We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Service, Filling Breakfast and A Great Location!”
Review of Hotel Manavai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Manavai
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Hanga Roa
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Friendly Service, Filling Breakfast and A Great Location!”
Reviewed 16 December 2012

My husband and I stayed with Hotel Manavai for 3 nights at the end of November 2012 and had a fantastic time!

The rooms were clean, with air con and a refrigerator, and the beds were comfortable. After our 6 hour flight from the mainland we were exhausted and glad the hotel let us check in at 7:30 AM!

The breakfast filled us up for most of the afternoon, it was coffee and juice, eggs, ham, cheese, fruit and bread with jam.

Most importantly everyone that worked at Manvai was more than willing to help us out! Since we only had three days to see the island they helped us plan out our route on where to go and which restaurants were the best.

We loved being in the city, it was easy to walk to the restaurants on the main street in addition to the Moai to watch sunset. There is an ice cream shop near the pier that we went to daily - it was delicious!

The pool was a great addition after we had been gone all day to sit and relax at before the sun set.

Tips:
If you need the internet, it is stronger closer to the breakfast room.

We would definitely suggest this hotel if you are visiting Easter Island!

Room Tip: We were grateful to have the air conditioning in our room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RTW42012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    62
    25
    13
    14
See reviews for
22
63
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quilpue, Chile
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

A nice hotel made of wooden bungalows, with luxurious vegetation, a small swimming pool, and a terrace with a view over the ocean, right in front of the place where the sun sets. The staff is friendly. It is not a luxury hotel, and there might be some bugs (just like everywhere on the island), but it's a good choice.

Room Tip: Make sure you bring bugs repellant (that is true for every hotel in the island)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChileanTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

I never write reviews but I had to for this amazing hotel. First of all the location was perfect for any activity. Eating, walking, partying...perfect location. Next, the staff was so kind and nice especially Benjamin. Me and my friend just got back from there and would highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a good value and I can not stress enough, location, location, location...

Room Tip: Being there in November the nights were cold so ask for some heat in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Great location in town. Kim picked us up at the airport, dropped us off- very accomodating (took care of renting a car for us, gave us restaurant adivce). Rooms are a little dark, but love the property- very old school laid-back Polynesian vibe. Free wi-fi is awesome.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, Chile
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

I booked two rooms at The Manavai in August for 5 nights over New Years Eve. I began emailing the hotel in November to confirm arrival times and if we could be collected from the airport. I sent over ten emails in a three week period and no reply. I then began calling. I must have tried to call over 50 times. Not a single answer at any time of day.
I called the management company in Santiago Chile to ask if the hotel had closed. They told me "No" but they are renowned for not answering the phone! Great hotel practice that!
Finally the management company got back to me and told me they had no record of my booking!
We managed at the last minute to get into another hotel. I shall be taking legal advice after we have returned.
BEWARE OF THIS HOTEL

Room Tip: Choose any other room anywhere on the island and it will be better than here. Possibly under an ahu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hanga Roa hotels

Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2011

I Stayed at this place with my husband, the guy who ran the place should really be in another business as he was not pleasant at all. I got bitten by bed bugs and when I asked them to wash my travel blanket and dry on extra hot heat to kill any potential bugs they charged me $10, what a scam!!! We rented their crap jeep and it was seriously a piece of junk for a day then the next day we rented from downtown location only a block away for a better price and not such a load of crap. Price was high and no discount given for bed bugs. + we had a similar experience as others with the whole US dollar/ Chilean pesos, they charged us extra to pay in their own currency! What a joke. Stay away.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank applejaxX10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2011

The hotel is in the middle of Hanga Roa, in walking distance of everything in town. The international staff will help you organize all the activites you can do on the Island.
There's a very nice backyard with tropical plants. You'll have to climb a few stairs to get to the pool, but will have a nice view to the beach.
The hotel is a bit pricy for what's offered, but that's a general thing on the Easter Island. Everything is quite expensive, since almost everything has to be taken there by plane or ship.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mika_1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanga Roa hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
0.5 mi away
Taha Tai Hotel
Taha Tai Hotel
#6 of 15 in Hanga Roa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 15 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Taura'a Hotel
Taura'a Hotel
#4 of 15 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tea Nui - Cabanas y Habitaciones
1.1 mi away
Hotel Altiplanico
Hotel Altiplanico
#9 of 15 in Hanga Roa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Manavai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manavai

Property: Hotel Manavai
Address: Avenida Te Pito Ote Henua 1945, Hanga Roa, Easter Island 2770000 , Chile
Region: Chile > Easter Island > Hanga Roa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Hanga Roa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Manavai 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Manavai is a Hotel with Polynesian characteristics amidst natural surroundings. Comfortable rooms a pool with natural rock formation immersed in a tropical garden adorned with stone sculptures in what you will find here. We are an Oasis in the middle of town, just steps from the ocean, restaurants, shops, craft market, supermarket, post office and the bank. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Manavai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manavai Hotel Hanga Roa
Hotel Manavai Easter Island/Hanga Roa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing