We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bajos del Toro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wow! ”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

What can we say that hasn't been said. This is an amazing place. Luxury isn't the word. We loved:
1. The beds...so soft!
2. The views.
3. Food...and great wine.
4. The long long list of really thoughtful little things that made the stay so special. Eg. Chocolate delivery in the afternoon; returning to the room at night to find a hot water bottle in the bed; the shoe cleaning service.
Just stay here and relax. ...it's what it was created for!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneAnneRogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at El Silencio Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
As we would say in Spanish: ¡Guau! Thanks Jane Anne for your contagious enthusiasm about your experience at El Silencio Lodge & Spa. We certainly hope to see you again in the very near future. Any time you need an extraordinarily relaxing experience, we will be happy to oblige. Warmest regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    551
    81
    21
    9
    3
See reviews for
124
435
12
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sf bay area
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The 4 of us explored Costa Rica in the first week of July and El Silencion Lodge & Spa was our first stop.
It was a quick 2 hours drive from SJO with our rental 4x4, and the road was fine.
We were greeted by Benny, our concierge, who welcomed us and showed us the ins and outs of El Silencio. My two kids (8 and 14) were offered hot chocolate and cookies while we were shown to our cabin. Everything was well thought out and designed, the bedding was luxurious, the hot tub was hot, the shower and bathroom were perfect. We were lucky to mingle with Martin, Francisco and William who were all very knowledgeable and kind, and all had a great sense of humor. We took the complimentary tour of the trail by our guide Orlando who was very friendly and spoke perfect English. Each and every meals were nicely and deliciously done in a very elegant way.
My family and I were swept up in the Costa Rica World Cup magic and had a great time. Thank you El Silencio and staffs for providing us a wonderful and unforgettable time in Costa Rica. I can't wait to return to collect my bet from the soccer match, along with my Don Julio Tequilla.

Room Tip: I don't think there's any bad cabin, they're all very well situated and all have a jungl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drT&3ladies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at El Silencio Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Saludos Dr. T! Thanks for embracing Costa Rica and the World Cup fever with such gusto! Delighted to learn that you had a wonderful time exploring, enjoying our farm-to-table menu, and cheering :) We most certainly look forward to your return. We will greet you with a resounding: oooeeee ooeeeee ooeeee ooeeeee... Ticooooos Ticoooooooos! (And Don Juio)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This was a perfect hotel/lodge with a great mountain setting. The service & food were great, the room was amazing and they even put hot water bottles in your bed when it's cold at night! This was the first stop on our Honeymoon and we absolutely loved it!

Room Tip: Get a room with a hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at El Silencio Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Pura Vida Jeff! Our cheerful thanks for choosing us as a honeymoon destination. Thank you for letting us craft a special getaway to celebrate romance, love, and commitment. We hope you had a fantastic Fourth of July!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solon, Ohio, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed at El Silencio Lodge in June, 2014. There were 10 people in our family whose ages ranged from 10 to 81. Each of us had an outstanding experience from the beautiful cabins to the 5 star meals. This luxury retreat offered activities for all ages such as hiking trails, zip lining, coffee tasting, horseback riding, and spa services. The view of the surrounding cloud forest was amazing and every one of our needs was tended to by the conscientious staff. We cannot wait to return back to this special lodge!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at El Silencio Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Having a chance to host an extended family vacation is a real treat! Thank you Shelly for selecting El Silencio Lodge & Spa as your host. Since we inaugurated our Private Two Bedroom Villas, El Silencio is more family-friendly than ever. We want everyone to enjoy our beautiful retreat and fun eco-adventures. Gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed here three nights in June 2012 - even through it says 2014. I daydream about going back! It was, by far, the best overall experience we had while in Costa Rica. We stayed in one of the highest hillside cabins, and the view of the surrounding cloud forest was incredible. Our concierge, Ronald, took us on a guided hike, and even showed us into town - which would have been very tricky to navigate by ourselves. The food was executed perfectly, and was very fresh (they have tilapia ponds, a garden, and chickens for eggs on the property). We treated ourselves to couples massage/aromatherapy, and I still drool when thinking about it. Everything about this place screamed relaxation - and the staff was extremely accommodating and easy going. If you're up in the air about going to El Silencio, just GO!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at El Silencio Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Greetings Matt! Flawless is exactly what we aim for and I am delighted that we fully succeeded during your stay. Thank you for remembering us so fondly. Since your visit, we have created wonderful new experiences, including a very exciting Adventure Park with zip-lining, intense hiking, and waterfall rappelling. Please do return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largo, FL
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

El Silencio Lodge is an over the top luxury retreat. They offer spa services, beautiful lodge cabins, outdoor dining, hiking trails, many activities and delicious food. It is expensive and somewhat pretentious so if you like to pay top dollar to be pampered this is the retreat for you.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kdgarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at El Silencio Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Our wholehearted thanks for choosing us as hosts and for taking the time to provide us with such positive feedback regarding the high quality of our facilities, restaurant offerings, and service. Our goal is to provide a culturally authentic destination that is in full harmony with the surrounding cloud forest, framed by upscale comfort and the warm hospitality that is consistently celebrated in our guests' reviews. We certainly look forward to another opportunity to pamper you! Costa Rica is an amazing destination, wonderful for repeat visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

In order to avoid repetition I don't think there is much I can add to the comprehensive reviews below except to say that it is well worth anyone taking the two hour horseback riding option which I found truly memorable. As a novice as far as horses are concerned the expert 1 on 1 guidance was very comforting as was the attention to health and safely issues. Our experience on the ride mirrored the very high level of personal attention and service throughout the three nights we spent recently at the lodge. The food was amazing! Very many thanks to all who made our stay at El Silencio such a pleasure.

Room Tip: We were in cabin 8 which is in an elevated position and has great views and privacy. For anyone who...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at El Silencio Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Muchos saludos Grant! Thank you very much for your thoughtful (and delightful comments). I am so glad that you fully enjoyed our horseback riding adventures. Enjoying the forest and surrounding communities during a gentle ride is one of the best ways to fully immerse in Bajos del Toro. Thank you so much for focusing on one of our fun experiences. We recommend a minimum stay of 3-4 nights to fully take advantage of a variety of cultural, culinary, and eco-discovery activities. Warmest regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bajos del Toro
9.8 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,261 reviews
12.2 mi away
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
11.9 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn
22.5 mi away
Heliconias Nature Lodge
Heliconias Nature Lodge
#9 of 62 in Arenal Volcano National Park
241 reviews
7.7 mi away
El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Silencio Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Silencio Lodge & Spa

Property: El Silencio Lodge & Spa
Address: El Silencio Lodge, Bajos del Toro 21203, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Bajos del Toro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bajos del Toro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — El Silencio Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Silencio Lodge & Spa is a unique luxury cloud forest hotel set in Costa Rica's pristine Bajos del Toro region. Flanked by two national parks, this all-suite and private villa hotel combines upscale comforts with an intense natural immersion experience. Outstanding features include farm-to-table cuisine, a wellness spa, an adventure park, and authentic cultural experiences. Zip-lining, rappelling, horseback riding, waterfall hiking, oxcart painting, Tico cooking lessons and more can be enjoyed by couples and families (minimum age: 8). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your El Silencio Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Silencio Hotel Bajos Del Toro
El Silencio Lodge & Spa Costa Rica/Bajos Del Toro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing