We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“interesting but they troll the audience and pull people on stage”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ballet Kari Kari

Ballet Kari Kari
Ranked #1 of 25 things to do in Hanga Roa
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
264 reviews
156 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“interesting but they troll the audience and pull people on stage”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

i enjoyed the dancing and the energy of the performers but 2 or 3 times they stop the show for audience participation...which i hate. lucky for me, they are very good at reading body language and i never got asked to come up but still, i'd rather just vedge through the performance.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank namchegompa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    507
    229
    59
    5
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Difficult to be a culture out of your element”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Actually they are fighting for a cultural identity in midst of a foreign culture and as it seems they are winning. That fact alone should be enough to support them. They deserve it! But... and there is always a "But" ; in this specific case there is much more to it like the fact that they really good! Not so much the men in the troupe... sorry, but the ladies... they are superb!!! and it's not easy! If you ad to that the fact of the example they present to the dwindling youth as a strong identity in a globalized world, and help keep them away from laziness and values abandon, then they become something else, full of content and courage to face a future they help to forge!!!
So that is why I recommend them full-heartedly. My 20 bucks were seldom so well spent!!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PedroHaasz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very expressive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Amazing, I liked their show very much. A lot of energy. We wanted to buy their CD, but it was possible only before the show. It's a pity.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Zurusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“lots of energy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

It is a very authentic show, you can feel the dancers are very into the traditions of the island. Try to get early to have the better seats.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Nice show”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Well worth the $20, great singing and dancing. You might want to do a reservation, in low season it was completely sold out.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hristo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ballet Kari Kari also viewed

Hanga Roa, Easter Island
Easter Island, Chile
 
Easter Island, Chile
 

Been to Ballet Kari Kari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing