We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, great tours, great everything!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tekarera Kainga Ora & Kainga Nui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tekarera Kainga Ora & Kainga Nui
Ranked #2 of 33 Hanga Roa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel, great tours, great everything!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

The trip to Easter Island was a dream coming true, and to have Paul Pownall as our guide surely added a lot to our experience!

We stayed at the Takarera Inn and the accomodations are very cozy. Nothing better than waking up early in the morning and looking at the sea or late in the evening watching the sun go down from our privat porch at our little home away from home (that’s how it felt!)!

Paul is very thoughtful and had a lot of patience with our little daughter that at the time was 3 years old. They both bonded beautifully and everythime she sees our trip pictures she starts to talk about how nice Tio Paul is and all the stories of the island that he told her more than once!

Anyway, the island is great, the people are great and I will definitely visit it again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadine_Sickermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    20
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
74
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Our flight out of Easter Island was cancelled and the airline put us up at this hotel. It was all very last minute. Paul, the owner met us and took us to our rooms and was the sole of hospitality, despite the lateness of the hour.

The room I had was excellent by any standard and there was a decent buffet breakfast the next morning. Talking to Paul and realising his passion for the island (he's American) made me wish that we could have taken one of his tours. The airline drip fed information throughout the day and Paul really couldn't have been more helpful. I headed into town to eat but he went out of his way to prepare lunch for another passenger who was delayed.

I only spent one night here, as I say, but you get a feel for what someone is about and I'd recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Here's the thing. Unless you want to drop serious coin on one of the two super fancy places on Easter Island, I think most of the lodgings are pretty indistinguishable, and fairly average.

Except.

Except there are advantages that set Tekarera apart from the average. First, of course, is Paul, the owner. Not only will he get out of bed in the middle of the night to pick you up at the airport, he'll drop you off for your departing flight too. He also provides the best tour of the island that I can possibly imagine. His experience in this place is extensive and unique, and you should definitely would not miss sharing his perspective on one of his tours. If you want to take your own tour, you can rent a car from him on the property. If you want to ride horses, he knows whom to go to. Where to eat? He can tell you that. He also lays out a nice breakfast every morning, and has two excellent dogs who will be happy for your company if you are happy for theirs. And the rooms, of course, are fine: they're clean and comfortable, if not the pinnacle of five star luxury (though I suspect five star luxury seekers don't typically end up vacationing on Easter). It's nice to be able to walk out and sit on the deck, to watch the ocean or the sunset. I also like the location: it's a short walk down to the oceanfront park with some moai, where you'll definitely want to take in a sunset or two. If you don't mind a slightly longer walk, you can also get into town in about 15 minutes (less if your legs are longer). So basically, rooms are rooms on Easter, but it's the host at Tekarera who sets this place apart.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank supergirl_sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

When we were looking at places to stay at Easter Island, we came up with a few options. However, all those other choices were put to the side when we received an email from a close friend praising the experience she had at Tekarera Inn. We decided to follow this recommendation, and we don't regret that choice.

Paul - the owner/operator - is a exceptional guide. He met us at the airport and drove us to the inn. While on the drive, Paul gave us a quick tour of Hanga Roa easily giving out stories of the island's history, restaurant recommendations, and a general wealth of information on the island. The knowledge was even more apparent during our day and a half tour with him.

We experienced firsthand why it is important to choose a credible guide, like Paul. While on our tour, another guide (not associated with Tekarera) was standing near us and telling a story about an "ancient platform." Paul started laughing and as we all walked away he informed us that the platform was actually built for a wedding about ten years ago and is far from being ancient.

Paul was always more than willing to help whenever he could. He was always ready to answer any questions he had and to assist us (including picking us up from a restaurant after dinner instead of having to take a cab). The accommodations are comfortable, clean, and spacious.

I can't express how highly I would recommend the Tekarera Inn while visiting Easter Island. If you go to Easter Island, I would also highly recommend a tour from Paul. I know you won't regret it!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sumohurdler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed at Tekarera for 6 days in October of 2013 and had a simply fantastic time. Our rooms were spacious, well-decorated, with modern plumbing, and extremely clean. Paul and his staff provided us with a simple breakfast every morning, which we enjoyed on the deck overlooking the ocean. The Inn is located a short walk from the shore, and very close to some restored Moai, and a 15 minute walk into the town of Hanga Roa. There are several good restaurants within walking distance of the Inn. But the real highlight of our trip was the Inn's owner and "Tour Guide Extraordinaire", Paul. He is a fountain of Easter Island history and archeological knowledge, and has interesting stories to share concerning all facets of life on Rapa Nui -- both ancient and modern. I cannot recommend him highly enough. Making the trip to Easter Island was a dream of mine since I was a teenager, and with Paul's help, my trip was even better than I had dreamed it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyDenver2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
154 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We had a wonderful time staying at Tekarera Inn. Paul - the owner and an amazing guide - is beyond my vocabulary. What a wonderful human being who made the whole experience beyond what I ever could have hoped for. And the way Paul shares information and answers questions - it feels like a conversation between friends and not like a guided tour. But back to Tekarera Inn: our room was very big and spacious with the softest sheets. Breakfast is very generous and served just outside our door. Very nice to have a refrigerator available as well as coffee and tea and more in the hallway. The location is fantastic - just a few minutes walk from the museum, the coast and the moa'i. And the views from the veranda in the evening - how I miss watching the sun set over the ocean! Would have loved to have stayed longer and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susanned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

We spent six days on the island and everyday was an experience. How fortunate we were to fall into the hands of Paul Pownall. He is the BEST guide on the island. If you go to Easter Island, please seek him out because it will be worth your while to find out the true history of the island. Our accommodations were very clean and comfortable. Paul went the extra mile to ensure that our trio was comfortable and that we were experiencing the culture.

Amy, Colorado, USA

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 747amy1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanga Roa
1.4 mi away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
1.1 mi away
Taura'a Hotel
Taura'a Hotel
#4 of 14 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 14 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
#1 of 23 in Easter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hare Noi
Hare Noi
#3 of 14 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Altiplanico
Hotel Altiplanico
#6 of 14 in Hanga Roa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tekarera Kainga Ora & Kainga Nui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tekarera Kainga Ora & Kainga Nui

Property: Tekarera Kainga Ora & Kainga Nui
Address: Te Karera S/N, Hanga Roa, Easter Island, Chile
Phone Number:
Region: Chile > Easter Island > Hanga Roa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Hanga Roa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tekarera Kainga Ora & Kainga Nui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tekarera Kainga Ora & Kainga Nui Easter Island/Hanga Roa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing