We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Cabanas Mana Ora

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hanga Roa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cabanas Mana Ora
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I stayed at the smaller of the two Cabanas Mana Ora cottages for 4 nights in late December. Overall it was an excellent experience! Petero provided great hospitality, arranging airport transfers, helping book a rental car and providing picture books when he noticed I was interested in photography. And the cottage itself was great - a very nice cozy space that was extremely well-equipped. Also, the surroundings were very quiet and peaceful.

Downsides are very limited - the cottages are a bit of a walk from "downtown" Hanga Roa, though that's not an issue if you're renting a car or motorbike. Also there are no ceiling fans so the rooms could get a bit stuffy at the end of the day if the sun was shining.

Overall though I'd definitely recommend Cabanas Mana Ora!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitchttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

We spent 5 days of our Christmas holidays in the bigger cabaña with two bedrooms and a daybed in the living room. Service was excellent: pick up at the airport, car rental organized, many useful recommendations etc. The kitchen is completely equipped with whatever you can imagine. Awesome view to the sea from every room and terrace. A great place to disconnect completely and spend some unforgettable days on Easter Island.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Although the owner Petero was in Santiago during our stay, he arranged everything for us - a great cabin, a jeep and airport pick up. The cabin is very comfortable with an overview of the ocean. We enjoyed the beautiful sunset in the sitting room with chips and coke. The kitchen is fully equipped. I would highly recommend it to my friends & anyone planning to Easter Island.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yen_Lit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We probably had a unique experience among visitors to Easter Island in that we stayed at two places in a five night period. For the first four nights, we stayed here at Cabanas Mana Ora; for the final night, we stayed at Altiplanico (because we had put down a one-night deposit back in the early planning stages, and about a month before our visit, decided to look for cheaper lodging). If you're a slightly independent traveler, then Mana Ora is the better of the two, and from what we saw, probably one of the best, if not the best, value on the island.

Here's why:
- Per night rate was less than half that of Altiplanico
- Better view than Altiplanico, and perhaps the best view of all lodging locations on the island (if your criteria is elevation and unobstructed line of sight). In fact, we had specifically requested room 17 at Altiplanico, which we understood from the reviews was the room on the highest elevation. From the balcony of Cottage 2 at Mana Ora, room 17 is to the right and about 10 yards closer to the coast and lower in elevation.
- Full kitchen. Petero even provided basic cooking items (e.g., olive oil, soy sauce, spices, etc.), which meant we didn't have to purchase or bring these items, that we would probably not have used all of during our stay. Based on our one night out to dinner (the night of our Alitplanico stay), we saved sooooooo much money making breakfast, lunch and dinner (experiencing the Easter Island cuisine does not need to be part of your trip).
- Homemade Pisco Sour waiting in the fridge upon arrival - yummy!
- Friendly service. In addition to picking us up from the airport and showing us around Hanga Roa before arriving at the cottage, Petero helped find a new automatic 4x4 that was cheaper than the rental agencies in town. He was always enthusiastic and happy to see us (even when I had random questions/requests during random parts of the day).
- Moai at Hanga Koi'e always in sight from your balcony, in case you're need to see one at all times (or on demand).

What else would you want to know...
- Cottage 2 (to the right, when you're facing the ocean) is better (view and space) than Cottage 1.
- Easy walk into town, along the coast, right by Ahu Tahai, cemetary and swimming areas.
- Quick drive into town. Roads, like almost all roads on the island, are filled with potholes, so drive carefully!

Room Tip: Cottage 2 (on the website) is the better of the two cottages - best view, and higher elevation than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travelswide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

I do not normally write reviews on trip advisor but this cabana was so good that I felt I should. I cannot fault it. Nothing was too much for Pedro and his wife. Car rental organised, pick up from airport and return. There is also wi fi in the cabana which is great for Internet addicts. The view from the terrace over the sea and a solitary statue on the shore is breathtaking. The cabana has everything you need. Great kitchen which is fully equipped. Beautiful decoration everywhere and very comfortable beds. Stayed 6 nights but wished could stay for longer. Easy to walk into town along the beautiful coast past the statues. In fact nicer than driving and so although we had a car we did not really need to use it. Walk goes past one great swimming area and another in the town with three turtles.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMZ340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Owner met us at the airport and helped with rental car problems and showed us around the town. Cabanas were clean, well kept with a beautiful view. Kitchen was well equiped and the bed was comfortable. Resonably priced. Would highly recommond to anyone.

Room Tip: Only two cabanas, both have excellet views. One is a single bedroom and the other has 3 bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Savelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

We stayed in Pedro's smaller Cabana for four days at the end of November to early December. It has been a lovely and gorgeous time on the island. Visiting the island is probably a once in a lifetime thing, so you wish to enjoy your stay most. Pedro was a fantastic host, from pick up at the airport to the departure, he was helpful and kind at any time. We got a wonderful welcome drink, but besides that, the cabana itself is the stunner! It is located a bit out of town, but if you're not immobile or older, it's a gorgeous 25 min walk along the beach with passing several moais. In fact, most people visit the beach just down the cabana for sunset anyway, for us, it was just around the corner.
The cabana is fully equipped and by fully equipped you can really expect EVERYTHING! We didn't miss a thing, so we cooked ourselves as it is cheaper and usually better than the restaurants. Besides, no restaurant could've beaten the terrace view or the cosy lounge. Be aware that the island is a very remote place, so everything is more expensive than you might expect. Overall, it is an island worth visiting and a journey you will never forget.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Oneworldtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanga Roa
1.8 mi away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
1.7 mi away
Tea Nui - Cabanas y Habitaciones
1.5 mi away
Kaimana Inn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cabanas Tokerau
Cabanas Tokerau
#4 of 56 in Hanga Roa
73 reviews
1.4 mi away
Inaki Uhi Hotel
Inaki Uhi Hotel
#15 of 92 in Easter Island
149 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hostal Tojika
Hostal Tojika
#2 of 56 in Hanga Roa
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas Mana Ora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas Mana Ora

Address: Tahai S/N | Camino A LA Aldea Educativa, Hanga Roa, Easter Island, Chile
Phone Number:
Region: Chile > Easter Island > Hanga Roa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Hanga Roa
Price Range: £76 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Cabanas Mana Ora Easter Island/Hanga Roa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing