We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice”
Review of Cabanas Christophe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cabanas Christophe
Ranked #1 of 34 Hanga Roa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I chose this accommodation based on reviews on Tripadvisor and Booking.com and was not disappointing. Christophe is an excellent host and runs a very good establishment. We stayed in the self contained annex which had a great view of the ocean and dormant volcano, Rano Kau. The accommodation is also located at the beginning of the trail to climb the volcano. Christophe organised a rental car (Suzuki Jimny) which was a must to see the island. It was cheap as was petrol (Chilean government subsidises petrol for Easter Island). Christophe provided return transfers and brought us cheese, ham, rolls and juice for breakfast. You do not have a lot of options on Easter Island, but you can be sure that this one will be good. Regardless of what people say, Wi-Fi is terrible all over the island. If this is an issue perhaps don't travel to one of the most remote parts of the world.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MMthetruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

Can't add too much more that what has been previously written but I will try to add some details on his cabanas. Don't expect this place to be like a hotel cause there's very few on the island. There are two levels and the layout is much like a small motel. Upper rooms afford a better view but the lower ones are very nice as well with a sitting area in front. Our room had a queen and two bunk beds and a breakfast area with a small fridge. The washroom was small with a stand up shower and sink. There is no ventilation fan so you have to keep the window open to air the moisture out. Also there is no A/C but he does provide a large fan to keep you cool. Fortunately it wasn't too hot when we went at the end of April. This lack of A/C does pose a problem in that you have to open the windows or door to have some ventilation but the windows do not have screens so if you have tasty blood like I do then there is a problem with mosquitos. I recommend bringing a good mosquito repellent.
Christophe provides a simple but good breakfast consisting of buns, cheese and ham. There's also a litre of orange juice, milk, butter and jam provided in the fridge. It can be monotonous if you stayed for a extended period of time but you can vary it up by buying your own groceries.
That short walk everyone seems to talk about to the centre of town is not that short. Walking back from the centre in the evening can be very dangerous due to the lack of lighting on the roads and no sidewalk. Recommend renting a vehicle especially if you want to eat in town and tour the island. Otherwise it was a very good experience.

Room Tip: Upper level would probably be a better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gmaverick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I can't add much of what's been written about this before, I stayed here about 2 weeks ago and couldn't wait to come back and write about it, is the least I can do. Cristophe an his wife were very welcoming to us, we felt we were staying with family. From the quick tour, to the car rental, it was all very helpful. He provided a book guide which I used to plan out my days in the island. He provides breakfast every morning, however on one of the days, we were leaving early morning to watch the sunrise in Tangoriki and we didn't let him know until last minute, next thing we know, he came upstairs and provided us with some food so that we didn't have to leave without breakfast next morning. He's not in the center, but the island is tiny! Its a 1 minute drive from the main road! I took a taxi to his place, but with proper arrangements, he'll pick you up at the airport. Also, if your coming from the US, no need to change your cash, he accepts US dollars $$$.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoseChi312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

From the moment we arrived and were met by Christophe with a friendly smile and garlands of flowers to our departure a week later, again taken by Christophe to the airport and given the traditional parting gift of a shell necklace each, this stay was absolutely fantastic. Our room was comfortable and well equipped and although there was no cooker, Christophe was happy to find anything we needed to help us, including a bowl to make microwave risotto! He was a mine of information about the island and his guidance and excellent guide book helped us to make the most of a magical week. The accommodation was well situated, a bit of a hike into town but peaceful and perfect for walking to Orongo and strolling along the cliffs in the evening. There were plenty of places to eat in Hanga Roa but we also enjoyed self catering and sitting on the terrace outside our room with a glass of wine taking in the view. It was well worth following Christophe's advice and renting a 4 wheel drive from his brother in law - absolutely no form filling necessary! This enabled us to make the most of the spectacular sites the island has to offer and we felt that a week was just about right to enable us to do this. Thoroughly recommended and real value for money - the rooms were spotlessly clean and cleaned every day. Breakfast, as others have said was somewhat unimaginative but plentiful; the rolls were fresh and we had enough to take a cheese roll picnic lunch with us on our rambles most days. Thank you, Christophe, we hope to return one day.

Room Tip: The cheaper option was fine for us but the view from the upstairs room would have been spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony and Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My wife and I stayed 6 nights from Feb.6,2014 and were very pleased with this place.Christophe meeting us at the airport with a flower lei and a orientation drive through the town pointing out the various attractions and the stores to get the best items was a great introduction to this wonderful Island.Each morning Christophe delivered a nice breakfast of fresh rolls and jam and cheese and fresh coffee.We stayed in the upper unit and had a huge porch looking out over the ocean for a great view. We were only a 15-20 minute walk to town.Would stay here again and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: 2nd floor has huge porch and nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gil1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

the nice impression starts with being welcomed by Christophe in the airport, he is a very friendly person and tried to help us with every demand (like renting a car, for example). the cabanas are clean and ok maintained. as for me, the breakfast could be little bit better, though having a fridge took away this slight inconvenience. the cabanas have internet, but the speed is not enough to normally surf it, a general problem of Easter island - well enough to research some little information. the environment is very friendly and calm. the location is pretty far from the city, but thats not a problem cos anyway one needs to get a vehicle to explore an island. enjoyed!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank etoDasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

My husband and I stayed with Christophe for four nights in March 2014. He made it very easy to make a reservation over the internet even without a credit card, and responded promptly to all our questions. When we arrived at the airport he was there to greet us with leis which was a very nice touch. He was very friendly and helpful during our entire stay. We had reserved a superior room, and the location of our room was on the second story with a huge porch that overlooked the cliffs and ocean. Our room was large with a King size bed and two singles, an eating table, fridge, TV, and bathroom. The best thing of all was the porch where we spent time watching sunsets, listening to the waves, and enjoying the scenery. The bathroom was small but adequate, with fresh towels everyday. Christophe arranged for a car rental for us and had it waiting the morning we wanted it with the keys in it. It could not have been more convenient! His price for the car and room rental was very reasonable. Before we got the car, he drove us to our restaurant one night. His entire way of operating was to do as much as he could for his guests, even make you feel like family. With his personality, kindness and attention to detail he is perfect for this business. Having said all that the one thing that kept me from giving Cabanas Christophe an outstanding rating was that there were no screens on the windows. Consequently, we had to shut all the windows and turn on the fan at night so we had no "visitors". That was a spoiler for me. I would still recommend Cabanas Christophe highly, just be prepared for this issue. If you choose to stay here, definitely ask for the superior room with the porch, it made our stay!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sunshine49jbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanga Roa
1 mi away
Taha Tai Hotel
Taha Tai Hotel
#4 of 16 in Hanga Roa
417 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 16 in Hanga Roa
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Hare Boutik
Hotel Hare Boutik
#3 of 16 in Hanga Roa
255 reviews
1 mi away
Taura'a Hotel
Taura'a Hotel
#5 of 16 in Hanga Roa
450 reviews
5.3 mi away
explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
#1 of 24 in Easter Island
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas Christophe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas Christophe

Address: Mataveri, Hanga Roa, Easter Island, Chile
Region: Chile > Easter Island > Hanga Roa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Hanga Roa
Price Range: £71 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cabanas Christophe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas Christophe Easter Island/Hanga Roa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing