We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Value Elsewhere.”
Review of Atavai Pension

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Atavai Pension
Ranked #11 of 33 Hanga Roa B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Better Value Elsewhere.”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I booked this hotel based on the reviews on here. I assume that the hotel runs better when the owners are here. The stand in kid who was running the place while I was there offered no services and was quite rude when asked. There were no towels, toilet paper on arrival and when asked says he didnt have any. He was never there, so couldnt ask questions. The only time he was there was when his friends came around and I could smell marijuana. Coincidence? I dont know. It was probably the only place that didnt offer a shuttle service to and from the airport. Other guests i chatted to didn't enjoy their experience either. Ive been to over 30 countries and stayed in all sorts of accomodation and this would be one of the worst. 6 powerpoints in the room and only 1 half worked. Wifi is agonisingly slow. A long way from town along a muddy track with no chance of getting a cab....look elsewhere people. I heard the campsite in town only charges $5 per night for a tent... and would provides better services!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Timmy_tiger1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atavai, Propietario at Atavai Pension, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Google Translation
Estimado pasajero,
Lamentamos su comentario y apreciación.
Al momento de hacer su reserva, el sitio donde usted efectuó su reserva informo a usted las condiciones por el periodo escogido:
El hotel ofrece un servicio limitado desde el 1 de mayo hasta el 1 de agosto de 2014. Durante dicho periodo, las tarifas de las habitaciones solo incluyen el alojamiento. No se facilitarán servicios de limpieza ni desayunos. Se proporcionará la ropa de cama, pero no se cambiará durante la estancia.

Estando informado de las condiciones, usted critica al establecimiento sin informar a los demás viajeros objetivamente.
Al partir del 01/08/2014, ofrecemos nuevamente los servicios habituales, y las tarifas son ajustadas a estos.
Por lo tanto, toda su queja con respecto a los servicios no ofrecidos esta fuera de lugar.
Son muchos los que viajan, yo mismo he recorrido mucho mas que los 30 países que usted pretende conocer. Tal como ahora, ausente porque viajando en America de sur, Europa y Marruecos, aprendiendo de otros establecimientos para entregar el mejor servicio según el bolsillo del cliente.
Rechazo también su comentario con respecto a su apreciación de haber olido marihuana, parece que le hace falta argumentos para evaluar el establecimiento.

Se agradece respetar las normas del hotel, y espero que le queda claro que usted esperaba algo que no había contratado, que si, ofrecemos servicios, pero no en dicho periodo.
Se agradece reconocer la tranquilidad del lugar, la belleza de su entorno, el confort de su habitación y de su grande terraza.
Bien cordialmente,
La dirección.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    64
    27
    12
    9
See reviews for
27
68
49
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I was recommended this place by a friend from Tahiti and to be honest I wasn't impressed by the hospitality of the owners. It was service minimum, which is a shame because the reason why I went there is that I was expecting a more personalised experience than in a random hotel. The breakfast is not included and when you order a tea, you barely have enough water for 2 cups which a find a bit stinge! Besides, if you don't have a car it's hell to get there and some tours are not even willing to pick you up because of the poor quality of the dirt road. The cleaning is OK but again very minimal, the shower water not hot enough and the towel smelled humidity. The place could be much better with a bit of effort to add warmth like a BBQ night or a communal kitchen for example.

Room Tip: There is an independent studio appt with fridge which looked nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lolaFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atavai, Propietario at Atavai Pension, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Google Translation
Tres chere cliente,
C est avec plaisir que nous avons accepte de vous recevoir sans aucun frais, lorsque vous aviez annule votre reservation, par erreur.
Nous aurions aime lire votre temoignage de remerciement a ce sujet.
Au contraire, vous critiquez l hotel pour vous fournir des services d hotels.
Nous sommes un hotel familial, et nous nous efforcons d aider les voyageurs lors de leur passage parmis nous. Tres souvent, ils se sentent comme chez eux et repartent comme des amis.
La plupart du temps, ca depend de la disposition de la clientele.
Certainement ce fut le cas avec vos amis de Tahiti, qui vous ont conseille notre etablissement. Nous faisons des barbequeues, des aperitifs, des relations amicales selon le contexte, selon les personnes.
C est aussi a vous de vous approcher, de communiquer. De notre cote, on se doit d etre present mais jamais collant.
Pour le service de the, votre opinion et perception est certainement partagee, mais n est pas la mienne. Je vais dans un bar, je commande un the, je n attends pas a en avoir deux.
Au sujet d une cuisine communautaire, nous avons deja teste cette option: resultat decevant, certains clients ne respetant pas les normes de proprete.
Mais nous proposons un excellent restaurant, avec des menus et a la carte, nos prix ne sont pas si exorbitants. Biensur, en vacances, ca coute plus cher que cuisiner a la maison, surtout que notre ile propose des produits pas toujours bon marche.
Nous nous efforcerons chaque jour d avantage pour satisfaire tous les besoins de nos clients, a les aider a faire de leur sejour un moment inoubliable.
Bien amicalement,
La direction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Pros
- Lolita and Antoine are friendly hosts and they can speak english, spanish and french
- Wifi is not so bad compare to other places in easter island
- Hot shower, hair dryer...
- Very clean and confortable room. The cleaning is done every day.
- Good deal with a car rental company

Co ns
- Far from the city center? You need to walk 25 minutes to go to the city center (and so to grocery shops, restaurants, banks...).
You should use taxis or rent a vehicle

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CyrilMaraboO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guayaquil
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Nice place. Friendly owner with some English, good French. Rooms clean, modern and comfortable. Breakfast was a roll and black coffee or tea so a bit of a disappointment there. Extras expensive but so is everything in Rapa Nui. Very helpful in organizing tours and a car rental. 20-30 minute walk outside town so at night flashlight a good idea. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others also.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level 6 Contributor
547 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

If you have a car or bike, the place is ok. But if not, it is too far away from everything.
So if you plan to walk around in the town, pleases find your place there.
Or I recommend you to stay there in the twon or very close to the town, if you have no any reason to stay so far away.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mitsuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

It started fairly well with the owner providing a lot of useful information and kindly ordered a car for us which was delivered to us at the hotel in the morning. Unfortunately and once we had paid for our 3-night stay it stopped there. Despite the fact that our flight was at midnight the check out was strictly at 10 am. We were able to leave our luggage in reception but it was made clear to us that it should be collected before 8 pm when reception closes. No alternatives were offered. We collected our luggage at 7:30 pm and I asked to use the toilets. I was told that there weren't any in reception and obviously he didn't want me to use the toilet in the several empty rooms. instead the owner helpfully mentioned that there were toilets at the airport!! (and no it was not a joke).
The hotel is decent but overpriced, like everything else on easter island. however, 4 USD for a cup of tea is just a rip off. I understand that the island is very isolated and that goods and services come at a premium but a cup of boiling water with a tea bag for that price is ludicrous, short of robbery. I cannot recommend this hotel, especially as it's far away from town

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jmt12london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAtavai, Propietario at Atavai Pension, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear guest,
I apologized to you about the toilets. You backed to our reception 10 hours after your check out, to recuperate your luggages and go to airport. At airport, there is public toilets, and we are very closer to this place. About our rooms, you thought that we had vacant, but it s not true, we were waiting for new clients arriving at the same night of your flight, so at this schedule, we don t have anymore time to clean again the room, so there is no more room for that, there were prepared for other people, I think that you found your room very clean at your arrival( you arrived by night) we keeped your room clean for you , it s what I m sure that we have to do.
So, we needed your room and the timetable of our workers is in the morning, they finish their work at 14h00, so, I m so sorry but the check out is on time, I you have your flight by night, you must keep your room and ask for a late check out, as we gave you the information.
Very friendly, we keep your luggages until 20h00, I think it s very kind as well you had your car.
About if we are overpriced, I can t understand when you payed 76 usd per night, for our island it s very correct! And you never took a breakfast, or a cup of tea. You said overpriced, and you went to Tahiti at check out so, you will see yourself big prices, dishonestly you added about our location when you had a car for all your stay.
I remember myself, I visit your country 3 time, and London it s not a city very cheap, I m wrong? But I never claimed about it.
Friendly, but objectively, we are sorry that when you were no more our client( 10 hours after your check out), we didn t have a toilet for you.
La direccion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

The French owner is nice and helpful and offered transfer to and from the airport which we appreciated. The bungalows are very basic (very much like the cheap Southeast Asian style) and in no way justify the price - BUT on Easter Island everything is more expensive and thus I think Hotel Atavai is not a bad choice after all; and it's clean which is most important to us. Be aware that the walls are incredibly thin and whenever anyone flushes the toilet or showers you will definitely hear it very well. Breakfast is not included and in my opinion very pricey if you order à la carte. The owner will help with renting scooters and cars and also provided us with a map of the island. The location is okay, quite close to the airport and a 15min easy walk into town.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flauschipoohbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanga Roa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 15 in Hanga Roa
282 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mana Nui Inn
Mana Nui Inn
#12 of 15 in Hanga Roa
162 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Hotu Matua
Hotel Hotu Matua
#14 of 15 in Hanga Roa
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Taha Tai Hotel
Taha Tai Hotel
#6 of 15 in Hanga Roa
378 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tea Nui - Cabanas y Habitaciones
1.1 mi away
Camping Mihinoa
Camping Mihinoa
#5 of 89 in Easter Island
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atavai Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atavai Pension

Property: Atavai Pension
Address: Avenida Pont, Hanga Roa, Easter Island 139, Chile
Region: Chile > Easter Island > Hanga Roa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Hanga Roa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Atavai Pension 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atavai hotel is situated in the only village of Easter Island, Hanga Roa. It has 7 comfortable rooms with private bathroom with shower and toilet. Mobil internet access via pendrive. The hotel also has car parking for its guests. The hotel inform you about all the activities in the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Atavai Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atavai Pension Easter Island/Hanga Roa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing