We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Step House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Step House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Borris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Our son and our now daughter in law had their wedding reception in The Stephouse some months ago. They were married in the local church. The weather was mixed as it was winter. We had a wonderful day that continued late into the night. The church ceremony was lovely. The hotel was warm and welcoming. The food was delicious. The dancing was great. What more could anyone want. Well done Stephouse.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
4  Thank paddyhomeandaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

Had a lovely stay here. The village of Borris is really beautiful, and we were lucky with a nice sunny day. The Step House Hotel is a little gem, a beautiful hotel. Unfortunately, there was a wedding on that same day. Our room backed out onto the court yard, and till all hours we were kept awake by the rowdy wedding party. Apart from that, we really enjoyed our stay. We dined in the hotel bar, and were told, because there was a wedding on, to expect a 10 to 15 minute delay for our food. More like 45 minutes!!! When the food did arrive it was good. Mind you, €17 for a chicken kiev, then having to pay extra for your chips was a bit steep!!! The room was lovely, a good size, lovely furniture & decorated to a very high standard. Our breakfast the next morning was I think one of the best I’ve ever had in a hotel! I just had bacon, mushroom & tomato, and I can’t remember enjoying a breakfast as much!!! Would definitely head back here for a night’s stay, and hope there’s no rowdy wedding party taking place!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank verdell2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Attended a wedding in the step house. Food was excellent . Staff very attentive. Rooms were lovely very spacious but not soundproof but as we were attending a wedding it didn't really matter. Garden was very pretty.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Myself and my partner who is ill at the moment spent 2 wonderful days in the Step House Hotel. The experience was fantastic from the moment I booked to the moment we left. The staff are so friendly and professional and made the stay very memorable for us especially Pascal in the bar who went out of his way to facilitate our every need. The rooms are very comfortable and we had a lovely view of the garden. The food was delicious. We did not eat in the restaurant as my partner was not up to it and ate both nights in the bar and were told all food is cooked in the one kitchen and indeed it was fantastic. Thank you to all the wonderful staff in the Step House Hotel and we will be back

Room Tip: Book a room with a view of the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 505annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

I'm just back from a long weekend of joy and happiness ..my son and his wonderful bride were married in the beautiful church in Borris and had their reception in The Step House Hotel from start to finish it was a fairy tale :) The drinks reception was on the lovely grounds ..the dining room was splenderous .. the staff were brilliant and looked after everyone with great care and attention. .food was excellent ..rooms gorgeous ..views to die for ..I will definitely revisit :)

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank mariahoo45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We spent two nights in the Step house hotel on a Grab one offer, a long drive from Belfast but worth every mile, quite simply this hotel must be one of the best hotels in Ireland, fantastic staff, food, luxury surroundings, attention to every slight detail. Rooms and public spaces total luxury, lovely gardens, the food was without doubt the best we have ever had and service to match, love to go back again. Thanks to all at the Step house, a real gem in rural Carlow.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have fantastic views of Mount Leinster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DAVIDMCKEOWN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

We decided to stay at Stephouse Hotel after having lunch there. Went to the restaurant that night. Although it was quiet (Sunday night) there are lots of little secluded areas so you don't feel like you are in a big empty room. Service was excellent. We both had the starter of hake on a bed of risotto. Was really good. I had the monkfish as a main. Was so delicious. It was fresh and came with mussels scattered throughout the sauce. The boy had the steak and let me taste. Again cooked as he requested and a good cut of meat. Came with a bowl of spuds and broccoli. He hates broccoli so that would be my only criticism. To put a few different veggies in the bowl although I am sure if we'd asked they would have sorted something else. Would go back anytime. Bar food was great too btw!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Deirdre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borris
12.1 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
15.5 mi away
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
14.7 mi away
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Brandon House Hotel
Brandon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Ross
697 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Lord Bagenal Inn
The Lord Bagenal Inn
#1 of 1 in Leighlinbridge
324 reviews
16.6 mi away
Seven Oaks Hotel
Seven Oaks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Carlow
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Step House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Step House Hotel

Address: Step House Hotel Main Street, Borris, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Borris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Borris
Price Range: £72 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Step House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Step House Hotel Carlow is a beautiful Georgian town house brimming with character, that has been lovingly transformed into a warm boutique Carlow hotel.Escape to the country in style and enjoy the relaxed elegance of Ireland's most luxurious 4 star boutique hotel situated in County Carlow. The Step House Hotel Carlow offers Luxurious surroundings with warm, charming hospitality. Balanced with great service, we offer some of the south east's finest food creations.The Step House Hotel Carlow is located in the pretty heritage village of Borris, which borders counties Kilkenny and Wexford. This unique location benefits from the magnificient backdrop of the heather-clad Blackstairs mountains and beautiful banks of the river Barrow.Conveniently located just 115km from Dublin, 128 km from Dublin Airport, 26 km from Kilkenny City, 29 km from Carlow Town, 86 km from Waterford Airport and 79 km from Rosslare Harbour . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Step House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Step House Hotel Borris, Ireland - County Carlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing