We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice room with outstanding view”
Review of Hotel Altiplanico

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Altiplanico
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Hanga Roa
Auburn, ME
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“nice room with outstanding view”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Located about 20 minutes from town by foot or 5 minutes by cab. Each room was in a separate hut-like building. Nice bathroom and bed. A bit warm in the summer with ceiling fan not adequate. Truly great view of ocean and of the wonderful daily sunset.
Suppers were ok and too pricy while breakfasts were quite good.
Hotels are quite limited on Eastern Island and this one is nice for its cost and level

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rweis1d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    142
    53
    15
    13
See reviews for
52
182
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I got this hotel as part of my honeymoon trip. Nice staff, excellent food. The rooms are quite big and luxurious simple (considering you are in an Island in the middle of nowhere). But the restaurant of the hotel was suberb! All the meals I had were delicious.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CesarAbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in bungalow 17 it was on a bit of a hill so gave us a great view of the ocean and we were away from all the other rooms so had some privacy. We went to see another hotel in town that we almost booked as it was cheaper and were glad we went for this one. We ate at the hotel the night we arrived as it was 10pm and they had a special night with bonfire and small band, it was a lovely evening and great start for our time here. The staff made us feel very welcome. The decor was fine, it is not quite as expected for the money, but this is Easter Island it is extremely remote and updating decor must be very expensive. It is out of town, and having read reviews on the amount of time taken we were prepared for a long walk into Hanga Roa, but with the ocean views, Moai, caves, the local museum, horses, friendly locals it probably took a few hours each time, not that we noticed we were too busy enjoying ourselves. The taxi's are good value for money about U$6 per ride back from town. We recommend booking up two days of excursions and if staying longer bring your driving license and hire a car distances around the island were further than we thought.

Room Tip: Choose 17 if you want great views & privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noodles20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Altiplanico in October 2013. From their website and brochures, I and my travel companion were lead to believe this was a 5-star luxury hotel. Instead, we were greeted with dirty water in a pool covered with leaves, a "hot tub under the stars" that was empty and rusted, dangerous non-working driveway safety lighting (some of it so long unrepaired it had grass growing in it), having to drag our luggage up a steep hill with no help (that same hill - the main one to the cabins - also difficult/dangerous to navigate at night due to poor lighting). The bathroom (floor and walls) in our room was dirty; even the paint job in this luxury establishment was childish at best. The road to get there was filled with potholes and a good 45 minute walk from the downtown. As proof of what I'm saying here, I took photos of these things as I experienced them in October 2013, so those reading here can get a better sense of the real deal at Hotel Altiplanico on Easter Island. You can go to better places to get a panoramic ocean view on Easter Island. There are several reviews here in the "Terrible" and "Poor" section that talk about stubborn management - unwilling to do even basic safety repairs, unwilling to issue full or partial refunds for dissatisfied guests. Easter Island is a wonderful place to visit - just don't do it here. There is no way this is one of the 20 best small hotels in Chile - instead, I thought it was a $400+ ripoff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kleber F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

I stayed here for 5 days with my husband. We both loved it here. It is on a hill overlooking the Pacific Ocean. We stayed in room 17 which is the rooom that is the highest on the hill. The views of the Ocean were amazing. The room was perfect. It is a longer walk to get to then the other rooms but it was way worth it. There were 2 chairs out on the deck and every morning and night we would sit out there and watch the sun rise or set. The room is very nice, comfortable bed, spacious bathroom. There isnt any TV or wifi in the room but that was fine. There was wifi in the lobby of the hotel. The staff is very nice and very helpful.
While we were here, there was an issue with a water line. We did not have running water in the room for 1 night. We were told this is an island issue and it happens every now and then. It is a remote island after all. We went back to the hotel lobby that night at around 10pm, to speak to them about the water issue. The lights were out, everyone went home. So do not expect a 24 hour front desk. The next morning we had water and everything was fine for the rest of the stay.
Breakfast was included. It is a simple breakfast but very good. Pastries, cakes, breads, cereals, fruit, yogurt and eggs. We ate in the restaurant for dinner once and it was very good.
The hotel is a little far from the town but that was fine with us. My husband and I walked to and from the town a few times. If you walk down by the cliff you get to walk and see some moai which is pretty cool. We made the mistake of walking back to the hotel at night once, dont ever do that. It is a cheap cab ride from town. The problem is that there arent any lights or signs so it somewhat hard to find during the day and impossible at night.
This hotel is more pricey then most places on Easter Island but this is the part of my trip to Chile and Easter Island that I wanted to splurge so it was fine.
Overall, I definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qtpie815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The hotel is set in a beautiful setting. Unfortunately this is not a 10 minute walk from the centre of town(as stated) but closer to 30 minutes. There are no sign posts from either the road or the coastal route and no lighting if coming back after dark. Rooms are simple, but clean. The problem for older guests is that the bed is a mattress in the centre of a concrete plinth, about 8inches deep and there is a considerable space between the mattress and the edge of the plinth. This makes getting in and out difficult and could lead to tripping at night as it is difficult to reach the light switch from the mattress. All forms of seating are flimsy and sparse, including the frail deck chairs. On the positive side, it is beautifully quiet at night, ensuring a good sleep.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
263 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The hotel is set on a hill, about 50m above sea level.

Rooms are set in small huts. Food was good.

Not much else to say... The hotel had everything I usually expect from a small Lodge (no wifi in room, no tvin room, no fitness) which is normal for such locations, what the hotel does have is cool decor, good amenities in bathroom, and friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mahme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanga Roa
1.7 mi away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
1.9 mi away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 15 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hare Noi
Hare Noi
#3 of 15 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
#1 of 23 in Easter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
1.5 mi away
Taha Tai Hotel
Taha Tai Hotel
#6 of 15 in Hanga Roa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
1.5 mi away
Taura'a Hotel
Taura'a Hotel
#4 of 15 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Altiplanico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Altiplanico

Property: Hotel Altiplanico
Address: Lote E, sector Hinere, Hanga Roa, Easter Island 2770000, Chile
Region: Chile > Easter Island > Hanga Roa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Hanga Roa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Altiplanico 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a property of 1.5 ha the hotel has a panoramic view of the shoreline on one of the world’s most unique destinations, Altiplanico Rapanui is designed in the style of the traditional Rapanui boathouse, with luxurious gardens, a beautiful swimming pool viewing the sea and large open spaces to relax after encountering the seductive mysteries of the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Altiplanico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Altiplanico Easter Island/Hanga Roa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing