We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, convenient..great value!”
Review of Cabanas Tautira

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cabanas Tautira
Certificate of Excellence
Kyoto, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable, convenient..great value!”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Nice LARGE , comfortable apartment...very reasonable price considering grossly overpriced Rapa Nui. Enjoyable 4 night visit!
Very close to downtown shopping/markets. Great kitchen, fully equipped..helps save a LOT of money. Generally very quiet environs/garden/family/traffic. The other apartment was vacant the first three days..then, a VERY NOISY local guy moved in...and we could barely hear ourselves think! But overall, very quiet..few roosters close by! You can usually rent the owner's jeep (might want to reserve it in advance) for driving around the island..we used it for 2 1/2 days..doing so, you save a LOT of money and you can see just about everything you want to, plus a couple of visits to the sandy beach for swimming/snorkeling under the Maoi statues..very popular local place on the northern side of the island. Swimming/parking FREE..so you can do the best of Rapa Nui without going broke at the same time! Laundry service, however, is grossly overpriced, rather slow, and NOT convenient..if you had to go through that again, we might just do our own laundry in town, but who wants to do that when on vacation! Owners speak great English and are very helpful when around, but sometimes difficult to track down. One works for LAN Airlines. The other brother forgot about our "included" trip back to the airport, even though he had been reminded a few hours before. A little bit upsetting, esp. to my wife! Not 100% professional, but still, friendly, nice apartment/owners. CASH only! Certainly would stay there again, but can't imagine going back to Rapa Nui anytime soon. Everyone should go at least once..and ONLY once. But if you do, stay here! Definitely Recommended for anyone who wants very nice accommodations at a reasonable price!

Room Tip: Either room is FINE..reserve well in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jinbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    23
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
33
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oregon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We just spent 9 nights at Tautira and really enjoyed our stay there. The duplex is very centrally located in Hanga Roa- you can walk to all the stores, but it is also away from the main road and very quiet. The apartment is well equipped with everything and it is clean. We did love the mosquito screen covering some of the windows. We can recommend this place and would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank granite64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLean, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Just spent a week in Eastern Island with my sisters and mother and had a fabulous time. The cabin was greatly located, a couple of blocks from all the restaurants and center of town, as well as the ocean. It was pleasantly decorated and extremely clean and well kept. Very comfortable and well equipped kitchen, plus comfortable beds (always important); All rooms had curtains (I always pay attention to this as I do not like bright light early in the morning) and Jorge and Juan were superb. They were always attentive in case you needed something, gave us lots of ideas of where to go, we rented a great jeep from them to visit the island as well. The cabin is cool, although it was plain summer when I went

Room Tip: All cabins are the same. If you have children, there is a swing set and a trampolin in the yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alice1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2013

This is the best place to stay on Easter Island. Juan, the owner, saved our day when we found out that our tours were not going to work out AND a cruise ship was in town. He solved the problem by making a lot of calls and found a solution. The home was clean and properly equipped, and we truly enjoyed our stay. Juan also drove us around the area upon our arrival to give us an idea of where to walk, to get food, etc. This was the highlight of a three week trip. Thanks, Juan!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbuchart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

We stayed 4 nights at Cabanas Tautira and would recommend them. The Cabanas are large with a well equipped kitchen, comfortable beds and a patio. We liked that the area was gated and we were able to park our rental car in a secure area. The Cabanas are close to town and it easy to walk to dinner. Juan and Jorge are very helpful and available for any questions.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJT8470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Highly recommended if you need to stay on EI for a long time as has a fully equipped kitchen where you can cook your own meals (eating out on EI is expensive!). Jorge and Juan are also a delight to deal with.

One block walk from the main street.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suti1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We are a couple with a 3 yr old daughter and stayed 4 nights here. Each day was sheer bliss. We spent a month traveling through Chile and Peru and this was by far our best stay of the trip in all possible respects. Jorge and Juan rent out two bungalows on their property. They both have bungalows of their own on the same land but you wouldn't notice. They will keep to themselves offering you complete privacy but the instant you need something all you would need is to knock at their door. Jorge picked us up at the airport and showed us around the town. After checking us in the first thing he pointed out was the swings and trampoline they had installed in the garden for their own kids. He said please make sure your daughter uses everything freely and enjoys herself. They did not once ask for the payment in advance nor did they ask what our plans were and try to push us anything - a tour or car rental etc. It all felt like family. Their mother lives with them and one day she sent the housekeeper over to our bungalow with a jug full of cold mango juice. Their housekeeper also cheerfully helped us with laundry

The bungalows themselves are very modern 2 bed room units, well equipped with a kitchenette and an easy 5 min walk from the main street of Hanga Roa. There is a large patio in the front where you can spend time endlessly watching the break of dawn (the island is several hours behind mainland so you will inevitably wake up at or before dawn) and the glorious sunsets. We brought food and pisco from Santiago and cooked our own meals and had it on the patio each day. We also rented the 4WD from Jorge for a couple of days.....we looked around and could not find a better price. It was very convenient to pick up the jeep and come and go at will. There is wi-fi on the grounds and it works perfectly although the internet on EI is slow.

When it was time to leave, we were anxious about how far in advance we had to check in. Jorge's response - come let me take you over to the terminal and check you in. Then you can come back and relax and I will drop you back at boarding time. This is Rapa Nui..... we've not seen anything like this island and we have not seen anything close to this level of warmth and down to earth hospitality before.

Room Tip: There are two cabanas adjacent to each other and both are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shoonye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanga Roa hotels
0.2 mi away
Taura'a Hotel
Taura'a Hotel
#5 of 15 in Hanga Roa
439 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 15 in Hanga Roa
281 reviews
0.4 mi away
Taha Tai Hotel
Taha Tai Hotel
#6 of 15 in Hanga Roa
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
0.7 mi away
Mana Nui Inn
Mana Nui Inn
#12 of 15 in Hanga Roa
162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tiare Pacific
Hotel Tiare Pacific
#4 of 15 in Hanga Roa
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas Tautira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas Tautira

Property: Cabanas Tautira
Address: Tuki Haka Hevari Sin Numero Esquina Avareipua, Hanga Roa, Easter Island 2717100, Chile
Phone Number:
Region: Chile > Easter Island > Hanga Roa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Hanga Roa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabanas Tautira 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tautira Bungalows, Easter Island. Come and meet this beautiful spot, plenty of beauty and tradition, enjoying our friendly services, comfortable facilities and unbeatable location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cabanas Tautira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas Tautira Easter Island/Hanga Roa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing