We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Elm Grove Country House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveller rating
168
30
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
168
30
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgames roomlong drivewaywelsh cakesmod consperfect hostslovely locationplace is spotlessbreakfast was excellentwarm welcomenothing is too much troubletop floorbreakfast roompembrokeshire coastteddy bear on the bedfriendly waitresslocal tipspool and table tennis
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 204 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2013

From the moment we pulled up we knew we had booked the perfect place. Both Jane & Alan were welcoming & friendly, nothing was too much for them. My husband & I were there to take part in the Wales marathon (him not me) & on returning to the room they had left a lovely note & a bottle of Tenby ale ( that will go in our keepsake cupboard).
We were in room 12 & had read mixed reviews about it so was initially a little concerned. There was no reason to be. For a "small double" there was more than enough room for us & it was so cool in there that I had such a good nights sleep. Considering we were facing the kitchen there was no noise from it just the glorious smell of breakfast in the morning.
We met the resident cat Marmaduke but Shirley the resident dog proved to be elusive. We came away feeling very relaxed & a little sad that we had to return to normality but we did bring away a souvenir in Elmer G the teddy bear.
We will definitely return & will ask for room 12 again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirstoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We took our 3 month old baby for our first family break to Elmgrove and it was great. We had a cot for the baby and the owners could not do enough to make us all comfortable. The house has been beautifully restored to keep original features but has all the mod cons (inc Wi Fi). We only had breakfast (as we were out for evening meal) which was excellent and kept us going for the day and brilliant local tips from Alan about what to do and see in the area. We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dejcaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

This is the second time I've visited, although I had the same room which I was pleased with, I took my friend this time and her room was cold and dark, she couldn't put the electric fire on that was provided because it smelled. Also the room is oposit the kitchen and the smell of breakfast wasnt pleasent. We told the owners but they weren't interested and I suspect they knew about the problem. If you go don't get room 12 downstairs

Room Tip: Don't get room 12
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JJ25, Manager at Elm Grove Country House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. We don't normally post review responses but on this occasion we thought it was essential to provide a balanced view.
Your friend did mention she was cold so we closed the window in the room and mentioned using the heater.We were unaware of any issue with the heater as nothing was mentioned about a problem with it during your stay or upon check out. Had you mentioned this particular issue we would have provided an alternative heater as all rooms have these in addition to central heating (which is on timer during colder periods). We did have alternative rooms available during your stay so could have moved rooms if asked.
Unfortunately not all of our rooms catch the sun all day - Room 12 gets the sun in the morning but not in the afternoon and we provide numerous lighting options in the room to make up for this.
Room 12 is priced to reflect it's position in the house and we mention it's locality to the kitchen on our online booking sites and on phone reservations, and we do get a lot of repeat guests asking for that room specifically. On this occasion we didn't make this clear at the time of booking and we apologise that your stay was affected by this.
We are very sorry you don't think we cared about your concerns - we most certainly do as all the other reviews on here will testify. We provided options regarding the temperature by suggesting the heater, closing the windows and bathroom door and on the last 2 nights we put the central heating on in the back of the house. We hope we can welcome you both back again and find an alternative room to your liking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Those of you who love a manor like B&B will undoubtedly love the Elm Grove. A very representative building inside a beautiful setting, a bit outside of Tenby. Which is not a problem at all, as the location out in the countryside provides a wonderful silent rest, off potential disturbances from village noises. Sleep was great, and so were the beds.
In case you like, you may dine in the house. And in case not, two pubs in the village, just a few footsteps away from the house at the end of the driveway, provide great food and great beers and wines (particularly The Parsonage, pls see separate comments).
Further to this: the location is perfect for visiting the area as well as even to the mountains further north.

Room Tip: any is great
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eberhard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

To celebrate our friend's 60th Birthday we booked a weekend away at the Elm Grove Country House. The rooms (3 & 4) were beautifully decorated and spacious with lovely views over the surrounding countryside and the towelling robes were a nice touch. Staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The house was charming and very well appointed throughout. We enjoyed the breakfast but didn't have dinner in the hotel as it was served a little early for us. Instead we followed our hosts recommendation and ate later at the Parsonage Inn (handily situated at the end of the drive). The steaks and the seafood specials were delicious and generous portions. The sticky toffee pudding was to die for! The surrounding countryside is very attractive and there is plenty to see and explore in the area even if the weather is less than perfect. It was a welcome treat to find the central heating on in our room when we returned despite it being the middle of June. A very successful and enjoyable weekend.

Room Tip: Room 4 has a very spacious bathroom and a dual aspect. Room 3 is a large twin room also with a dual aspect which can be converted to a double but the en-suite bathroom is a little smaller.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews