We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hosts, perfect location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Elm Grove Country House
Ranked #1 of 6 St. Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2010

The owners of this Hotel are what make it special. The village is very beautiful and the Hotel buliding is very attractive. Alan and Jane are perfect hosts - the atmosphere is so friendly and relaxed.Well done to them both.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights from Friday 28th May to Monday 31st May 2010.
We drove from North London via the M4 as far as it would go then took local roads to the hotel. In total we were on the road for about 4 and a half hours including a loo stop half way.
We found the hotel very easily with Tom Tom and were lucky that the route we came lead us directly there. The village does have a one way system as the roads are narrow so if you are coming from the opposite direction it’s a roundabout route.
There is a long tree lined drive up to the hotel with a paddock on the left. Our first impression was “wow, what a lovely place”. The hotel is secluded within its own grounds which are well maintained.
The hotel main entrance takes you into a huge hall with an impressive staircase. The décor is traditional and homely. The welcome from Jane and Alan was really friendly and after checking into our room they served us with tea and Welsh Cakes on the terrace which was a lovely touch after a long journey.
We were shown to our room (the Blue Room) which overlooked the paddock. It consisted of a standard double bed (and a single) plus two arm chairs, TV (with build in DVD player) and tea and coffee making facilities. The room was decorated to an excellent standard and very tasteful. We had an en suite bathroom with complimentary toiletries. The hotel had a good selection of books and DVD’s which you could borrow as well as lots of board games. There was a lounge available to guests with a TV also should you not wish to sit in your room.
On our first night at the hotel we ate in, having pre-ordered our food from the menu which had been emailed to us. We couldn’t fault the home cooked food.
Breakfast the next morning was of a high standard using good quality products (we loved the sausages). There was a varied menu offering the traditional full breakfast to cereals and fruit.
Jane and Alan are extremely helpful and are happy to take time giving you advice on where to go and what to see if you want it. They are also happy to provide maps of local walks if that’s what you like to do.
The village of St Florence is attractive and has two local pubs both at the bottom of the hotel’s drive within walking distance. One of the pubs is an old fashioned drinking establishment, the other much more modern with a large garden outside. Both serve food although we stuck to the Parsonage Farm Inn. There is a good varied menu and wine list. The pub offers children’s menus. All the food we ate here was of a good quality.
There are lots to do and see in the area. Must-see places include Caldey Island, Barafundle Bay, Freshwater West, Freshwater East, and St Govan’s Point. An afternoon walking around Tenby is also worth doing. For those that like history a visit to Pembrokeshire Castle is essential.
We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and would definitely go back. We wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this hotel for a really restful and welcome holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Car0leC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

Our stay at Elm Grove was all we could have wished for - and more!!

Extremely friendly staff - nothing was too much trouble- who made us welcome and indeed feel we were staying in someone's home rather than a hotel. Spotlessly clean and well appointed rooms and large grounds to walk in. The silence was wonderful!!

Food was superb with generous proportions. Drinks costs were VERYsensible and not what we might have expected for such a wonderful hotel.

So - do try this hotel - you definitely won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShropshireBearman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

From the moment we arrived until the time we regrettably had to leave, we were made to feel at home by everyone at Elm Grove. The house is delightful, the bedrooms well appointed, and the food and service first class.

If you are seeking a stress free holiday/break in a beautiful part of Pembrokeshire, then look no further than this "Gem of an Hotel" but please leave some dates free later this year because we all want to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j777syl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

Warm welcome, very comfortable rooms, spotlessly clean, delicious food, delightful surroundings, house full of character, nothing too much trouble, wonderful service, genuinely friendly people, in a fantastic part of the country, want to go there again and will be telling everyone to have a holiday here - need I say more!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mpandrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2010

We originally picked to stay in this area based on its proximity to the various coastal towns & what a wonderful find it was! The grounds & house were beautiful & well kept. The location is very quiet & quite relaxing. The rooms were very comfortable, spacious & clean. The proprietors were incredibly warm & friendly, & helpful as well. The meals offered on site were of very generous portions & delicious, with the ingredients locally sourced. I would highly recommend staying here if you're in need to get away from your day to day stresses or for a romantic getaway. I would consider myself very lucky to get to stay here again in the future!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grhyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2010

Stayed 4 nights in May.House set in lovely grounds surrounded by fields.Warm greeting from owner Alan with offer of a pot of tea-friedliness and willingness to help that continued throughout our stay.
Large room with high ceiling.Bath robes,plenty of tea,coffee and milk sachets and even a hot water bottle!The en-suite only had a shower but there was a bathroom on the landing that we used but this might be a problem in busy times if guests preferred a bath to a shower.According to previous reviews there are baths in some of the rooms so if this is important to you then you would need to specify when booking.
Breakfasts were freshly cooked and plentiful and we dined twice in the evening-excellent food with a varied menu.The drinks at dinner were priced cheaper than you would normally pay in large hotels and restaurants.
For the energetic there's a tennis court,croquet lawn and a games room that contains snooker tables and table tennis.
Unlike the previous reviewer didn't find the house "spooky".It's a country house built in the 1840s with plenty of character.We enjoyed our stay immmensely.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MICKMAT22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Florence
2.3 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
2.3 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#4 of 23 in Tenby
737 reviews
3.1 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#3 of 23 in Tenby
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Esplanade
The Esplanade
#12 of 23 in Tenby
269 reviews
2.4 mi away
Penally Abbey Hotel and Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Trefloyne Manor
Trefloyne Manor
#7 of 53 in Tenby
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elm Grove Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elm Grove Country House

Address: St Florence, St. Florence, Tenby SA70 8LS, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Tenby > St. Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in St. Florence
Price Range: £90 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Elm Grove Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elm Grove is a family run, four-star Country House. This elegant Georgian house is situated in its own grounds in the picturesque village of St. Florence, 3 miles from Tenby. All the individually decorated rooms are en-suite with excellent facilities including TV, DVD player,satellite TV, telephone, tea and coffee, bottled waters and bath robes. Guests can experience a tasteful mix of marble fireplaces, paneled doorways and large picture windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Elm Grove Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elm Grove Country Hotel
Elm Grove Country Tenby
Elm Grove Country House St. Florence, Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing