We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tupa Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Taha Tai Hotel(Hanga Roa)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotumatua(Easter Island)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taura'a Hotel(Hanga Roa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Gomero(Easter Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Manavai(Hanga Roa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
O'tai Hotel(Easter Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (202)
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveller rating
50
95
39
9
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
95
39
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean vieweaster islandcommon areasthe cleaning ladyour room was spaciouspatiousdinternetmosquitoespacificrapachickens
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 202 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I stayed for two nights at the Tupa Hotel during a trip to Easter Island in 05/2014. Airport pick up by the staff was seamless and the property sits on the edge of Hanga Roa with a great view of the sea in the distance and the cliffs off to the northeast. Very refreshing breeze. There is parking available for rental cars and the staff will help you arrange tours of the island.

Room furnishings are fairly basic, but the bed is comfy. More importantly, the bathrooms are clean and the shower temperature + water pressure was surprisingly good, even better than the hotel I later stayed at in Santiago. The one downside is that the rooms are not air conditioned, and mosquitoes can get in, most commonly through the little bathroom porthole. My suggestion to the management would be to put up some insect screens to keep the bugs out.

Wi-Fi doesn't really work but, then again, if you're constantly checking your corporate e-mail account, doesn't that defeat the purpose of traveling to Easter Island in the first place?

The included breakfast buffet is actually pretty good with a variety of fruits, juices, and grains. Not much in the way of meat and no hot dishes, but it's tasty, filling, and convenient. A great way to start a day of exploration and hiking.

Overall, the word that best sums up the Tupa Hotel is value! It was one of the least expensive lodging options for Easter Island that I found, and what you get for that money is really great. There are no shortage of hotels on the island, but several of them are quite inconveniently located relative to the main strip in town. Tupa, on the other hand, offers great amenities, a comfortable, clean stay, and awesome location...all for the best price I could locate.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MD2Be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here a year ago and loved it. Everything from the view to the delicious breakfast to the helpful nature of the staff was awesome. The location is so convenient for walking to restaurants and moai! We have now recommended it to our adult children on vacation there. They messaged to say the hotel remains terrific! They too are thrilled to be at the tupa!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatStricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We are traveling in a group of two couples, stayed 5 days and 4 nights in Tupa and had many good experiences.
First of all, way before our arrival.. we had frequent contacts with the receptionist (Maria Jose) regarding hotel practicability, possible tours and prices. The communication was flawless, we had all proper information that we might need before our arrival in the easter island.
When arrived in the airport, the other receptionist (Maria) picked us up and gave us the flower necklace (so beautiful!). Maria also explained all the basic information about the city, transportation etc in Hanga Roa. The hotel itself is located within walking a distance to mostly everything in Hanga Roa. Simply ask the receptionist anything you need, she'll be happy to give you tips and suggestions during your visit!

Our room has an ocean view, and a small sitting area to enjoy the view. The room has a king double bed, clean, tidy, 24 hours hot water, has refrigerator, fan, and has this unique towel folding in a different shape every day..(a refreshing touch! one day a swan, another day a flower, etc). Although the wifi was not always working in the room, it worked most of the time in the lobby or the breakfast area.
The breakfast has plenty of choice; variety of breads, sweet cakes, fruits, cereal, and juice are among the common. During the day, we asked for hot water too for tea / and soup to the receptionist (Maria Jose) and we never had a problem! On our last day, Maria Jose took us back to the airport.

Overall we had a wonderful experience in Easter island as well as in Tupa. If we ever return to this island, we'll be staying in Tupa again.

Room Tip: get the ocean view room, you won't regret it!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Windi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Just returned from a memorable stay in Easter Island. Hotel was largely chosen based on the solid reviews here on trip advisor. A warm welcome at the airport was followed by an enjoyable 5 days at the Tupa. Room and hotel decor fairly basic, but compensated by a very central and quiet location, overlooking the water. Was a little concerned about the lack of a/c, but a powerful room fan and cool nighttime breezes made sleeping very pleasant. Unlike the previous poster, was lucky with a very consistent hot and powerful shower, which is usually my only pre-requisiste on this type of vacation. A word to those enslaved to their technology: wind down and power down. Despite advertising wifi and internet access, fellow guests were frantically trying to log on throughout the week. Take advantage of being detached from tv, the telephone and the internet - it is unavailable and patchy at best on the entire Island. Even logging on at the local internet cafe took 25 minutes. It's an adjustment but survivable!

Breakfast at the hotel was more than adequate and the hotel staff always very helpful. Car rentals very expensive on the Island, but a few pesos can be saved by having the hotel book directly with Insular Rent-a-Car.

A very highly recommended holiday destination.

Room Tip: The lower terraced "Ocean view" rooms - quieter & cooler.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newblueroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I liked it a lot overall. Have stayed in this type of place in other parts of Polynesia, including the Cook Islands and even the obscure independent-owneds in Hawaii. You basically get a nice room likely with a tile floor, pretty good ensuite, probably not a TV (I didn't here) and no climate control except maybe an electric fan or a blanket. But hey, you're not likely to really need an air-con in Polynesia, and by giving up a selected mod-con or two you get two figures on the rate rather than $200.

And so it was. I booked via Cheaptickets when that site was having its own coupon promo, so I got a bit extra off the room rate. Like other hotels, they pick up at the airport and with a lei greeting, which is nice. As soon as you go through the door of baggage claim you see all these people holding signs with names.

The place is aging around the edges, possibly due to climate and humidity. I got a nice, spacious room, but it was March and the occupancy wasn't full, so YMMV. Some single rooms are pretty smallish. Wifi and a TV are in the common area, so you may see guests hanging out there.

Breakfast was similar to what you get in European places and passed the tank-up test (enough to sink your teeth into to skip lunch if you have to). It had the usual standards like cold cuts and cheese, muesli, toast, fruits, some tarty baked items and lots of coffee or tea and some juices, etc. They also did a good job refilling as needed.

Maid service was good, though I didn't make a lot of demands on that. They're good at making towel "swans."

Location also was good. You're a block away from the lower section of the main drag, including the LAN office, Kia Koe tours, a laundry and some restaurants. They were doing construction on the street immediately in front, but hopefully by the time you read this that's finished. The "downtown" waterfront was maybe 10-15 minutes' walk. There was also a bit of parking at the hotel for rented vehicles, and of course the view was good.

One other exceptional thing I noticed: It was really wonderfully quiet at night. If the road were open maybe there'd be a car or motorbike, but compared to mainland places even the low-level, faraway noise sources were largely absent. Didn't get a really clear night when I was there, but the stars are probably exceptionally visible as well.

All in all a good place to stay...maybe not where you'd spend your honeymoon, but fine for saving money a year or two down the road.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ploughman8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews