We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to stay in Easter Island”
Review of Cabanas Mana Ora

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hanga Roa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cabanas Mana Ora
Certificate of Excellence
backcountry
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay in Easter Island”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Although the owner Petero was in Santiago during our stay, he arranged everything for us - a great cabin, a jeep and airport pick up. The cabin is very comfortable with an overview of the ocean. We enjoyed the beautiful sunset in the sitting room with chips and coke. The kitchen is fully equipped. I would highly recommend it to my friends & anyone planning to Easter Island.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yen_Lit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    8
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
26
41
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We probably had a unique experience among visitors to Easter Island in that we stayed at two places in a five night period. For the first four nights, we stayed here at Cabanas Mana Ora; for the final night, we stayed at Altiplanico (because we had put down a one-night deposit back in the early planning stages, and about a month before our visit, decided to look for cheaper lodging). If you're a slightly independent traveler, then Mana Ora is the better of the two, and from what we saw, probably one of the best, if not the best, value on the island.

Here's why:
- Per night rate was less than half that of Altiplanico
- Better view than Altiplanico, and perhaps the best view of all lodging locations on the island (if your criteria is elevation and unobstructed line of sight). In fact, we had specifically requested room 17 at Altiplanico, which we understood from the reviews was the room on the highest elevation. From the balcony of Cottage 2 at Mana Ora, room 17 is to the right and about 10 yards closer to the coast and lower in elevation.
- Full kitchen. Petero even provided basic cooking items (e.g., olive oil, soy sauce, spices, etc.), which meant we didn't have to purchase or bring these items, that we would probably not have used all of during our stay. Based on our one night out to dinner (the night of our Alitplanico stay), we saved sooooooo much money making breakfast, lunch and dinner (experiencing the Easter Island cuisine does not need to be part of your trip).
- Homemade Pisco Sour waiting in the fridge upon arrival - yummy!
- Friendly service. In addition to picking us up from the airport and showing us around Hanga Roa before arriving at the cottage, Petero helped find a new automatic 4x4 that was cheaper than the rental agencies in town. He was always enthusiastic and happy to see us (even when I had random questions/requests during random parts of the day).
- Moai at Hanga Koi'e always in sight from your balcony, in case you're need to see one at all times (or on demand).

What else would you want to know...
- Cottage 2 (to the right, when you're facing the ocean) is better (view and space) than Cottage 1.
- Easy walk into town, along the coast, right by Ahu Tahai, cemetary and swimming areas.
- Quick drive into town. Roads, like almost all roads on the island, are filled with potholes, so drive carefully!

Room Tip: Cottage 2 (on the website) is the better of the two cottages - best view, and higher elevation than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelswide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2013

I do not normally write reviews on trip advisor but this cabana was so good that I felt I should. I cannot fault it. Nothing was too much for Pedro and his wife. Car rental organised, pick up from airport and return. There is also wi fi in the cabana which is great for Internet addicts. The view from the terrace over the sea and a solitary statue on the shore is breathtaking. The cabana has everything you need. Great kitchen which is fully equipped. Beautiful decoration everywhere and very comfortable beds. Stayed 6 nights but wished could stay for longer. Easy to walk into town along the beautiful coast past the statues. In fact nicer than driving and so although we had a car we did not really need to use it. Walk goes past one great swimming area and another in the town with three turtles.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMZ340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Owner met us at the airport and helped with rental car problems and showed us around the town. Cabanas were clean, well kept with a beautiful view. Kitchen was well equiped and the bed was comfortable. Resonably priced. Would highly recommond to anyone.

Room Tip: Only two cabanas, both have excellet views. One is a single bedroom and the other has 3 bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Savelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed in Pedro's smaller Cabana for four days at the end of November to early December. It has been a lovely and gorgeous time on the island. Visiting the island is probably a once in a lifetime thing, so you wish to enjoy your stay most. Pedro was a fantastic host, from pick up at the airport to the departure, he was helpful and kind at any time. We got a wonderful welcome drink, but besides that, the cabana itself is the stunner! It is located a bit out of town, but if you're not immobile or older, it's a gorgeous 25 min walk along the beach with passing several moais. In fact, most people visit the beach just down the cabana for sunset anyway, for us, it was just around the corner.
The cabana is fully equipped and by fully equipped you can really expect EVERYTHING! We didn't miss a thing, so we cooked ourselves as it is cheaper and usually better than the restaurants. Besides, no restaurant could've beaten the terrace view or the cosy lounge. Be aware that the island is a very remote place, so everything is more expensive than you might expect. Overall, it is an island worth visiting and a journey you will never forget.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Oneworldtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We are just back from 3 days in Petero's smaller cabin. The Cabin was lovely, the whole experience was generous and hassle free. Petero picked us up at the airport, sorted out car hire (and threw in the best part of a day for free) and was very welcoming. He also gave us a good price on the Cabin. He is the local dentist as well as running the cabin (Shina was away in Santiago when we visited, so we didn't meet her) and it is nice to be in contact with a local, who has been in Rapa Nui for 25 years. It is a short (30 mins) walk to Hanga Roa from the cabin, along the shore past two Moai and the flower filled cemetery. There is a BBQ for outdoor cooking, and you can buy fresh fish in the morning in Hanga Roa, between 8 and 10am on the main street. It was a great experience and I can highly recommend renting the Cabin, and also the car hire that can be arranged with Petero.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank offel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Staying at Mana Ora cottage really made our 5 day trip to Easter island. We were slightly concerned about the distance into town but we only hired a car for a day and enjoyed walking into town along the most amazing coastal walk every other day. (15Min stroll). The cottage is decorated nicely and it was so relaxing to sit on the large balcony overlooking the sunset over the ocean. We loved coming "home" to the cozy cottage every afternoon.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rach-pb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanga Roa hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
0.8 mi away
Mana Nui Inn
Mana Nui Inn
#12 of 15 in Hanga Roa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Altiplanico
Hotel Altiplanico
#9 of 15 in Hanga Roa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Taha Tai Hotel
Taha Tai Hotel
#6 of 15 in Hanga Roa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hostal Tojika
Hostal Tojika
#2 of 47 in Hanga Roa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hareswiss
Hareswiss
#1 of 47 in Hanga Roa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas Mana Ora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas Mana Ora

Property: Cabanas Mana Ora
Address: Tahai S/N | Camino A LA Aldea Educativa, Hanga Roa, Easter Island, Chile
Phone Number:
Region: Chile > Easter Island > Hanga Roa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Hanga Roa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Cabanas Mana Ora Easter Island/Hanga Roa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing