We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Selva Azul
Nearby Hotels
US$321
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Madera's Inn(Masaya)
US$8
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$62
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$57
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel El Club(Granada)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveller rating
60
43
15
12
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
43
15
12
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbali roomprivate poolthe ownerrecommend this placepizzaoverlooking the lagoonbeautiful roombeautiful viewgreat guytaxi drivergreat place to stayenjoy the viewamazing placecentral americahowler monkeysankaranica
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 143 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Had a great time at SelvAzul. The manager, Tim, is very friendly and helpful. Our room (Indu) was beautiful. The hotel has a relationship with a comedor down the street, so we were able to order a great dinner of comida tipica. No complaints, other than that we had to leave.

Room Tip: We liked the Indu room, including its semi-private pool in the back
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ERP18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I have stayed at Selvazul eight times now and have nothing but praise for Tim and his staff. All the rooms have something special about them, the theme or the private pool, or the view! The Laguna is a little piece of heaven on earth and if you ever get a chance to go stay there for that most important "chill time" GO!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhonda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed in Selva Azul in spring 2012. Our friends took us there for a day, but we ended up staying for three. We had a water front room and thanks to wifi (and skype) our family from up north could enjoy the view as well. They even watched us swimming! At the end of our stay, Tim (the owner) offered to give us a ride to the bus stop and then ended up giving us a tour around Granada and helped us looking for a hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank idti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile


The email we sent to the owner says it all (8 days later and still no response):

Tim

we were truly disappointed and felt totally let down with the service you provided.

We arrived at 12 to find nobody there, just the south african and german guests.

They said we had to wait until 14 00 for the room when you would return. You did not and there was no sign of a room at 1400. I tracked down.your staff at 1430 and asked for an update. They hastily gave me a key, signalling the room was ready. It was disgusting and after i pushed they started to clean it. They 'finished' and i found cigarette butts in the room, a disgusting outside and filthy pool. There was also 1 stained towel, no running water in the sink and everything was disconnected. Not a good start.

I had to ask 3 times for them to clean it just as a rabid dog vommited outside our door.

We found no working light above the bed, still butts in the room and a non adjustable fan. We then found after i connected everything myself that there were no sky channels. Again, terrible.

The room was finally clean but without a clean pool by 1530.

Over the next two hours, again when i was told you would return by 1600 then 1800, at least 15 people tried to come in our room/'private' pool.

We spoke at 1900 and you said you would return by 2000-2030. You did not.

We had no information about food, drink, breakfast or indeed what you had planned for my wifes birthday.

You still failed to arrive by 2230 which quite frankly i find massively unprofessional and disrespectful.

We then awoke after a terrible nights sleep due to the dirty sheets, a crazy leaking tap and anxiety surrounding the situation to find nothing but a vomitting dog on the porch.

Your place has good potential Tim but you extremely let yourself and us down. You have ruined my wifes birthday and i will never recommend your place to anyone for all the reasons above.

You have work to do on the place and the lack of professionalism. You also mis sold the private pool and sky.

That service or lack of was not worth $60 or even $20 and you should be ashamed.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jen and Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

A warm welcome by owner Tim who´s made a fantastic place of it. Influences from all over the world you will find in the rooms. None of them are the same, all beautiful decorated, one with a private pool with a view, another with a private jacuzzi. Hammocks everywhere, easy access to the lake, free kayaks and so on. He and his partner are still improving and building, using all kind of different stones and wood from old colonial buildings.
Furthermore the houses fit perfectly in their surroundings and there is a nice atmosphere around.
Next time we will definitely visit this place again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheCarekeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews