We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of Step House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Step House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Borris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

We decided to stay at Stephouse Hotel after having lunch there. Went to the restaurant that night. Although it was quiet (Sunday night) there are lots of little secluded areas so you don't feel like you are in a big empty room. Service was excellent. We both had the starter of hake on a bed of risotto. Was really good. I had the monkfish as a main. Was so delicious. It was fresh and came with mussels scattered throughout the sauce. The boy had the steak and let me taste. Again cooked as he requested and a good cut of meat. Came with a bowl of spuds and broccoli. He hates broccoli so that would be my only criticism. To put a few different veggies in the bowl although I am sure if we'd asked they would have sorted something else. Would go back anytime. Bar food was great too btw!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Deirdre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

We attended the tasting menu on Friday 16th May.We have been attending The Step House for years and it always is top class.On friday night the tasting menu did not suit my husband and without any fuss the owner and the head chef organized a wonderful alternative for him.The Step is a treat to enjoy whenever possible.We stayed in room 310 which has a beautiful four poster bed and a view of the entrance of Borris House.The staff are a wonderful asset and cannot do enough to care for the guests. Seamus and Therese

Room Tip: Rooms at thebackin the new building have a wonderful of Mount Leinster.Rooms on the front view the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathshem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

We recently held our wedding at The Step House Hotel. The venue was amazing overall. Right through all of the planning and organisation to the day itself. Angela, the wedding coordinator, was a pleasure to work with and was really helpful. She answered all of our emails and phonecalls promptly and made the planning process very easy. On the night before and the day of the wedding itself, all of the hotel staff were extremely attentive and professional. No request was too big or too small and they all did their upmost to ensure the day was very special for all of the guests and for us.
The meal was fantastic.
If anyone is thinking of booking a wedding or function at this venue, I would highly recommend it. The bar food is very reasonably priced for the high quality. Some of the wedding party enjoyed a meal in the restaurant the night before and thoroughly enjoyed it. The owner of the hotel, James Coady, made sure to meet us and chat to us too. The penthouse suite is just fabulous as are all of the rooms. I could go on and on with my review, but really the bottom line is, if you are thinking of staying, eating, booking an event.. Do it, it won't disappoint. I can't wait to return to stay for a night again soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 11,414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Beautiful hotel, welcoming & friendly staff. Delicious food. Room 106 was perfect, stunning view of Mount Leinster from our very spacious balcony! Would definitely recommend a visit to this hotel & we will definitely be back for another stay!

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Séamus K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed here for a weekend and loved it! Staff were polite, helpful, and anything we needed was addressed. Food is amazing and it is so relaxing, especially with the lovely fires and comfy snug.

The only thing that may have been offputting was that our room was near the stairs on the third floor, and we could hear voices from the reception area with the door closed. It didn't stop us sleeping but in the morning was noticeable. Also as an aside when I went for coffee and scones mid week (passing through) the scone was stale. Not great. Every other time food has been nice (went again for a lovely sunday lunch)

Lovely for a special romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank klass2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We have just had the best wedding experience with the Step House Hotel.
Last weekend we got married there and the service, food, hotel rooms (and our Penthouse), bar, restaurant and whole village was top class. Our guests had a great day, loved the venue, the food, the staffs attention to detail and the setting.
The Step House Hotel is still building its reputation as a top wedding venue but has grown from less than 50 weddings a year to over 80 this year. The staff know their roles inside out and were taking care of all the little details without us having to direct them.
Head Chef Alan knows his food inside out and has an army of great staff who delivered top notch food, all organically and locally sourced where possible, on both nights. The food easily compares favourably with some of the top restaurants we've eaten in in Ireland.
The hotel management couldn't do enough for us and we were hugely happy with how the day went.
A little known gem, in a beautiful rural village all overlooked by Mount Leinster.
Thanks guys for a great job.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms share the same beautiful view of Mt Leinster. The few rooms at the front which don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Spacious comfortable room. Huge bathtub. Borris is a small town with very nice locals. Well worth a visit. Plenty of parking. Particularly liked the grand staircase. If I'm passing through again I'll definitely stay

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank curvesmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borris
12.1 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
15.5 mi away
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
14.7 mi away
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Brandon House Hotel
Brandon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Ross
697 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Lord Bagenal Inn
The Lord Bagenal Inn
#1 of 1 in Leighlinbridge
324 reviews
16.6 mi away
Seven Oaks Hotel
Seven Oaks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Carlow
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Step House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Step House Hotel

Address: Step House Hotel Main Street, Borris, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Borris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Borris
Price Range: £73 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Step House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Step House Hotel Carlow is a beautiful Georgian town house brimming with character, that has been lovingly transformed into a warm boutique Carlow hotel.Escape to the country in style and enjoy the relaxed elegance of Ireland's most luxurious 4 star boutique hotel situated in County Carlow. The Step House Hotel Carlow offers Luxurious surroundings with warm, charming hospitality. Balanced with great service, we offer some of the south east's finest food creations.The Step House Hotel Carlow is located in the pretty heritage village of Borris, which borders counties Kilkenny and Wexford. This unique location benefits from the magnificient backdrop of the heather-clad Blackstairs mountains and beautiful banks of the river Barrow.Conveniently located just 115km from Dublin, 128 km from Dublin Airport, 26 km from Kilkenny City, 29 km from Carlow Town, 86 km from Waterford Airport and 79 km from Rosslare Harbour . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Step House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Step House Hotel Borris, Ireland - County Carlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing