We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Step House Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Lord Bagenal Inn(Leighlinbridge)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lyrath Estate(Kilkenny)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (451)
Filter reviews
451 results
Traveller rating
337
76
21
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
337
76
21
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmount leinsterwedding venueoff the beaten tracktop classbeautiful hotelcocktail barthe penthousevenisonsunday lunchnext morningcellar restaurantamazing weddingwedding receptionboutique hotelfunction roomwell worth a visitcooked to perfection
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
280 - 285 of 451 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed on a Friday night in March. We had been given a voucher for this hotel as a gift. What a gift it was! The hotel is inconspicuous on the Main Street in Borris. Look out for discreet sage green paintwork. On arrival, it was a bit difficult to find the back entrance to the hotel from the car park as there is absolutely no signage. The car park itself is quite small and is also not signed. We arrived at reception and a lovely open fire. Staff were extremely friendly from check in to check out. Our room was gorgeous, large with old furniture and a four poster. We dined in the bar food was scrumptious and reasonably priced. Breakfast was a very generous assortment of juices, fruit, cereal etc and a wonderful full irish cooked to order. Would totally recommend Step House for a quiet getaway.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Misspettie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Spent a second weekend in this hotel and it was just as good as the first visit. The hotel is small but the staff and owners are personable and friendly and you definitely feel like a welcome guest rather than a number to fill another room. The room was gorgeous and the food was superb. Definitely a return-to place for a relaxing time. Don't think it would be very suitable for young children as it is a small hotel and there isn't to occupy them. Perfect for couples or a group of adults.

Room Tip: The superior rooms are large and airy and open out onto a large balcony through two sets of French windows.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmyDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Just back from a recent stay in the Stephouse Hotel, and it didn't disappoint. While it is a small, its a very cosy comfortable hotel, we stayed in a beautiful Deluxe Room with lots of space and massive bathroom. The food in the restaurant and service was outstanding definately the highlight, and the breakfast the next morning "delicious", but its the staff that make it, all so friendly and welcoming. My only 2 negatives, the towels were small in size and well worn definately in need of replacement. We had a room opposite the main street which was fine except there was a function on the night we stayed, to be fair we were called and advised in advance of our stay, but we were woken in the middle of the night with revelers heading home who proceeded to chat outside/shout for approx 1 hour either waiting for lifts or taxis which was extremely annoying. While this did not spoil our stay, the hotel should consider the guests and make sure people do not congregate outside when its late at night. For those looking for a quite stay request a room at the back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RubyCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We loved it. Great food and big log fires. Everyone was so warm and welcoming. All the staff are so proud of the hotel.

We had a lovely big room with a great view of the snow capped Mt. Leinster.

Also, we did a long riverside walk into Graiguenamanagh - used the hotel recommended taxi to collect us.

A great experience - a relaxing Autumn break.

Room Tip: Worth going for the room with a view - lovely balcony too.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGABalrothery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I cannot rate the food (amazing) staff (genuinely nice and helpful) and accommodation high enough. We will definitely be singing their praises for anyone looking for food or stay.
Service evening and morning was first class. Accommodation was great, ive never seen such a HUGE room or bed and the tv was in keeping with the room with plenty of channels, could have stayed in the shower for hours :)

Room Tip: Beds are HUGE and the view is amazing!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarjenrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews