We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice place to stay”
Review of Tupa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tupa Hotel
Ranked #7 of 33 Hanga Roa B&B and Inns
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A nice place to stay”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We had 4 wonderfull days in this hotel. Ask for a room with ocean view and you will have a good relax in this hotel. Breakfast is good. Nobody is stayng at the reception desk during the night. Wi-Fi is available in lobi. Staff is very friendly. Transfer is included in room rate.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audry_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    92
    37
    8
    9
See reviews for
20
66
58
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Fernando, Trinidad
Level Contributor
139 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Arriving at Easter Island late at night, we got off to a bad start when the hotel bus would not start. W e all had to get back out and remove luggage and stand around waiting while the driver arranged another van.

We stayed at Tupa Hotel for just one night. We got in very late at night and were shown to our room... the patio door could not lock and we were not comfortable with this. We requested to be moved to another room and this was arranged with little fuss.
The photos attached are of the first room.... we did not take photos of the second room we eventually stayed in.
The room we got was very very old... in particular the bathroom. It was dated and did not feel very clean. We did get hot water.
We were very tired, so showered and went straight to bed. We left before dawn, in a vehicle rented from the hotel. We missed breakfast, so cant comment on that. We returned just in time to pick up our luggage and head to the airport.

What we really liked at Tupa hotel was the staff. Maria, Jose and in particular the driver ( we didnt get his name). Transfer to and from the airport was included.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sher_TT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I highly recommend this hotel with nice staff and huge rooms. The Ocean view room is so beautiful with a fantastic terrace overlooking the sea. The rooms are big and the staff makes us feel welcomed. I felt so relaxed in this place. It's not the newest hotel but it's well maintained.

Room Tip: The Ocean view room is worth the extra $
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bastilla89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Our experience at Tupa was better than I'd expected from a budget hotel. The hotel is located just 100m from the main street. We booked a room with sea view, and it had a quiet terrace facing the sea. It was very spacious with a king-size bed which was very comfortable, not what you'd expect from equivalent hotels. The staff was really friendly, and spoke very good English. They helped us book tours and arrange bike rentals. Only area for improvement would be the hot water that would mess in the mornings, and that wi-fi is restricted to common areas. The breakfast was satisfactory, but would really depend on what time you ate. Overall, I really recommend this hotel for its good value, service and location. We had a very positive impression of and stay at Tupa.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DianMV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caudry, France
1 review
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We are a maritime rescue coordinating center.
We had an overdue concerning a sailing vessel.
They helped us to find the The receptionist we talked helped us a lot.
Very nice and helpful.
Gris-Nez MRCC. France

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tramap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Reasonably priced for Easter Island standard, central location. Clean, good size room, king size bed, nice views from the patio. The staff was helpful in arranging tours and they speak English, which is unusual if compared with elsewhere in chile.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Copp63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mogi das Cruzes, SP
Level Contributor
174 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Good location in Easter Island. outside you just turn left and a hundred meters you´re on Caleta Hanga Roa, where are the diving Schools, good beaches for surfing and many good restaurants, also very close to the main street and the mini markets. Quiet rooms , no noise in the nigth, breakfast some people say limited in variety but all the items served one can´t eat all of them in one morning : ) All the information about tours , car rental and everything else, hot water all day long.... I enjoyed my stay in this hotel

Room Tip: There are cheaper budget rooms which has no Windows to the sea but to the Garden, but usually we sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanga Roa hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
0.1 mi away
Taha Tai Hotel
Taha Tai Hotel
#6 of 15 in Hanga Roa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.2 mi away
Taura'a Hotel
Taura'a Hotel
#4 of 15 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 15 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tea Nui - Cabanas y Habitaciones
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rapa Nui
Hotel Rapa Nui
#8 of 15 in Hanga Roa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tupa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tupa Hotel

Property: Tupa Hotel
Address: Sebastian Engler s/n, Hanga Roa, Easter Island n/a, Chile
Phone Number:
Region: Chile > Easter Island > Hanga Roa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Hanga Roa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tupa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tupa Hotel sits atop a small hill looking out over the West coast of the island and the town of Hanga Roa. Free WIFI is available in the lobby of the hotel. A free polynesian breakfast buffet is offered daily in the ocean view dining room. The hotel is located in a quiet area, one block from the main street and within 5 minutes walking distance to restaurants, shopping, and the coast. Please provide flight information in order to receive a FREE transport to the hotel from the airport Mataveri. Tours, car rentals, and other activities can be arranged at the reception desk. Mataveri airport (IPC) and Pea Beach are less than 1km away. Sebastian Englert Museum and the Tahai Archeological Complex are about 2 km away. Tupa Hotel offers 3 types of rooms: Ocean View, Garden View, or Budget. All guest rooms come with private bathroom, free daily breakfast, and daily room service. Ocean View and Garden View rooms have ceramic floors and include a patio. The most affordable option is the Budget Rooms, which are somewhat smaller than the others and have restricted views. For a real treat, book one of the ocean view rooms.Double occupancy rooms can be arranged with 2 twin beds or 1 matrimonial bed. Please indicate which bed type you would prefer at the time of reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your Tupa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tupa Hotel Easter Island/Hanga Roa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing