We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay, clean, quiet and quaint!”
Review of Chez Maria Goretti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chez Maria Goretti
Ranked #12 of 33 Hanga Roa B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect stay, clean, quiet and quaint!”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Great place to stay, so homely and a 5 min walk to the water where you have the chance to stand alone observing the ma'oi's with no one else around! (be mindful of the no standing signs) we headed down to water during sun rise and watched the sun come up and light up the statues, was amazing and no one else around. the hotel grounds are wonderful, and the breeze comes right through and everything is fresh and lovely. We opted one night to have dinner in, so gave them notice and after the first meal we always made sure we had dinner at the hotel! The food was AMAZING. the perfect home cooked meal.. delicious! Such a lovely place to stay, seems to be a large family business, felt so comfortable and relaxing. Loved it. 10 mins walk into the main street.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jazvrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    53
    24
    13
    11
See reviews for
28
59
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caracas, Distrito Federal, Venezuela
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Clean and comfortable rooms, great service and good breakfast. The staff were really kind and helpful.
They arranged our tours, adviced on the best places to watch and restaurants to visit.
We never found any bad surprise on our rooms like the other reviews say, and our towels and sheets were changed daily. Hot water was also never a problem.
Definitely a good place to stay and we would hit it again if we come back to the Island.

Room Tip: Look for the rooms by the pool. We stayed there and had no complaints whatsoever. You can hire a mus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gütersloh, Deutschland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Staying at Chez Maria Goretti was a wonderful experience! Not only the facility is just charming, with a nice right-sized pool at the center of it and nicely sized and clean rooms, but it was mainly Maria/ Nicole and the whole team that filled the place with laughter and good spirits. We really felt like staying at a close friends family home. Starting from the reception at the airport, where we were picked up at 6:55 am with a smile and a „Lei“, being already served breakfast at the day of checking in (and a yummy breakfast, that slightly varies on a daily basis it is) to taking care of all our smaller and bigger asks as visitors to arrange tours (do yourself a favor and do a horse riding trip with Papatekena!!!!) or have dinner at the hotel (highly recommended) we always felt the warmth of hosts that really care that you feel comfortable and at home! They even prepared a birthday cake for me!

This is the perfect, reasonably priced place for winding down and enjoying the relaxing magic of this fascinating island!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartyMcFly71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria g, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Chez Maria Goretti, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Iorana Marty!


Thank you very much for your comment!
We are very happy that you enjoy your stay here
say hello to Ingrid!

Best regards and hope see you soon!
all the chez maria goretti team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We had a cerimonial wedding planned with Maria. It was outstanding, Maria and her help did a wonderful job. Great food and plenty of drink for our 3 couples. Room was huge, fresh flowers and very clean. We were there over Christmas 2012 and the dinner was 100$ per person so we decided to pass. Maria came to our room that night and gave us a bottle of chanpagne and invited us over to the celibration for no charge. Eddy and Peter and eddys daughter did the wedding and were great. Plan your rental car and sight seeing with Maria and you'll save some money and make her happy (making Maria happy is key)
Only complaint May be that the pool bar was never open and difficult to get a beverage when you want one.
You also get pick up at the airport.
Fresh fruit juice, fruit. pastries in the morning.
The island is incredible!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peske1116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2013

The gardens were full of flowers, the staff was happy and very accommodating. Close to attractions but not so close that it's noisy. Maria and her family are friendly and happy people willing to help out and give advice. So glad we stayed there and met some amazing people who we now consider our friends! Thank you!

Room Tip: We stayed in room #5 It was very nice and big. The newest room from what we could see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyingdog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maria g, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Chez Maria Goretti, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Iorana! Thank you so much for your comments! we are very happy to know that you enjoy your stay at Chez Maria Goretti, Hope see you soon! Best regards from every one, Maria and Family and all the staf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2012

If you want to book Chez Maria Goretti you'll be in a very good hotel. All the island hotels are quite simple, so don't expect a 5 star one. They pick you up and deliver at the airport with no charges, clean the room every day, have a good breakfast with fresh juice and gives you all the info you want to provide a good stay at the island.
Some people here have complained about the noise of chikens and dogs. Believe me, there are plenty of these animals all around the island and this hotel has minus than the average.
Thanks a lot for Ceci for her hospitality.
If I return to the island someday definetivily I'll stay with Chez Maria Goretti again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ObservadorBtu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arequipa, Peru
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I have been 2 days ago in the hotel and I have to say firstly I will never come back to there.. The staff some of them were and unhelpful and pay attention to the girl is working in the hotel office , she was so rude and ungreatful .. Honestly I dont know why she does that job!!! poor loser!!! The owner who was I think who picked up us in the airport welcome us telling us I was ready to go because I fed up waiting you.. well it was not our fault then immigration was so slow in the small aiport .

Room Tip: no good rooms in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fedirico g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hanga Roa hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanga Roa hotels
0.9 mi away
Taha Tai Hotel
Taha Tai Hotel
#6 of 15 in Hanga Roa
378 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 15 in Hanga Roa
282 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rapa Nui
Hotel Rapa Nui
#7 of 15 in Hanga Roa
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Taura'a Hotel
Taura'a Hotel
#5 of 15 in Hanga Roa
439 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mana Nui Inn
Mana Nui Inn
#12 of 15 in Hanga Roa
162 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Maria Goretti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Maria Goretti

Property: Chez Maria Goretti
Address: s/n Tahai, Hanga Roa, Easter Island, Chile
Phone Number:
Region: Chile > Easter Island > Hanga Roa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Hanga Roa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chez Maria Goretti 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just at 5-minutes walking from the center of Hanga Roa and Ahu Tahai, Maria Goretti's Hotel is placed surrouded by beautiful gardens with stone sculptures and an outdoor swimming pool. All rooms have garden views and there is free Wi-Fi in common areas.Chez Maria Goretti offers regional folk style décor and plenty of outdoor seating areas to enjoy the garden.Rooms at Chez Maria Goretti feature dark wood furniture and simple décor. All rooms have private bathrooms.A buffet breakfast with fruits and juices is served daily. A variety of drinks can be ordered from the bar, styled with traditional sculpted wood designs and ornaments.Bicycle and car rental can be arranged through the reception desk.Mataveri Airport is a 5-minute drive and airport shuttle is free. Private parking is free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Chez Maria Goretti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chez Maria Goretti Easter Island/Hanga Roa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing