaking. Wonderful relaxation with no one trying to sell you anything or anyone begging for money. Free coffee with day pass and food available to buy.

Room Tip: Take a bus to the turnoff and then a taxi to the resort or take a bus both to and from the resort fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juanita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

I emailed to reserve a spot and they got back to me right away. We got a great big hut right down by the water with amazing views! Apoyo Laguna is a great place to stay or just to visit for the day. We ended up bringing our whole crew back a few days later just to have lunch and go for a swim. They gave us a good deal because we had stayed with them a few nights before and they knew we were just there for a couple hours. Definitely recommend!!

Room Tip: Ask for the big room! It's not much more expensive but it's more private and the best locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikematika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

OK, no doubt the nicest place I've been to in Nica.
The hotel has just been rebuilt so everything is new and modern. It has AMAZING waterfront view and easy lake access (the water are clean and not that cold). We got the iguana room- a double room with bathroom and a balcony overlooking the laguna. It's right near the front desk.
A few important notes: The walls are extremely thin so you really hear every word being said outside and it feels creepy.
The windows and glass balcony doors have really thin curtains so they are kind of see threw. All in all, no sense of privacy even though you are in a private room with your own shower (which is clean and you get really fluffy towels, but the water pressure is really LOW).
At first we were a bit bothered by that but we grew into not noticing (at night it is really quite) and the place was so clean and beautiful that we really didn't care at all and stayed 2 nights!
There is a kitchen you could use with everything you need to cook so I recommend bringing some food. The only other option is ordering food from a near by restaurant which will be brought to you by a waiter (8:00 am to 20:00) and you have to pay cash for. You can buy drinks and water at the hotel.
All in all, I think this place is amazing and would have given it 5 stars if the shower was better and the curtains a bit heavier.
There is a dorm room with bathroom and, another room like the one I've been to (Iguana- 51$ include taxes, no breakfast, free coffe), 2 more private rooms and a cabin near the water.,

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naomi2586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Amazing location, good setup, and not too expensive..take the large cabina at the top if you can, amazing restful sleep with nice views from its deck... definitely a place to visit while at Nica!

You buy drinks from a separately run restaurant, but its convenient, with good service, and they take it up to your room if you so desire :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike55959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The first time we stayed here it was magical. Gorgeous sunrises over the lake, great friends joined us, sun every day and fun in the lake. Our room was clean and spacious. Some members of staff were a little cold towards us but mostly nice. The groundskeeper was great, he showed us where some howler monkeys were, they were so close to the hostel then over the next few days they were crawling in the trees above where we were chilling out near the lake, it was amazing! I would recommend bringing your own food, there is a little kitchen you can use, which made it cheaper for us, just be aware they will charge you for bringing beer/alcohol on the premises because they have a bar and sell beer and things there. Great time had here xXx

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I do not recomend this place to anyone that appreciates a good service. The service from all the staff is not what you expect from a decent place. You have to always have cash with you if you want something to eat, and so you don't have to wait for AN HOUR to pay for your drinks. They claim it is because of the location, but I've been to other of the restaurants around the lagoon and have never had this kind of problems, and most certainly never have been treated with this attitud.
And they even didn't have available the so mentioned home-made pizza.
I definetly won't be coming back soon to this place. There are at least three more places near by that are way better than Monkey Hut.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NicaTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I love monkey hut! The Lago de Apoyo is one of the most amazing places I've ever seen in my life! Can you imagine swimming in mineral water inside the crater of a volcano? Well you can do it here - or you can kayak, lye in a rubber tube or just float around in a life jacket - and Monkey Hut provides all of this! Don't go to Nicaragua without visiting this place! It is just breathtaking! The only thing I'll say is maybe bring your own food! Monkey Hut allow you use their kitchen! The restaurant service is terrible but that is no fault whatsoever of the Monkey Hut as the food is run by another company!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Allan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Laguna de Apoyo
1.7 mi away
Pacaya Lodge & Spa
Pacaya Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Catarina
122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paradiso Hostel
Paradiso Hostel
#1 of 8 in La Laguna de Apoyo
337 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laguna Beach Club
Laguna Beach Club
#2 of 8 in La Laguna de Apoyo
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Apoyo Lodge
Apoyo Lodge
#3 of 6 in La Laguna de Apoyo
112 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa Marimba
Casa Marimba
#2 of 6 in La Laguna de Apoyo
118 reviews
1.4 mi away
San Simian Eco Lodge
San Simian Eco Lodge
#1 of 6 in La Laguna de Apoyo
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Monkey Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Monkey Hut

Address: Laguna de Apoyo del triangulo 100 metros al Norte | Catarina, La Laguna de Apoyo, Masaya NVT, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Masaya Department > Masaya > La Laguna de Apoyo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in La Laguna de Apoyo
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Monkey Hut Nicaragua/La Laguna De Apoyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing