We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and TERRIFIC value!”
Review of Tupa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tupa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 33 Hanga Roa B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
96 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great location and TERRIFIC value!”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I stayed for two nights at the Tupa Hotel during a trip to Easter Island in 05/2014. Airport pick up by the staff was seamless and the property sits on the edge of Hanga Roa with a great view of the sea in the distance and the cliffs off to the northeast. Very refreshing breeze. There is parking available for rental cars and the staff will help you arrange tours of the island.

Room furnishings are fairly basic, but the bed is comfy. More importantly, the bathrooms are clean and the shower temperature + water pressure was surprisingly good, even better than the hotel I later stayed at in Santiago. The one downside is that the rooms are not air conditioned, and mosquitoes can get in, most commonly through the little bathroom porthole. My suggestion to the management would be to put up some insect screens to keep the bugs out.

Wi-Fi doesn't really work but, then again, if you're constantly checking your corporate e-mail account, doesn't that defeat the purpose of traveling to Easter Island in the first place?

The included breakfast buffet is actually pretty good with a variety of fruits, juices, and grains. Not much in the way of meat and no hot dishes, but it's tasty, filling, and convenient. A great way to start a day of exploration and hiking.

Overall, the word that best sums up the Tupa Hotel is value! It was one of the least expensive lodging options for Easter Island that I found, and what you get for that money is really great. There are no shortage of hotels on the island, but several of them are quite inconveniently located relative to the main strip in town. Tupa, on the other hand, offers great amenities, a comfortable, clean stay, and awesome location...all for the best price I could locate.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MD2Be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    93
    37
    9
    9
See reviews for
20
67
59
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here a year ago and loved it. Everything from the view to the delicious breakfast to the helpful nature of the staff was awesome. The location is so convenient for walking to restaurants and moai! We have now recommended it to our adult children on vacation there. They messaged to say the hotel remains terrific! They too are thrilled to be at the tupa!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatStricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We are traveling in a group of two couples, stayed 5 days and 4 nights in Tupa and had many good experiences.
First of all, way before our arrival.. we had frequent contacts with the receptionist (Maria Jose) regarding hotel practicability, possible tours and prices. The communication was flawless, we had all proper information that we might need before our arrival in the easter island.
When arrived in the airport, the other receptionist (Maria) picked us up and gave us the flower necklace (so beautiful!). Maria also explained all the basic information about the city, transportation etc in Hanga Roa. The hotel itself is located within walking a distance to mostly everything in Hanga Roa. Simply ask the receptionist anything you need, she'll be happy to give you tips and suggestions during your visit!

Our room has an ocean view, and a small sitting area to enjoy the view. The room has a king double bed, clean, tidy, 24 hours hot water, has refrigerator, fan, and has this unique towel folding in a different shape every day..(a refreshing touch! one day a swan, another day a flower, etc). Although the wifi was not always working in the room, it worked most of the time in the lobby or the breakfast area.
The breakfast has plenty of choice; variety of breads, sweet cakes, fruits, cereal, and juice are among the common. During the day, we asked for hot water too for tea / and soup to the receptionist (Maria Jose) and we never had a problem! On our last day, Maria Jose took us back to the airport.

Overall we had a wonderful experience in Easter island as well as in Tupa. If we ever return to this island, we'll be staying in Tupa again.

Room Tip: get the ocean view room, you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Windi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Just returned from a memorable stay in Easter Island. Hotel was largely chosen based on the solid reviews here on trip advisor. A warm welcome at the airport was followed by an enjoyable 5 days at the Tupa. Room and hotel decor fairly basic, but compensated by a very central and quiet location, overlooking the water. Was a little concerned about the lack of a/c, but a powerful room fan and cool nighttime breezes made sleeping very pleasant. Unlike the previous poster, was lucky with a very consistent hot and powerful shower, which is usually my only pre-requisiste on this type of vacation. A word to those enslaved to their technology: wind down and power down. Despite advertising wifi and internet access, fellow guests were frantically trying to log on throughout the week. Take advantage of being detached from tv, the telephone and the internet - it is unavailable and patchy at best on the entire Island. Even logging on at the local internet cafe took 25 minutes. It's an adjustment but survivable!

Breakfast at the hotel was more than adequate and the hotel staff always very helpful. Car rentals very expensive on the Island, but a few pesos can be saved by having the hotel book directly with Insular Rent-a-Car.

A very highly recommended holiday destination.

Room Tip: The lower terraced "Ocean view" rooms - quieter & cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newblueroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

There are many positive things to say about this hotel, and just one negative. First the positive: the location is excellent - less than five minutes' walk to the center of Hanga Road for shopping, restaurants, bike/car rentals, and tour operators, as well as the nightly sunset viewing at Ahu Tahai. The hotel does not have air conditioning, but we were there in March and did not need it as the ocean breezes and the room fan kept everything pleasant, as did the tile floors. There is a small courtyard in the middle, and chickens and roosters often strolled by in the morning - it was fun to watch the rooster stick out his chest to "protect" his hens when he spotted us. The room is nice and big, and each day they arranged our towels into the shapes of swans, flowers, etc. The bathroom is also very big, which was appreciated. Everything was clean. Breakfast was included, tasty and filling (selections of cold cuts, cheese, fruit, cakes, cereal and fresh papaya juice that was delicious). There is a nice view of the ocean from the hotel (although the hotel is not directly on the ocean). The staff are friendly and speak some English - they were patient when we spoke mangled Spanish to them. The hotel driver picked us up from the airport and gave us leis, that was a nice touch. A different driver took us back to the airport, and he parked in the grass and made us walk rather than dropping us at the door, which was a little off-putting. We enjoyed everything about this hotel except one thing, but it is a big "thing" - UNRELIABLE HOT WATER! After trekking on the island, we wanted to freshen up and wash off the sweat, sea salt and volcanic ash. The first time was not too bad - the shower water warmed up for a minute or two, they became ice cold for a minute or two, and alternated between hot to cold thereafter. It took a little getting used to, but it was workable. We were sensitive to the environmental concerns on the island, so we were not taking regular showers (!). However, the shower really let us down when it counted - on the last day when we were leaving for the airport. We let that shower run for quite some time hoping the water would warm up but it never did. It was ice cold. We have taken cold showers before, but it was impossible to take a shower in this water because it was more than cold - it was glacial. It easily could have caused problems for anyone with a heart condition. So that is the one negative thing about Hotel Tupa - prepare to freeze your fanny off in the shower.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
156 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I liked it a lot overall. Have stayed in this type of place in other parts of Polynesia, including the Cook Islands and even the obscure independent-owneds in Hawaii. You basically get a nice room likely with a tile floor, pretty good ensuite, probably not a TV (I didn't here) and no climate control except maybe an electric fan or a blanket. But hey, you're not likely to really need an air-con in Polynesia, and by giving up a selected mod-con or two you get two figures on the rate rather than $200.

And so it was. I booked via Cheaptickets when that site was having its own coupon promo, so I got a bit extra off the room rate. Like other hotels, they pick up at the airport and with a lei greeting, which is nice. As soon as you go through the door of baggage claim you see all these people holding signs with names.

The place is aging around the edges, possibly due to climate and humidity. I got a nice, spacious room, but it was March and the occupancy wasn't full, so YMMV. Some single rooms are pretty smallish. Wifi and a TV are in the common area, so you may see guests hanging out there.

Breakfast was similar to what you get in European places and passed the tank-up test (enough to sink your teeth into to skip lunch if you have to). It had the usual standards like cold cuts and cheese, muesli, toast, fruits, some tarty baked items and lots of coffee or tea and some juices, etc. They also did a good job refilling as needed.

Maid service was good, though I didn't make a lot of demands on that. They're good at making towel "swans."

Location also was good. You're a block away from the lower section of the main drag, including the LAN office, Kia Koe tours, a laundry and some restaurants. They were doing construction on the street immediately in front, but hopefully by the time you read this that's finished. The "downtown" waterfront was maybe 10-15 minutes' walk. There was also a bit of parking at the hotel for rented vehicles, and of course the view was good.

One other exceptional thing I noticed: It was really wonderfully quiet at night. If the road were open maybe there'd be a car or motorbike, but compared to mainland places even the low-level, faraway noise sources were largely absent. Didn't get a really clear night when I was there, but the stars are probably exceptionally visible as well.

All in all a good place to stay...maybe not where you'd spend your honeymoon, but fine for saving money a year or two down the road.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ploughman8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We enjoyed a nice stay here while visiting Easter Island. The breakfast was good and it was nice having airport transportation included as well as wifi in the lobby. The rooms are very big with an ocean view. We rented a car through the hotel which made it easy to start driving around the island shortly after we arrived. The car was manual - something they didn't tell us when we booked it - but fortunately we both drive manual, however that's something to keep in mind when booking a car.

Overall, a good place to stay on Easter Island and very cost comparable to other hotels on the island.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NETravel_Wine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanga Roa hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 15 in Hanga Roa
278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
0.2 mi away
Taura'a Hotel
Taura'a Hotel
#5 of 15 in Hanga Roa
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Taha Tai Hotel
Taha Tai Hotel
#6 of 15 in Hanga Roa
377 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rapa Nui
Hotel Rapa Nui
#8 of 15 in Hanga Roa
324 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mana Nui Inn
Mana Nui Inn
#11 of 15 in Hanga Roa
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tupa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tupa Hotel

Property: Tupa Hotel
Address: Sebastian Engler s/n, Hanga Roa, Easter Island n/a, Chile
Phone Number:
Region: Chile > Easter Island > Hanga Roa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Hanga Roa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tupa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tupa Hotel sits atop a small hill looking out over the West coast of the island and the town of Hanga Roa. Free WIFI is available in the lobby of the hotel. A free polynesian breakfast buffet is offered daily in the ocean view dining room. The hotel is located in a quiet area, one block from the main street and within 5 minutes walking distance to restaurants, shopping, and the coast. Please provide flight information in order to receive a FREE transport to the hotel from the airport Mataveri. Tours, car rentals, and other activities can be arranged at the reception desk. Mataveri airport (IPC) and Pea Beach are less than 1km away. Sebastian Englert Museum and the Tahai Archeological Complex are about 2 km away. Tupa Hotel offers 3 types of rooms: Ocean View, Garden View, or Budget. All guest rooms come with private bathroom, free daily breakfast, and daily room service. Ocean View and Garden View rooms have ceramic floors and include a patio. The most affordable option is the Budget Rooms, which are somewhat smaller than the others and have restricted views. For a real treat, book one of the ocean view rooms.Double occupancy rooms can be arranged with 2 twin beds or 1 matrimonial bed. Please indicate which bed type you would prefer at the time of reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Tupa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tupa Hotel Easter Island/Hanga Roa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing