We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Altiplanico

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Altiplanico
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Hanga Roa
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We had Cabin#1, which is nearest to the pool (although separated by some wooden wall). I could get WIFI from the main building to the garden area of our suite.
View of the ocean from the room and the dining room of the main reception building.
No aircon, but just fan,which was not enough to cool the room. We left our porch door open and was cool enough. Used the mosquito net over our heads but seem not to need it. Room is big and beds are comfortable - raised level ( not on legs). Bathroom is big and has an outdoor feeling. Hot water is plentiful.
We only had breakfasts daily ( which is good - scrambled eggs ( or other way you want it), ham, cheeses, breads, coffee, fruit juices). We had one dinner at the hotel and it was excellent.
Staff are very friendly and helpful.
The town center ( not much) is about 10-15minutes by cab/taxi. The reception desk can call one for you. Cost is about US$3 each way.
You can borrow an outlet adaptor as the outlet has 3 round holes in it.
Over all, Great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R_Reyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    139
    52
    15
    12
See reviews for
51
180
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

3 night stay. Nice and private accommodations. Rooms were relatively basic as one would expect on Easter island, but they were spacious, comfortable, nice and clean. Fans only means of cooling the room down FYI. Washroom was spacious. Two showers (1 indoor, 1 outdoor). Great ocean view from both the room and main hotel/restaurant area. Hotel restaurant food was good - the ceviche was better than that of a popular ceviche restaurant in town (forgot the name). WIFI available in main hotel area - waiting area was comfortable and overlooked the ocean. Service at the hotel was pleasant. Overall, would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Div L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Just like all the hotels on the island, the place is overpriced. But it is nevertheless decently comfortable, and most of all nicely located, facing the ocean. The staff is welcoming, breakfast is fairly good, and cocktails are excellent !

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank xman02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
255 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

This hotel is out of town, but very nice cabinas. You will need a car. The restaurant is very expensive even for Easter Island. The best way to explore this island is on your own anyway with a car/jeep. You do not need a tour. We did do a half day tour to the park, but that cost the same as a rental. Book the car when you get there as there is a large discount if you pay cash. The hotel has a nice view of the sea and a Moai. You can walk to town along the sea, but it will take about 30 min.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BCsaralou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

I have been to Easter Island twice and after much research this is one of the nicest hotels. Very tastefully decorated, charming, friendly but put to the acid test scored of an incident in which they were principally responsible, they showed no responsibility or compassion..

For aesthetic reasons they removed a security barrier into one of the huts . On entry first morning on the first day I put a 3 cm cut in my head. This impeded me from diving which was the principle reason for going to Easter Island. The hotel took every measure to not assume any responsibility.

Anyone with some ill will would have sewed the hotel. We just expected some compassion and a simple commercial gesture.... A basket of fruit.

Difficult to decode whether this is arrogance of sheer inexperience, but I would have give this hotel 4 stars without this catastrophic handling of and incident that if I had gone to the local hospital would have put 5 stitches in my head .

Sag and irresponsible incident for Altiplanico and in many ways for the Chilean Hotel industry.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here while on Easter Island. We had a little bit of apprehension when reading some of the reviews, and I can see why this hotel isn't for everyone. The biggest down side is the location as it is quite a ways outside the village. We were told you could walk to town. I tried it and as a fit hiker I could make it, but I wouldn't recommend it at all. We took cabs when we wanted to get into town, and while a bit inconvenient, it worked out fine. The upside of the location is that this hotel has a fantastic setting, at the end of a dirt road. Our room had a small outside area looking out over the ocean, it was fantastic. The hotel restaurant is one of the best places imaginable to have a drink, eat and watch the sunset. The breakfasts are very nice, and the food at the restaurant is very good, but the service is very slow and inattentive. (especially annoying when you need another drink). The front desk staff are very helpful and cheerful. The hotel could use a little sprucing up as the rooms are getting "tired". No air conditioning, but fans which work OK. For us, this hotel was very worthwhile.

Room Tip: Get a room on the ocean side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed in room 17. If you expect a 5 star with high speed internet ect, I would suggest going to an all inclusive in Cancun. If you want to go to see an amazing place; go to Rapa Nui, and stay here. The staff is very friendly, and the food and music are great. Costs for food are what you would expect for such a remote place as Rapa Nui. Mosquito spray should be used. We walked to, and from town a few times, it's a leisurely 45min. The front desk offers flashlights if you want one (one of the many helpful things they offered).

Lots of space in the room. Really nice shower.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank planbltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanga Roa
1.7 mi away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
1.8 mi away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 14 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
4.0 mi away
explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
#1 of 23 in Easter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hare Noi
Hare Noi
#3 of 14 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
1.5 mi away
Taha Tai Hotel
Taha Tai Hotel
#8 of 14 in Hanga Roa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
1.5 mi away
Taura'a Hotel
Taura'a Hotel
#4 of 14 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Altiplanico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Altiplanico

Property: Hotel Altiplanico
Address: Lote E, sector Hinere, Hanga Roa, Easter Island 2770000, Chile
Region: Chile > Easter Island > Hanga Roa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Hanga Roa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Altiplanico 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a property of 1.5 ha the hotel has a panoramic view of the shoreline on one of the world’s most unique destinations, Altiplanico Rapanui is designed in the style of the traditional Rapanui boathouse, with luxurious gardens, a beautiful swimming pool viewing the sea and large open spaces to relax after encountering the seductive mysteries of the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Altiplanico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Altiplanico Easter Island/Hanga Roa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing