We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Elm Grove Country House
Ranked #2 of 6 St. Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Banbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Short break”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed for 3 nights in July. Warm and informative welcome by Jane and information leaflets provided to match my interests. Room had bottled water as well as the more usual tea and coffee making facilities. Excellent dinner, rebooked and ordered ahead of arrival. Good and varied breakfast choices available. I particularly enjoyed the welsh scramble I had on my 2nd morning. I would thoroughly recommend Elm Court.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Penny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    25
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
104
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Just returned after spending 2 nights at the Elm Grove Hotel in St Florence. The house was the former home of a Victorian merchant banker and is large and imposing without being stuffy. The rooms are modern and clean with great bathrooms. Breakfast was tasty with very friendly staff who make you feel at home. Hotel is located in the pretty village of St Florence which is close to Tenby and which has some nice pubs. We will be visiting this hotel again!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bulld0g11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I can definitely recommend this Country House for a perfect stay in South Wales. It is situated in the village St. Florence and set in beautiful grounds. Their two horses graze in the front field and their friendly cat Marmaduke wanders around outside.
This delightful family house offers a comfortable stay. The service from Alan and Jane is second to none. Upon arrival we were greeted by Alan and given lots of useful local knowledge. He offered tea and Welsh cakes which were welcomed. The food is excellent and sourced from local produce. We will definitely be returning at some point for another relaxing stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southwales
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Just back from the Elm Grove County House in St Florence and had a great weekend. The house is situated in a very quiet peaceful pretty village a hop skip and a jump from lots of places of interest in the west wales area. The house is amazing and the hosts are very welcoming and friendly. Had a lovely room looking over the tennis court and field with horses in. There was an excellent choice for breakfast (included in the price) and we also had dinner there one evening which too was amazing. Would highly recommend this hotel if you like quiet and peaceful. The house is really well maintained and homely. There are two pubs in the village both are great and very friendly. Really good base if you don't want to explore Tenby, Saundersfoot, Pembroke etc. Will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lolaSouthwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Elm Grove is situated in a lovely village a few miles from Tenby. Very easy to find and a suitable location if you want to explore the Pembrokeshire Coast. You don't have to go very far to find the wonderful coastline. Set in beautiful grounds the house is very elegant on first impressions. It's very relaxing, tranquil and with a very warm welcome where nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast was superb and can't be faulted. You can choose to from an evening menu if you want to dine in, you need to book before 10;30am as the food is cooked from fresh and local produced is used to cater for guests. The bedrooms are stylish, clean and very comfortable. We had been up-graded upon arrival and our room looked out onto the acres of surrounding countryside. Sleeping soundly wasn't a problem. The owners and staff are super hosts and have made every effort to see their guests have a relaxing stay. Most certainly will be returning.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 831neu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flintshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Although we had to cut our planned stay short due to my fathers ill health I can only recommend this lovely B and B from the moment we arrived the owners made us feel completly at home. Nothing was to much trouble and we intend to return next year. Anyone who wants to explore the Pembrokeshire Coast around this lovely area could find a better base.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 59jandh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Set in its own grounds of 30 acres and approached via a tree lined private drive Elm Grove is a welcome escape from the hustle and bustle of everyday living. The only thing that might disturb you here at night are the owls! Yet Tenby and its many attractions is very close, and a number of other great places to visit virtually within walking distance.

The house which dates from the 1840s has high ceilings, chandeliers, beautiful mouldings and many paintings; unsurprising given that the owner is an artist. Our room with a four poster bed was both comfortable and spacious. Our host was most welcoming and kind and this greatly enhanced our stay. Our young grandchildren enjoyed the opportunity to use the playground equipment in the grounds.

We will certainly return!

Room Tip: Look at the website photos and speak to the owner about your preferences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candymiller47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Florence
0.0 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
0.0 mi away
The Park Hotel Tenby
The Park Hotel Tenby
#8 of 24 in Tenby
498 reviews
0.0 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#6 of 24 in Tenby
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 24 in Tenby
666 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#11 of 24 in Tenby
242 reviews
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Tenby Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elm Grove Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elm Grove Country House

Property: Elm Grove Country House
Address: St Florence, St. Florence, Tenby SA70 8LS, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby > St. Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in St. Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Elm Grove Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elm Grove is a family run, four-star Country House. This elegant Georgian house is situated in its own grounds in the picturesque village of St. Florence, 3 miles from Tenby. All the individually decorated rooms are en-suite with excellent facilities including TV, DVD player,satellite TV, telephone, tea and coffee, bottled waters and bath robes. Guests can experience a tasteful mix of marble fireplaces, paneled doorways and large picture windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Odigeo so you can book your Elm Grove Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elm Grove Country Hotel
Elm Grove Country Tenby
Elm Grove Country House St. Florence, Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing