We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“El Silencio Review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bajos del Toro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“El Silencio Review”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Beautiful secluded hotel inside the mountains...
They have their own fish and vegetables grown on site...
Excellent food, beautiful accommodations..
I was lucky enough to be fall asleep listening to the sound of the river...
No TV in the bedroom! Awesome

Room Tip: Choose a Villa or Rooms number 16 or 17 (next to the river)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rrm96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at El Silencio Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear rm96. It is always a pleasure to learn that our guests have enjoyed a truly memorable experience. Gently falling asleep while serenaded by the Gorrion River is as relaxing as life can get! Thank you for letting us know that we fully succeeded in making you and your family feel welcome, special, and pampered. We certainly look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    545
    77
    20
    8
    3
See reviews for
121
428
12
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We had a beautiful private cabin in cloud forest, we had excellent views of rainforest, with a private hot tub. Cabin #7. The staff is incredible. The food is out of this world. Martin and Francesco did a wonderful job in the restaurant. We attended Ronald's coffee tasting. It was great, and he is such a pleasure to be around. We went on a hike with Orlando. He was a great guide. We did a 90 minutes couples massage, Laura and Carolina were great. The hotel is very ecofriendly. We had a private dinner for two in the rain forest. My husband planned this for our 25th wedding anniversary. I have to say he did an outstanding job.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at El Silencio Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Saludos Michelle! Congratulations on your 25th anniversary and thank you so much for letting us play a part in its celebration! We enthusiastically appreciate your review. It is always wonderful to see so many of our amazing staff mentioned as examples of attentive hospitality. Thrilled that you enjoyed the coffee-tasting experience. We are very fortunate to be close to some of Costa Rica's set coffee-growing regions! Warmest regards and our warmest wishes for many many many more special anniversaries!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This beautiful place shares high quality of their people, food, spa and lodges. You feel Nature really close and your rest is peaceful and quiet, as the name, El Silencio. It is a place with a real identification with ecology. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank manuel j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at El Silencio Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Gracias Manuel! It was a true pleasure to be your hosts and on behalf of our staff I thank you for taking the time to share your exceptional experience with the Trip Advisor community. Our goal is to shower guests with Costa Rica's signature hospitality, mesmerizing landscapes, and pura vida vibe. Thanks for letting us know that we succeeded!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

What can we say that hasn't been said. This is an amazing place. Luxury isn't the word. We loved:
1. The beds...so soft!
2. The views.
3. Food...and great wine.
4. The long long list of really thoughtful little things that made the stay so special. Eg. Chocolate delivery in the afternoon; returning to the room at night to find a hot water bottle in the bed; the shoe cleaning service.
Just stay here and relax. ...it's what it was created for!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneAnneRogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at El Silencio Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
As we would say in Spanish: ¡Guau! Thanks Jane Anne for your contagious enthusiasm about your experience at El Silencio Lodge & Spa. We certainly hope to see you again in the very near future. Any time you need an extraordinarily relaxing experience, we will be happy to oblige. Warmest regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sf bay area
Level Contributor
107 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The 4 of us explored Costa Rica in the first week of July and El Silencion Lodge & Spa was our first stop.
It was a quick 2 hours drive from SJO with our rental 4x4, and the road was fine.
We were greeted by Benny, our concierge, who welcomed us and showed us the ins and outs of El Silencio. My two kids (8 and 14) were offered hot chocolate and cookies while we were shown to our cabin. Everything was well thought out and designed, the bedding was luxurious, the hot tub was hot, the shower and bathroom were perfect. We were lucky to mingle with Martin, Francisco and William who were all very knowledgeable and kind, and all had a great sense of humor. We took the complimentary tour of the trail by our guide Orlando who was very friendly and spoke perfect English. Each and every meals were nicely and deliciously done in a very elegant way.
My family and I were swept up in the Costa Rica World Cup magic and had a great time. Thank you El Silencio and staffs for providing us a wonderful and unforgettable time in Costa Rica. I can't wait to return to collect my bet from the soccer match, along with my Don Julio Tequilla.

Room Tip: I don't think there's any bad cabin, they're all very well situated and all have a jungl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drT&3ladies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at El Silencio Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Saludos Dr. T! Thanks for embracing Costa Rica and the World Cup fever with such gusto! Delighted to learn that you had a wonderful time exploring, enjoying our farm-to-table menu, and cheering :) We most certainly look forward to your return. We will greet you with a resounding: oooeeee ooeeeee ooeeee ooeeeee... Ticooooos Ticoooooooos! (And Don Juio)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This was a perfect hotel/lodge with a great mountain setting. The service & food were great, the room was amazing and they even put hot water bottles in your bed when it's cold at night! This was the first stop on our Honeymoon and we absolutely loved it!

Room Tip: Get a room with a hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at El Silencio Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Pura Vida Jeff! Our cheerful thanks for choosing us as a honeymoon destination. Thank you for letting us craft a special getaway to celebrate romance, love, and commitment. We hope you had a fantastic Fourth of July!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solon, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed at El Silencio Lodge in June, 2014. There were 10 people in our family whose ages ranged from 10 to 81. Each of us had an outstanding experience from the beautiful cabins to the 5 star meals. This luxury retreat offered activities for all ages such as hiking trails, zip lining, coffee tasting, horseback riding, and spa services. The view of the surrounding cloud forest was amazing and every one of our needs was tended to by the conscientious staff. We cannot wait to return back to this special lodge!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaJBIslita, Outreach Manager at El Silencio Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Having a chance to host an extended family vacation is a real treat! Thank you Shelly for selecting El Silencio Lodge & Spa as your host. Since we inaugurated our Private Two Bedroom Villas, El Silencio is more family-friendly than ever. We want everyone to enjoy our beautiful retreat and fun eco-adventures. Gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bajos del Toro
11.9 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
9.8 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 9 in Heredia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
12.2 mi away
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Heliconias Nature Lodge
Heliconias Nature Lodge
#8 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
7.7 mi away
El Churrasco Hotel Restaurante
15.1 mi away
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Silencio Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Silencio Lodge & Spa

Property: El Silencio Lodge & Spa
Address: Bajos del Toro 21203, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Bajos del Toro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bajos del Toro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — El Silencio Lodge & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Silencio Lodge & Spa is a unique luxury cloud forest hotel set in Costa Rica's pristine Bajos del Toro region. Flanked by two national parks, this all-suite and private villa hotel combines upscale comforts with an intense natural immersion experience. Outstanding features include farm-to-table cuisine, a wellness spa, an adventure park, and authentic cultural experiences. Zip-lining, rappelling, horseback riding, waterfall hiking, oxcart painting, Tico cooking lessons and more can be enjoyed by couples and families (minimum age: 8). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your El Silencio Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Silencio Hotel Bajos Del Toro
El Silencio Lodge & Spa Costa Rica/Bajos Del Toro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing