We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An unexpected delight”
Review of Hotel Puku Vai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Puku Vai
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Hanga Roa
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“An unexpected delight”
Reviewed 8 November 2012

This hotel is close to the airport but since there are only 2 flights a day, there is no problem with noise in fact, it was incredibly quiet and peaceful. Most hotels on the island are small and tucked away in residential streets. Larger ones are well away from the town which means a taxi ride to get anywhere. A 15-20 minute walk gets you to Hanga Roa and restaurants. Behind the facade is a quiet pool area, which was very relaxing. In fact, Rapa Nui is a surprisingly relaxing place. Once you done the obligatory mowai tours, it is a place you can chill out with plenty of activities from beach to boating, hiking to eating. There are plenty of restaurants, some indifferent but head out of the main drag and there are some gems frequented by locals.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank schlapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    100
    17
    2
    1
See reviews for
46
144
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel August 6th - 11th, 2012. What a great hotel! The two owners are very accommodating and attentive to our requests. From the hot chocolate my 5-year old son wanted every morning to having the rental car delivered to us at the hotel. The staff was just great.
The hotel itself is pretty new and updated. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean. All rooms open to the pool area and plenty of natural light. The breakfast was delicious with plenty of choices.
The location of the hotel is very convenient to both the airport and town. The airport is only a couple blocks down the street, but there is only one flight a day so you don’t have to worry about noise. From the hotel, there are a couple of routes to take into town and it’s only about a 10-minute walk.
Having spent a week in the island doing lots of hiking and walking, we had a chance to see some of the other hotel choices. I can honestly say that this hotel turned out to be a great choice for us. It close enough to town to be convenient and far enough to not have to listen to scooters all day and night.

Room Tip: its a wide "v" shaped hotel, so i would have to say any room would be a good one
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jp4a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarkko S, Manager at Hotel Puku Vai, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
Thank you for your comments, we really appreciate every word!

Airport is close but just like you noticed, the island receive one daily flight (there's only max. 3 flights even during the high season) - so our location truly is peaceful.

We also launched our new website, the one I showed you on my laptop as a working draft when we discussed about the island. I hope it will prove to be useful for those who are planning to visit Easter Island.

I wish you and your family all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

The hotel is small and quiet. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious and locally decorated. It is a mere 2 blocks distant from the airport.
As our departing flight was at night and next guests would arrive in the same plane we would take, so it was offered a late late check out, which was great, because let us spend all day around the town.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fmalves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Thiis hotel is quite new (from late 2010) and gives a good fresh impression with carefully chosen copies of local art used to decorate outside walls. It is set back from the road, is entirely single-storey, and built to suit the climate with spacious rooms and properly equipped en-suite bathrooms with genuinely fluffy towels. Rooms open on one side towards reception and breakfast and on the other to a small pretty garden with flower-shaped swimming-pool. Pool is small but very pleasant. Choice of wood for the room ceilings can make them seem a little dark but the overall effect is excellent. Breakfast is a good version of the normal Chilean fare but with plenty of fresh fruit and juices (naturally!) and eggs cooked to order. It is reasonable walking distance from the town with access to various restaurants and you can expect good advice from reception. (Tip: try the nearby Kotaru Japanese Bistro). Like most of Hanga Roa, the hotel is a short hiking distance from the volcano Rano Kao and the ceremonial village of Orongo: other trips need transport. Transport to and from the nearby airport is provided free. Note that cash payment is expected and if you book in USD you may get slightly better value by paying in USD - this seems to be generally true for Easter Island.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ET139738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarkko S, Manager at Hotel Puku Vai, responded to this review, 31 December 2012
Even it took me a while to write a response, we appreciate every word!

We accept credit cards, as well, even currently the facilities to charge your credit cards are in our office.

However, please, note that credit accounts will be charged in local currency (CLP). Thus, we accept USD in cash only. Please, refer to our website for further payment policy details.

Airport Transfer by Kia Koe Tour is included in Complete Programs we offer on our website. Please, note that Airport Transfer can be reserved separately but it has an extra cost.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Stayed at this hotel with a group of Travel agents on a Familiaration trip end of March 2012. Small & friendly hotel, lovely & clean, very comfortable, relaxing & nothing really is too much trouble, the staff are so friendly.
Breakfast was great, fresh fruit, cakes, toast, bread rolls,cheeses, yogurts, any kind of egg you wish for.
Good bar with a reasonable price list.
The Hotel manager is a really great Finnish guy.
Very Short distance from the aiport....5minute walk, but there is only very minor aircraft noise, we probably only heard one come in 3 times in a 5 day stay, plus the airport is closed in the evening so no problem.
Swimming pool has a really nice peaceful setting, lovely after a day of hiking.
Hanga Roa is about a 20 minute walk away, a few bars & small supermarkets are on the way.
Anakena beach is about a 15 minute taxi ride away, taxi's are very cheap too & the hotel manager will gladly call you a taxi to where ever you want to go.
I would definatley go back to this hotel & would always recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank moisue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

After travelling non stop from a Monday evening with a day stop in Lima we arrived into Easter Island on the Wednesday morning. The hotel is located a mere few minutes away from the Island but this should not put you off as the airport is so quiet and during the five days I stayed I heard a plane twice, neither times did it wake me. The hotel manager on arrival greeted us at about 0700 in the morning with a welcome drink and gave us the low down on the hotel. We also had a buffet breakfast whilst waiting for our rooms to be ready which technically they didn't need to let us into but they did at around 0900. The service from the staff was exemplary, the facilities for a small hotel outstanding with free wifi, parking, buffet breakfast including eggs cooked to order. The bedrooms were large and comfortable with AC, a double and single bed, mini bar and tv although there only seemed to be 2 channels. However you don't got to easter island to watch TV. The pool and gardens were lovely as well. There is security over night so once reception goes you can easily get your key. The hotel can arrange tours and is about a 15 minute walk from the small town centre where there are places to eat and drink. Rates are $200 per night incl tax/service/wifi/breakfast and parking etc for a single, $240 for a twin aqnd $280 for a triple.

Would highly recommend!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 1-3 which seem to be closer to some animals in a property next door, saying that though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank richbowenuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanga Roa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
4.5 mi away
explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
#1 of 23 in Easter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.6 mi away
Taura'a Hotel
Taura'a Hotel
#4 of 15 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Taha Tai Hotel
Taha Tai Hotel
#6 of 15 in Hanga Roa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hare Noi
Hare Noi
#3 of 15 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Altiplanico
Hotel Altiplanico
#9 of 15 in Hanga Roa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puku Vai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puku Vai

Property: Hotel Puku Vai
Address: Hotu Matua s/n, Hanga Roa, Easter Island 2770000, Chile
Region: Chile > Easter Island > Hanga Roa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hanga Roa
#4 Family Hotel in Hanga Roa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Puku Vai 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Puku Vai invites you to explore the mysteries of Easter Island and enjoy the harmony of nature. Our services include Accommodation, Airport Transfer, Tours and Complete Programs. We offer Superior level rooms with all the modern comforts - including Air Conditioning and Free Wi-Fi Internet - a peaceful location close to the main attractions of Hanga Roa, and a pool surrounded by a garden full of tropical flowers and plants. Our Service Provider is Kia Koe Tour, the first and leading Tour Operator on Easter Island, founded 1984. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Puku Vai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Puku Vai Easter Island/Hanga Roa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing