We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Stylish!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Corte Dei Francesi - Historical residence
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Maglie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I recenty stayed in this hotel with some italian friends while discovering the Salento. It is actually an old tanning factory that has been stylishly restored. The high-ceilinged bedrooms are impeccable and extremely large and breakfast is beautifully served featuring products from the area. We were greeted warmly by the owner who told us about the history of the property and very kindly assisted us with our tour itinerary.
The young man on the reception was particularly helpful.
I would definately recommend this hotel, a real experience!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamela855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2008

Unfortunately had to cancel our booking (circumstances beyond our control) early on planned day of arrival.
Staff very unsympathetic to our situation.
Have been charged full cost of booking.
Staff not responding to emails.
Very disappointing - first experience like this in 20 years travelling in Italy.
Pity. Website looks good ... but..
CostieraAmalfitana

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
1  Thank CostieraAmalfitana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2007

Townhouse from 17th century stylishly restored. The adjactant Museum shows manual leather fabrication in the past.

There is no typical reception only 2 office rooms and a manager's residence room. Remember the opening hours (and siesta 14-15) if you arrive late!!

Actually we had problems to find this guesthouse as our neverlost couldn't find this street (or map was bad) and from outside you can hardly recognize this place has rooms to rent. Even at the end of our stay we couldn't really understand if this is a "hotel" with a museum or vice versa. Outside a big poster with "La Marque", the "corte dei Francesi" sign is only on a small sign. The homepage shows all details but doesn't say anything about the exact way (or a map) in the city.

Seems to be seen as a place for cultural events like concerts, exhibitions etc. in a historical environment with possibility to stay overnight (7 rooms). As there is only 1 other (older/business) hotel in town near railway station it seems having been a good idea....

"
Those who stop here will be part of a unique setting, the fruit of the recovery of an original living and working place: a shop for the traditional hide tanning process which was up and running in the XIX century.
"

The rooms are fully equipment (A/C, TV, minibar), originally restored and restyled with new and old furniture in a very nice way. Excellent place for a romatic weekend or short honeymoon. Free DSL internet with cable in the room (WLAN?).

However please remember the walls are thin, the doors arenot soundproof and esp. the room closer to the busy street will make you stay awake/wake-up if you forgot your ear-plugs ;-)

Please also note that both courtyards (museum/guestroom part) have no roof (rain!)

Typical Italian spartanous breakfast which offers you at least 3 different cookies/danish pastry, cafe and fruit juice.

Now I'd like to tell you why I have some problems to recommend this guesthouse:

When we arrived I already notice that the manager of the place is using a very rude style talking with his employees and walks through the rooms showing everybody that he's the boss (in Italian: "capo")

Later I asked the reception lady for internet access and - as we were on vacation and had no laptop with us - she said we could use her Apple computer in the reception office. Later we sent a fax to Germany.

In the day of arrival the capo asked the reception to add 5 EUR to our bill for the "extras" which he defined as 2 extra capuccini at breakfast and the internet session with this Apple. I disagreed as I never heard that you need to pay extra if order more coffee at breakfast. The internet was mentioned to be free of charge ("only in the room") and generally I reject all cost which I don't know in advance (which is legally needed to charge you!). We argued a while but Capo didn't want to agree to the original quote before I offered to leave without paying.

Finally I gave the 5 EUR cash to the cleaning lady and receptionist who were very friendly and helped to make everything possible!!

CONCLUSION: excellent guest-house with lovely employees but a tyrant as manager who destroys the whole positive atmosphere with his rude (macho) style. Hopefully to be replaced soon. This place is worth to be managed with a professionally and treat all people respectful!

Last but not least: never forget in (Southern) Italy: bargain if they didn't tell you the price before (restaurant, market etc.)

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank joe1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank paolopaolar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alfred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank V4133CWdaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nadia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maglie
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belami
Hotel Belami
#2 of 3 in Maglie
37 reviews
13.6 mi away
Callistos Hotel & Spa
Callistos Hotel & Spa
#1 of 3 in Tricase
566 reviews
12.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#1 of 6 in Torre Dell'Orso
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Masseria La Cornula
Masseria La Cornula
#3 of 11 in Nardo
98 reviews
17.2 mi away
Patria Palace Hotel
Patria Palace Hotel
#3 of 21 in Lecce
709 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Tesoretto
Hotel Tesoretto
#1 of 2 in Poggiardo
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corte Dei Francesi - Historical residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corte Dei Francesi - Historical residence

Address: Via Roma 138, 73024 Maglie, Italy
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Lecce > Maglie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Maglie
Price Range: £58 - £445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Corte Dei Francesi - Historical residence 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For people travelling in the south of Puglia, Corte dei Francesi, located in the centre of Maglie, is a historical building arranged in the traditional style of Salento Masserie. It is equally distant from some charming sites of natural and cultural interest: he capital of baroque, Lecce; Otranto; Gallipoli; the Finibus Terrae Santa Maria di Leuca. Each room has its own independent entrace, bathroom with shower, air dryer, safe, frigobar, internet connection free wi-fi, TV, individual air conditioning and heating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Corte Dei Francesi - Historical residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing