We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Japanese with a twist” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kotaro

Kotaro
Ranked #1 of 50 Restaurants in Hanga Roa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Do not eat at this restaurant without reading the rules found in the blog before. This is a restaurant owned and run by one man. If you have the time, I promise you'll enjoy the food, music and ambience, if you are in a hurry, best to make a reservation. OPENING TIME Dinner time 18:00 - 22:00 Sunday Dinner time 18:00 - 22:00 only with reservation Thursday DAY OFF. ++We don't serve any desserts ++We only serve wine,beer and soft drinks, because we think is the best choice with your meal ++and by the design of the restaurant, by the other clients, by the type of food and by their parents, we prefer not to accept children. Except educated children know how to behave in a restaurant. I hope you understand.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Japanese with a twist”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Unusual japanese restaurant. The owner cooks in front of you and is happy to suggest a menu. Good selection of music in the background, well cooked food and very good value.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank miniscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    44
    11
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“spectacular food with unique experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

This was an unforgettable experience. Udon noodles made fresh in front of us. The chef produces flavors worthy of a Michelin start restaurant. Everything in the restaurant is made by the chef, furniture, decor, food. This is a true renaissance man. What a gem!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank digitaldivaLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Valley City, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Master of sauces.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Loved this restaurant. Warm, friendly chef. Fresh fish he hand picks at the market. Thanks for another excellent recommendation trip advisor peeps!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Snknowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Magical”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

My husband and I were mesmerized by this magical environment - we felt like characters from Kill Bill, and amazing fresh food. The chef plays an important part in this experience, with his knowledge and good manners. We liked it so much we went back again during the same 4-day trip. One of the must-do-things in Easter Island.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mae T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
167 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Best food in all my travels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

80 plus countries and counting. This was the most amazing place in the middle of the Pacific Ocean. On a recommendation we ate at Kotaro and got to meet Francisco, the owner. Tell him what you like and let him take over. We had the teriyaki chicken and it was the best we have ever had. . Along with quirkiness of the place and Francisco you will get a once in a lifetime experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank befird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kotaro also viewed

Hanga Roa, Easter Island
 
Easter Island, Chile
Hanga Roa, Easter Island
 
Hanga Roa, Easter Island
 

Been to Kotaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing