We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Administration”
Review of Hotel Manavai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Manavai
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Hanga Roa
Reviewed 18 December 2011

I booked two rooms at The Manavai in August for 5 nights over New Years Eve. I began emailing the hotel in November to confirm arrival times and if we could be collected from the airport. I sent over ten emails in a three week period and no reply. I then began calling. I must have tried to call over 50 times. Not a single answer at any time of day.
I called the management company in Santiago Chile to ask if the hotel had closed. They told me "No" but they are renowned for not answering the phone! Great hotel practice that!
Finally the management company got back to me and told me they had no record of my booking!
We managed at the last minute to get into another hotel. I shall be taking legal advice after we have returned.
BEWARE OF THIS HOTEL

Room Tip: Choose any other room anywhere on the island and it will be better than here. Possibly under an ahu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2011

I Stayed at this place with my husband, the guy who ran the place should really be in another business as he was not pleasant at all. I got bitten by bed bugs and when I asked them to wash my travel blanket and dry on extra hot heat to kill any potential bugs they charged me $10, what a scam!!! We rented their crap jeep and it was seriously a piece of junk for a day then the next day we rented from downtown location only a block away for a better price and not such a load of crap. Price was high and no discount given for bed bugs. + we had a similar experience as others with the whole US dollar/ Chilean pesos, they charged us extra to pay in their own currency! What a joke. Stay away.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank applejaxX10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

The hotel is in the middle of Hanga Roa, in walking distance of everything in town. The international staff will help you organize all the activites you can do on the Island.
There's a very nice backyard with tropical plants. You'll have to climb a few stairs to get to the pool, but will have a nice view to the beach.
The hotel is a bit pricy for what's offered, but that's a general thing on the Easter Island. Everything is quite expensive, since almost everything has to be taken there by plane or ship.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mika_1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Just returned from a trip to Easter Island and Hotel Manavai was a wonderful experience! Kim was excellent, she speaks English and her and the entire staff were exceptional! I can not recommend them enough! I had originally tried to book with the Tuaara inn, edith took my Credit card infor, but never confirmed my visit, so you can imagine my surprise when I show up and no one is there to pick me up. So I got a ride to Manavai and they were happy to have me. Rooms are simple, as are most in easter island, but comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apreskar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2010

We had a very nice stay at the Manavai and the staff are second to none.

This hotel is mid range, comfortable and very central but in a quiet location. The rooms are basic but very clean and comfortable.

Our flight to Santiago was cancelled and I cannot stress enough how helpful the Manager Kim was. She informed us of the cancellation, then constantly checked out what was happening at the airport and she let us spend the day at the hotel until our rescheduled flight was due and arranged a life to the airport for us. In contrast, all those people staying at the plus expensive Explorer were not given any information and just dropped at the airport to check in for the "non existent" flight.

If you want a good basic hotel, I would definitely recommend the Manavai.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lou74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2009

Had a very good time. The people are very friendly and helpful. Easter Island is a very unique and bizarre place. You must experience it for yourself!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank theflyingsicilian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2009

We had a very pleasant 5-night stay at Hotel Manavai. The walls are pretty thin, but we found the room to be clean and reasonably comfortable. With the exception of a rather grumpy driver who picked us up and took us back to the airport, everyone was helpful and very friendly, especially the front-desk staff.

The breakfasts were simple but

If you are looking for luxury accommodation, then you should head to Explora or elsewhere. However, if you want something central and not too expensive, then I would recommend the Manavai.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clompy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanga Roa hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 16 in Hanga Roa
294 reviews
0.4 mi away
Taura'a Hotel
Taura'a Hotel
#7 of 16 in Hanga Roa
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Taha Tai Hotel
Taha Tai Hotel
#6 of 16 in Hanga Roa
397 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tea Nui - Cabanas y Habitaciones
0.8 mi away
Hotel Hotu Matua
Hotel Hotu Matua
#14 of 16 in Hanga Roa
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Manavai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manavai

Address: Avenida Te Pito Ote Henua 1945, Hanga Roa, Easter Island 2770000, Chile
Region: Chile > Easter Island > Hanga Roa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Hanga Roa
Price Range: £109 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Manavai 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Manavai is a Hotel with Polynesian characteristics amidst natural surroundings. Comfortable rooms a pool with natural rock formation immersed in a tropical garden adorned with stone sculptures in what you will find here. We are an Oasis in the middle of town, just steps from the ocean, restaurants, shops, craft market, supermarket, post office and the bank. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Manavai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manavai Hotel Hanga Roa
Hotel Manavai Easter Island/Hanga Roa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing