We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful setting, good facilities, uninspiring menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Paradiso Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paradiso Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful setting, good facilities, uninspiring menu”
Reviewed 11 February 2013

This place nearly has it all. The setting is superb - the lake is a deep blue and the views from the common areas, dining areas and lakeside relaxation areas are all excellent. The surrounding gardens are lush and green, and care has obviously been taken to cultivate a wide variety of colourful flowers. The common areas include a variety of shaded sofa areas, hammocks and deck chairs which can be placed out in the sun. There is a secondary area lakeside which is similarly well attired.

The lake itself is clean and warm, and I found it highly enticing from dawn to dusk. The hotel have anchored a swimming deck about 20m out into the lake which is excellent and chilling and sunning. The free use of the kayaks and tubes also contributes to the lake's appeal. The whole hotel is cooled by a seemingly constant breeze off the lake - very welcome in this generally oppressively hot part of Nicaragua.

The staff are friendly and generally helpful. There are a number of other nice touches such as free coffee/tea and a fast wifi connection that can be picked up throughout the property.

All in all I really enjoyed my stay and found it a great place to relax for a few days.

However, see below for a couple of negative points which it you should be aware of:

- The food situation here really isn't great. The menu is ridicously brief (think bolognese, frozen mini pizzas, quesadillas or plato tipico), and the food itself was average at best and rather over priced. The restaurant closes quite early, and one evening the lady operating the kitchen was only willing to cook the Tipico or Quesadillas. The portions are also very small. There are a limited range of other options available a shortish walk from the hotel, but I didn't feel comfortable walking around at night outside the compound.

- Every day a van arrives with day trippers from Granada. This is fine, but means that the lakeside area is typically more crowded from 10.30am to 3.30pm. Not a big deal.

- Security was a concern outside the hotel. We heard of a lady who got mugged in the time we stayed there, and have subsequently heard of other such incidents. Note that these incidents happened OUTSIDE the hotel itself, jsut something to be aware of (ie, I didn't want to walk around at night looking for food). Also note that this mugging occurred in broad daylight (5pm). The hotel itself is secure, with a large gate which it keeps locked, bars on the windows of rooms and a security guard at night.

All in all, a really great place to chill out for a few days. If the could sort out their kitchen, this place would be a five stars for me for sure.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    96
    25
    13
    3
See reviews for
35
115
54
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

For everyone's information, the really nice married couple that were managing this place were kicked out by the out of town owner. No warning, just given 20 minutes to pack up their belongings and go! So much for their great reviews given on this website! I would be extremely hesitant to stay here without their wonderful hospitality, and friendly welcome.

Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank tropiclover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tata123, Propietario at Paradiso Hostel, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
This is TRUE!!!!!! The volunteer managers that came to work since November the 3rd left, and I did give them an hour to leave the premises. If you read the "un hotel a la abandon" review you will realiize why!!!! I have had 3 different managers throughout the years and sadly this managers for 10 weeks ALMOST ruin the quiet and CLEAN atmosphere Paradiso takes great pride to have. We are not a "party hostel", and we do not like any managers that promote it. THERE IS NEW MANAGEMENT INDEED!!! TAKE NOTE!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Mark and Dani are the coolest managers Paradiso has ever had - they (along with the spectacular volcano lake) make the place totally worth it! Good price, decent food, great bar/lounge area down by the water - check this place out! If the owners replaced the concrete slab on the property with some garden area, it would be 100% in my books!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffemmett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2012

I went to Laguna Apoyo from Granada with a shuttle. Hostel Oasis in Granada has a shuttle that runs every day to Hostel Paradiso, the shuttle costs $6. You can also get there by local transport, but it's a bit more complicated.

The staff at Paradiso were really friendly and cool. They serve food as well, but they didn't have that much to choose from. I'd recommend you go to some other restaurant nearby for food...

Hostel Paradiso let's you bring your own food, beer and other beverages without you having to pay "taxes" as you do at the Monkey Hut. They have full sized lockers for you to lock your big bag in. They have a bar where they sell beer and alcohol, but you can also go to the local store down the street if you want to save a little bit of money.

Room Tip: The dorms get very bright in the morning. Bring a blindfold if you have a hard time sleeping when it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olof S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 November 2012

This was my second trip to Paradiso with my girlfriend. It used to be called Crater’s Edge, which is a much cooler name, but the disappointments end there. We really like this place because it has the cheapest prices on the lake, but it doesn’t sacrifice on the amenities. The kayaks are free (which is very rare), the lake water is super warm, and the beers are cold. We don’t always eat from their menu, but it is a treat when we do. Seriously, what kind of hostel has this kind of food? There is new management, and the married couple (I forget their names, sorry guys!) that runs the joint is super friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Dorm beds are all you need here. The private rooms are very clean, but spartan. Anyway, you're n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KillinMeSoftly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leon, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

This place is really nice, you have a great view of the lagoon with lots of sofas, hammocks and chairs for you to lounge in. It is really quiet and relaxing, there is a private beach with a pontoon you can swim out to. The managers are exceptionally friendly and make a huge effort to make you feel at home.
The food is a bit expensive and average standard, I would rather take the walk a couple of minutes away to the village for seafood.
I saw that somebody got mugged outside the hotel. I don't think that would be the hotels fault though. I have come to the laguna many times and I never felt unsafe.
We paid 32 dollars for a room with a private bath. I think that was too expensive, the room was small and not too clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emballage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I was mugged in front of the hotel after the manager assured me it'd be safe. The robber had a weapon. Be careful! The manager claimed to have gone to the police but came back with no police report and dissuaded me from going myself ("It's really far away and hard to get to.")

Check out the Monkey Hut or Selva Azul, both have nicer amenities and more affordable dining options.

Room Tip: Check that your locks work and that you can't fit your hand in through the window to unlock/open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tata123, Propietario at Paradiso Hostel, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
We are sorry that any guest of ours is mugged OUTSIDE of the hostel, at night, while walking alone. We do have signs advising guests that when leaving the hostel do not take any valuables. Muggings are very rare in the Laguna de Apoyo, but as in any other part of the world,, they do happen, without discrimination of the hostel where you might be staying. This guest , who spent one night in the hostel and who complains in the review of our dinner prices was curiously given by those same managers free dinner and free drinks that night. The managers hiked up to the police station the next day , (their is no 911 service in Nicaragua!) her purse was found in the shores of the Laguna, and the police did arrive the next day for the report , when the guest had already left. We encourage any traveler to take the necessary precautions when travelling!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Laguna de Apoyo
1.6 mi away
Pacaya Lodge & Spa
Pacaya Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Catarina
74 reviews
3.6 mi away
Madera's Inn
Madera's Inn
#3 of 5 in Masaya
59 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Plaza Colon
Hotel Plaza Colon
#3 of 43 in Granada
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Selva Azul
Hotel Selva Azul
#4 of 9 in La Laguna de Apoyo
121 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Peace Project Hostel
The Peace Project Hostel
#5 of 9 in La Laguna de Apoyo
82 reviews
1.6 mi away
San Simian Eco Lodge
San Simian Eco Lodge
#1 of 5 in La Laguna de Apoyo
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradiso Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradiso Hostel

Property: Paradiso Hostel
Address: Laguna de Apoyo, La Laguna de Apoyo, Masaya 48000, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Masaya Department > Masaya > La Laguna de Apoyo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in La Laguna de Apoyo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have you had a chance to wake up in the middle of nature?We give you the chance!We offer the option of spending the night here, with a price to suit every budget.For our overnight guests we offer triple, double or single rooms with private or shared bathroom, as well as a spacious room with an amazing view of the sunrise over the lake. Our well-stocked bar & restaurant serves refreshing cocktails and delicious homemade comfort food at a great price.We have direct access to the water with a nice sandy beach, free kayaks, floating dock and some water toys as well. Come here to play volleyball, table tennis or to try the only 'petanque' (boules) area in the south of Nicaragua. We offer awesome patio views, landscaped gardens, a wonderful shady ranch with sun chairs, hammocks and a bar right on the water's edge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Paradiso Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradiso Hostel Nicaragua/La Laguna De Apoyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing