We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”
Review of Hotel Selva Azul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Selva Azul
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile


The email we sent to the owner says it all (8 days later and still no response):

Tim

we were truly disappointed and felt totally let down with the service you provided.

We arrived at 12 to find nobody there, just the south african and german guests.

They said we had to wait until 14 00 for the room when you would return. You did not and there was no sign of a room at 1400. I tracked down.your staff at 1430 and asked for an update. They hastily gave me a key, signalling the room was ready. It was disgusting and after i pushed they started to clean it. They 'finished' and i found cigarette butts in the room, a disgusting outside and filthy pool. There was also 1 stained towel, no running water in the sink and everything was disconnected. Not a good start.

I had to ask 3 times for them to clean it just as a rabid dog vommited outside our door.

We found no working light above the bed, still butts in the room and a non adjustable fan. We then found after i connected everything myself that there were no sky channels. Again, terrible.

The room was finally clean but without a clean pool by 1530.

Over the next two hours, again when i was told you would return by 1600 then 1800, at least 15 people tried to come in our room/'private' pool.

We spoke at 1900 and you said you would return by 2000-2030. You did not.

We had no information about food, drink, breakfast or indeed what you had planned for my wifes birthday.

You still failed to arrive by 2230 which quite frankly i find massively unprofessional and disrespectful.

We then awoke after a terrible nights sleep due to the dirty sheets, a crazy leaking tap and anxiety surrounding the situation to find nothing but a vomitting dog on the porch.

Your place has good potential Tim but you extremely let yourself and us down. You have ruined my wifes birthday and i will never recommend your place to anyone for all the reasons above.

You have work to do on the place and the lack of professionalism. You also mis sold the private pool and sky.

That service or lack of was not worth $60 or even $20 and you should be ashamed.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jen and Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    38
    12
    9
    10
See reviews for
18
58
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deventer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

A warm welcome by owner Tim who´s made a fantastic place of it. Influences from all over the world you will find in the rooms. None of them are the same, all beautiful decorated, one with a private pool with a view, another with a private jacuzzi. Hammocks everywhere, easy access to the lake, free kayaks and so on. He and his partner are still improving and building, using all kind of different stones and wood from old colonial buildings.
Furthermore the houses fit perfectly in their surroundings and there is a nice atmosphere around.
Next time we will definitely visit this place again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moon98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We ended up here by accident after being dissatisfied with the more popular backpacker's hut next door. For about 10 dollars more a night, we went from having a small dark room in front of the reception desk to having a beautiful pool front, lake front suite. The property/rooms are of the sort you'd find in Architectural Digest. Tim, the owner, is super easy-going and went waaaay out of his way to make it a great stay (e.g., blending up fresh pineapple for our rum drinks), running to the bodega to put food orders in for us, telling us not to worry when we thought we might not have enough money (we did, thankfully), and just plain being a great guy. His dogs, Bob, Marley and puppy Ziggy, were the icing on the cake. Gracias Tim!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nyc_ccm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Absolutely beautiful location right on Laguna de Apoyo. Swimming, raft, kayaks; there's a full kitchen as well. Our room had a fridge and an amazing view.
No hot water (we didn't have any hot water in Nicaragua), but the lake water was very nice.
Tim is a wonderful host with lots of information. I can't imagine staying anyplace in Laguna!

Room Tip: Ask to be close to the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3travelersLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beamsville, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

i took a group of 6 wonderful Canadians to nicaragua to share some of the experiences I have had travelling there for the last 10 years. Tim at Selvazul made the trip a memory and lifetime experience for them all...

He welcomes you like family, his amazing home is full of character and crammed with amazing art pieces you don't know where to look next. The hotel is RIGHT on the most amazing lagoon in the world....all i can say is if you travel to Nicaragua and miss the opportunity to stay here, well, you'll just have to go again...

thanks Tim!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzanne1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2011

The owner is a very nice nica-american. Dive instructor. Aimable. This place felt like it's your own house. The kitchen can be used, but you can order nica meals at the pulperia down the road. Lovely garden with beautiful palm and bamboo tree's. Litlle swimmingpool. The house at the beach Has a very nice top floor. Sometimes the water suply stopped, but was always fixed rapidly. Don't expect 100%clean rooms.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stappertjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranbrook, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

2 nights was not enough, if we had discovered this jem earlier we would have based out of sevazul. manager is bilingual, friendly and laid back and a lack of fixed protocall (check in, check out times) made for a casual relaxed atmosphere, also the grounds and gardens... Beautiful, it gets better, here you are in the apoyo, below sea level, on the water front and... selvazul is the dive center... ADVENTURE seems nearby ! last but not least hot nica food ...a 2 minite walk up the road, also one morning the cook person prepared a nice breakfast. awsome accomodation!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tterbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Laguna de Apoyo
1.7 mi away
Pacaya Lodge & Spa
Pacaya Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Catarina
94 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hacienda Puerta Del Cielo Eco Spa
3.7 mi away
Madera's Inn
Madera's Inn
#3 of 5 in Masaya
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Paradiso Hostel
Paradiso Hostel
#1 of 9 in La Laguna de Apoyo
320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laguna Beach Club
Laguna Beach Club
#3 of 9 in La Laguna de Apoyo
141 reviews
1.1 mi away
Apoyo Resort
Apoyo Resort
#7 of 9 in La Laguna de Apoyo
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Selva Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Selva Azul

Property: Hotel Selva Azul
Address: Laguna de Apoyo, La Laguna de Apoyo, Masaya, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Masaya Department > Masaya > La Laguna de Apoyo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Speciality Lodging in La Laguna de Apoyo
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Selva Azul 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Selva Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Selva Azul Nicaragua/La Laguna De Apoyo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing