We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A thoroughly pleasant place!”
Review of Tupa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tupa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 34 Hanga Roa B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 October 2012

The Tupa Hotel was a thoroughly pleasant place to spend six nights on Easter Island at. Friendly and efficient multi-lingual staff were always on hand to help out with enquiries, bookings and sightseeing suggestions etc, as well as to provide free airport transfers. The public areas of the hotel might indeed benefit from a lick of paint here or there, but the place is so pleasant that it doesn't really register.

The location is on elevated ground giving fantastic views north-eastwards across to Hanga Roa harbour, the Tahai moai complex (easy walking distance and a great place to watch the sun set from) and the volcanic hills beyond. It is also within 2-10 minutes walking distance of a host of good restaurants, plus car rental offices, the post office etc. The rooms (mine was the slightly more expensive "ocean view" with nice private patio area) are large, airy and spotlessly clean, though free of frills like TVs or fridges (not really what I wanted/needed of Easter Island). The bed was really comfortable and I slept really well there. The bathroom was new and large and there was no problem with the hot water supply. Living in Brazil, where we rarely have bath tubs, it was a real treat to have one and to have a good soak after each day's wanderings. The breakfast was also good, with a good variety of fresh fruit, cake, bread (bring your own jam/spread - this is allowed by customs though do declare it) and crepes. There is also a pleasant garden area looking out to see with chairs and tables to one side.

I absolutely loved Easter Island - it's truly beautiful, fascinating and rewarding. I would say 4-6 days is about right to take in the expanse and spirit of the place, as well as it's wide array of of great sites to visit. I got my own vehicle which gave me complete freedom to potter about and explore at will. The Tupa Hotel was also a great choice and the place I would stay at if I returned again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desertnomad68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2012

Tupa Hotel is a motel close to town overlooking the ocean. The public areas of the hotel are in serious need of updating but the rooms are comfortable and clean. The bathroom is modern and water pressure is great.
The breakfast is adequate. The best part of the hotel is the reception staff, especially Zoe, who booked all tours and shows and gave great advice about restaurants and the town of Hanga Roa. The hotel is located a five minute walk from the center of town down a dirt road but the area seems very safe and we never felt uneasy even after dark.
All in all, the hotel is a good choice considering the remoteness of the island.

Room Tip: Rooms closest to the lobby get free wi-fi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CTJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

The Tupa Hotel is situated a few minutes from the main road in Hanga Roa. We were picked up from the airport (almost within town) and got a short tour through Hanga Roa which was quite useful. The (son of the) owner gave us some information about tours, car and bike rental and the interesting spots on the island when we arrived at the hotel.
Our room was big and had quite a nice view on the shoreline (beautiful cliffs). The beds were good and the bathroom was old but everything was working (we got this room because in another room something was broken in the bathroom).
The breakfast was good, with toast, cake, pancakes and fresh fruit.
The wifi signal was strong enough for basic internet use and skype, but you had sit in the reception area for a proper signal.
A little bit strange about this hotel is that on entering it you pass some big (conference) rooms and a bar area which are not used. There are also no signs at the front of the hotel indicating that this is the Tupa Hotel. This creates a somewhat strange atmosphere.
Considering the general price level at Easter Island, the hotel has reasonable rates. But it is still expensive for the quality you get.
We recommend to book this hotel, but it needs to do some serious maintenance in the next few years.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelloMister4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

I picked the Tupa after reading the other reviews here. I stayed in a triple with my son and sister. The rooms are basic and the bathrooms worn but it was just a place to sleep and use as a base for our trip and for that it served its purpose The ocean view was spectacular and we loved sleeping to the sound of the waves. I liked that it was close to town but not in the center where I heard other hotels have the loud noise of cars and motorcycles to deal with. Staff was very nice and check-in was very easy after the long flight.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank Ghiatrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012 via mobile

Rooms are really basic. Facilities like TV and wifi (very low speed) are only available in lobby. But that is not actually what you going to Easter Island for :)
It is a 2-3 star accomodation, simply furnished and a bit aged. Also there are sometimes problems with hot water: u should give it time to get hot running water and it anyway in most cases will not be warm enough.
Really good points are: location- super close to ocean shore and main street and breakfast's not bad: it's simple as well, but with some very good stuff like sweet caramel pancakes.
So, i would recommend it as an O.K. Budget place.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trubo4ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

I stayed at this hotel in June 2012 with my girlfriend.
We were picked up at the airport by the hotel staff, a very friendly woman called Malena welcomed us with a wreath of flowers and an amazing juice when we got to the hotel. The facilities are not luxurious and you should not expect international standards, but it is totally fine for the price we paid and I guess it is one of the best options on the island, based on what I saw and heard from other people staying at other places. The location is amazing, one block from the main street and with great ocean views. We were quite lucky and got a better room with ocean view than the one we booked, since they apparently had problems with the key to the original room.

Their breakfast was top-notch for the island standards and deserves a dedicated paragraph: everything very fresh, served through an all-you-can-eat buffet in a very cozy dining room where local music is played, making a really nice atmosphere.

A couple of things they could improve:

- internet access is only available in the lobby, and the connection is very slow. Nevertheless, you should consider that you are in one of the most isolated places on Earth, where internet speed is certainly not one of the priorities.

- the bathroom was not very nice, in opposite to the room. The window could not be opened and after we took showers the steam needed quite long to dissipate.

...but overall, I strongly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank J_Guilherme_R_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Sergio (the owner) is not a nice guy. The rooms are run down, there is not enough hot water, our shower kept breaking, the breakfast was minimal, Sergio must be taking all of the profits for himself because he is not spending any of the money on the hotel, very run down. A couple times we had no water. During the day the front office is closed so there is nobody to ask for help. However, the rest of the staff was great and very friendly. For a bit more you can stay at the Eco Hangaroa down the street, and it is fabulous!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mikel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tupahotel, Director of Sales at Tupa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Thank you windwing60 for your review of our hotel, we greatly appreciate all feedback as we can use it to better improve our services. We are sorry you didn't have an enjoyable stay with us, but did want to explain a few issues you were having and clarify your review for others.

We apologize that there was no one at the front desk when you needed assistance. In order to keep costs down for our guests, we staff the front desk between the times that guests are usually around the hotel (8a - 4p and 6p - 10p). After those hours, guests only need to ring the service bell and someone will arrive to assist them. Because of your review, we are looking at how to implement another employee to cover the 4p - 6p block.

We are surprised to hear that you did not have enough food during breakfast. We have never received this feedback before from guests, but perhaps you were expecting something different on the buffet. Please let us know how we can improve this for future guests.

The piece that broke in your shower was the holder that keeps the shower head to the wall. The staff worked to fix it as quickly as possible, as we do with any issues that arise in the rooms. As you might have noticed during your stay, goods sold in the stores (both for tourists and local businesses) are fairly expensive and not always of top quality. When quick repairs need to be made, like in the case of your shower, we need to replace it with a piece that is usually bought locally, not higher grade (yet more expensive) pieces shipped in from mainland Chile. It is for this reason that your shower may have had to be fixed a few times. Unfortunately, it is an issue that we all have to deal with when living in a small underdeveloped community 2,500 miles away from Chile.

Your comment concerning "Sergio not being a nice guy" may have been related to when he asked you not to bring your rented bicycles into the living room and through the hotel to your room. As you can imagine, the dirt and mud tracked in by bicycles is difficult to clean off of our floors and carpets so we asks guests to keep them locked up outside.

Perhaps your comment may have been more connected to when he asked you not to feed the stray dogs or bring them into your room. Though there are many cute stray dogs on the island, most of them carry fleas and parasites that could be harmful to other guests and is costly to disinfect from the rooms and the hotel. Additionally, if stray dogs are fed, they learn to expect it from other guests and hang around the hotel long after you have left. This again adds to the problem of cleanliness and safety for our other guests. For this reason, we ask our guests not to feed the local strays or to bring them into the hotel. I hope you understand.

If guests prefer to stay at the 5 star hotel down the street, then we welcome them to do so. We agree it is a beautiful building with great amenities. We are not able to provide the services and luxuries that they do and therefore do not compete at their level. Unlike them, we are a locally owned, family operated business and do not have the financial backing of a larger foreign owned hotel chain.

We hope this response helps you understand the issues from our perspective, and we welcome any additional comments from you. Iorana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanga Roa hotels
0.2 mi away
Taura'a Hotel
Taura'a Hotel
#7 of 16 in Hanga Roa
446 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
0.1 mi away
Taha Tai Hotel
Taha Tai Hotel
#5 of 16 in Hanga Roa
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 16 in Hanga Roa
304 reviews
0.5 mi away
Easter Island Eco Lodge
Easter Island Eco Lodge
#9 of 16 in Hanga Roa
353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kahina Lodge
Kahina Lodge
#8 of 34 in Hanga Roa
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tupa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tupa Hotel

Address: Sebastian Engler s/n, Hanga Roa, Easter Island n/a, Chile
Phone Number:
Region: Chile > Easter Island > Hanga Roa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Hanga Roa
Price Range: £57 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tupa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tupa Hotel sits atop a small hill looking out over the West coast of the island and the town of Hanga Roa. Free WIFI is available in the lobby of the hotel. A free polynesian breakfast buffet is offered daily in the ocean view dining room. The hotel is located in a quiet area, one block from the main street and within 5 minutes walking distance to restaurants, shopping, and the coast. Please provide flight information in order to receive a FREE transport to the hotel from the airport Mataveri. Tours, car rentals, and other activities can be arranged at the reception desk. Mataveri airport (IPC) and Pea Beach are less than 1km away. Sebastian Englert Museum and the Tahai Archeological Complex are about 2 km away. Tupa Hotel offers 3 types of rooms: Ocean View, Garden View, or Budget. All guest rooms come with private bathroom, free daily breakfast, and daily room service. Ocean View and Garden View rooms have ceramic floors and include a patio. The most affordable option is the Budget Rooms, which are somewhat smaller than the others and have restricted views. For a real treat, book one of the ocean view rooms.Double occupancy rooms can be arranged with 2 twin beds or 1 matrimonial bed. Please indicate which bed type you would prefer at the time of reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Tupa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tupa Hotel Easter Island/Hanga Roa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing