We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable Stay.”
Review of Step House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Step House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Borris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Just spent Sunday night in Step House. Staff great, location lovely, near river tracks and mountain walks. The hotel has a lovely welcoming reception with a real log fire. We upgraded to a Superior Suite for a bit extra and the luxury, views and balcony were worth it. Our package included dinner, b&b and packed lunch. Great quality food, beautifully presented and very good value for money overall. Looking forward to going back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank greenie75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Had lunch in this hotel and it was fabulous! Very tasty and great quality food. I am not surprised they have won lots of awards. Compliments to the chef. I had the Pork but everything looked great. The homemade bread was also so fresh & tasty. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Dympna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I had the pleasure of having a light snack here, toasted special with side fries. Good quality food and well presented. Surroundings and bar area clean, very quiet. Bit hard to get the WIFI though, had to leave my table twice to get a code. However that aside would definatley return and recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank JaneKilkenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Our son and our now daughter in law had their wedding reception in The Stephouse some months ago. They were married in the local church. The weather was mixed as it was winter. We had a wonderful day that continued late into the night. The church ceremony was lovely. The hotel was warm and welcoming. The food was delicious. The dancing was great. What more could anyone want. Well done Stephouse.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
4  Thank paddyhomeandaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Had a lovely stay here. The village of Borris is really beautiful, and we were lucky with a nice sunny day. The Step House Hotel is a little gem, a beautiful hotel. Unfortunately, there was a wedding on that same day. Our room backed out onto the court yard, and till all hours we were kept awake by the rowdy wedding party. Apart from that, we really enjoyed our stay. We dined in the hotel bar, and were told, because there was a wedding on, to expect a 10 to 15 minute delay for our food. More like 45 minutes!!! When the food did arrive it was good. Mind you, €17 for a chicken kiev, then having to pay extra for your chips was a bit steep!!! The room was lovely, a good size, lovely furniture & decorated to a very high standard. Our breakfast the next morning was I think one of the best I’ve ever had in a hotel! I just had bacon, mushroom & tomato, and I can’t remember enjoying a breakfast as much!!! Would definitely head back here for a night’s stay, and hope there’s no rowdy wedding party taking place!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank verdell2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Attended a wedding in the step house. Food was excellent . Staff very attentive. Rooms were lovely very spacious but not soundproof but as we were attending a wedding it didn't really matter. Garden was very pretty.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Myself and my partner who is ill at the moment spent 2 wonderful days in the Step House Hotel. The experience was fantastic from the moment I booked to the moment we left. The staff are so friendly and professional and made the stay very memorable for us especially Pascal in the bar who went out of his way to facilitate our every need. The rooms are very comfortable and we had a lovely view of the garden. The food was delicious. We did not eat in the restaurant as my partner was not up to it and ate both nights in the bar and were told all food is cooked in the one kitchen and indeed it was fantastic. Thank you to all the wonderful staff in the Step House Hotel and we will be back

Room Tip: Book a room with a view of the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 505annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borris
12.1 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
15.5 mi away
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
14.7 mi away
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
The Lord Bagenal Inn
The Lord Bagenal Inn
#1 of 1 in Leighlinbridge
324 reviews
14.8 mi away
Brandon House Hotel
Brandon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in New Ross
696 reviews
16.6 mi away
Seven Oaks Hotel
Seven Oaks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Carlow
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Step House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Step House Hotel

Address: Step House Hotel Main Street, Borris, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Borris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Borris
Price Range: £73 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Step House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Step House Hotel Carlow is a beautiful Georgian town house brimming with character, that has been lovingly transformed into a warm boutique Carlow hotel.Escape to the country in style and enjoy the relaxed elegance of Ireland's most luxurious 4 star boutique hotel situated in County Carlow. The Step House Hotel Carlow offers Luxurious surroundings with warm, charming hospitality. Balanced with great service, we offer some of the south east's finest food creations.The Step House Hotel Carlow is located in the pretty heritage village of Borris, which borders counties Kilkenny and Wexford. This unique location benefits from the magnificient backdrop of the heather-clad Blackstairs mountains and beautiful banks of the river Barrow.Conveniently located just 115km from Dublin, 128 km from Dublin Airport, 26 km from Kilkenny City, 29 km from Carlow Town, 86 km from Waterford Airport and 79 km from Rosslare Harbour . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Step House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Step House Hotel Borris, Ireland - County Carlow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing