We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bouquet to the staff”
Review of Hotel Puku Vai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Puku Vai
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Hanga Roa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Puku Vai's great asset is a willing staff who seem genuinely concerned to help with your stay. It's slight weakness is its distance from the hub of things: it took us 20 minutes to walk back from one of the nearer restaurants.
After reading Trip Advisor reviews, we chose this hotel over recommendations from our travel agent. We weren't disappointed. The room was spacious; the wi-fi worked well; the aircon was almost too efficient. The shower operated properly and there was no problem with hot water. There was a minifridge stocked with beer, fizzy drinks and mineral water. A bar was available during most the day. Breakfast was plentiful and the kitchen produced a fine ham and cheese omelette along with other cooked egg products.
Our plane in was delayed by eight hours. There was no question that reception staff would not be there to welcome us. During our stay they produced restorative cups of tea when requested and pointed us at three fine, if very different, restaurants. One felt reassured that they were there as a first line of defence should trouble occur. Taxis at a fixed in-town price of 2000 pesos (£2.50) dealt with longer forays.
Hotels and restaurants on the island may seem to be charging high prices compared with the mainland. But considering where they are and how supplies - other than basic foodstuffs - need to make a 10-day boat journey to the island, we seldom felt overcharged.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Retiredtraveller0071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarkko S, Manager at Hotel Puku Vai, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Thank you for your review!

You might also be interested in booking directly with us through our website. That way you'll get the most accurate, up-to-date information about our services and the island.

Additionally, when you book directly, you'll have an option to choose Guided Tours (with a group) or Private Tours (several alternatives only for you).

We offer accommodation with tours as travel packages, Complete Programs, that include the most popular options so you'll only have to pick the one you prefer.

We guarantee that all tours will be provided by Kia Koe Tour - you only book flights on your own and that's it - traveling won't get any easier!

Even it might not be obvious (if you're not staying in Hanga Roa late at night) but our location is more peaceful than in case of the hotels near main street. Typical countryside noises, mostly roosters and dogs the island is full of, can be heard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

186 - 192 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2013

Very close to the airport but this isnt a problem with only one flight a day in and out. The rooms are very comfortable and there is a little swimming pool. Breakfast is lovely, the best we have had since arriving in Chile. More than anything else, the manager and staff here are great. Nothing is too much trouble and all done very efficiently and with a smile. The manager's restaurant suggestions are spot on and, for the most part, very good value. You might expect things to be overpriced here because of the unique and remote location but I can honestly say we never felt overcharged the whole of our stay. Lovely island and lovely hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank miniscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarkko S, Manager at Hotel Puku Vai, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Thank you for sharing your great experience!

Easter Island is regulated by several laws to support local economy. Travelers might be happy to heard that the island is a tax-free zone.

This is a great benefit when you book your stay directly with your hotel since locals can provide their services tax-free.

Additionally, just like in our case, you can book your accommodation with Guided Tours (with a group) or Private Tours by Kia Koe Tour, the main Tour Operator on Easter Island. Please, see details and offers on our website.

Naturally, Easter Island is a bit more expensive than the mainland Chile but, all things considered, it's not that expensive. Just plan your travels well in advance and you'll be fine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The hotel is a short distance from IPC Airport. You can easily walk to it in under 5 minutes. Take a right out of the airport and it's about 2 blocks away.

Overall, it's a delightful venue. The Manager, Jarkko, is very nice and extremely helpful with directions, recommendations, and just about anything you like. The rooms are spacious and immaculately clean. Each has a private bathroom with abundant hot water in the shower, an air conditioner (if needed), a small refrigerator with waters, soft beverages, and beer (for a nominal fee), and a little safe for your valuables. All the rooms open up to a very pretty pool area. Unfortunatley we weren't there long enough to make use of it.

Breakfast was included and delicious with all the usual continental items as well as meats and cheeses and eggs made to order.

The walk to town is about 10-15 minutes.

I highly recommend this property and would return here without hesitation should my travels bring me back to Easter Island.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlobalFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarkko S, Manager at Hotel Puku Vai, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Thank you for your review, we appreciate a lot that you put an effort and time to share your experience!

When the weather is nice, you can easily walk from and to any location inside Hanga Roa or take a taxi (price inside Hanga Roa is fixed).

That applies from and to airport, as well. Just turn right when you'll exit the airport and after the first crossroad you should see a stone with our logo on the left side of the road.

However, during the summer months, due to humidity, you might feel a bit uncomfortable when dragging around your luggage.

If you prefer taxi (or the weather is bad or your flight arrives at night), you should be aware that not all taxi drivers can be trusted. Some try to overcharge or even drive you to another location for various motives.

In case you book tours with us, airport transfer is included and our tour operator, Kia Koe Tour, will wait you outside of the airport. They'll receive you with a collar of flowers and you'll receive a scheduled tour program. If you cannot notice the person, you might ask basically anybody about them since there's always plenty of staff receiving their guests.

Once again, do not believe if some taxi driver says that nobody's there for you (and offers to drive you at the hotel, instead) since Kia Koe Tour will guarantee their service. Even if the flight is delayed and arrives in the middle of the night, they'll wait you according to the flight number you informed (the actual flight numbers are required not arrival and departure times).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My daughter and I spent three nights at Puku Vai Hotel. The staff are great, the good lady at the breakfast in the morning will always welcome us with her lovely smile. Also the gentleman at the reception has a good personality and is very friendly. We were also recommended a restaurant for dinner by a hotel staff. The room was big and clean. I enjoy the cake during breakfast and the fruits. My daughter liked the bread and tomatoes. Thank you to the staff of Puku Vai for making our stay unforgettable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank agungah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarkko S, Manager at Hotel Puku Vai, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Thank you for staying with us and traveling with Kia Koe Tour!

We're more than happy to know that you and your daughter had a good time with us. We also appreciate that you shared your good experience.

The rooms of Hotel Puku Vai are Superior meaning that the room size is 25 m2 (including a private bathroom with a bath tub and a hair dryier) and have Air Conditioning, Free Wi-Fi internet, TV, Safe Box, Telephone and Minibar.

Our website has more details and photos, as well as information about Guided Tours and Private Tours.

Visiting our website gives you the most accurate and up-to-date information about our hotel, services, tours and, additionally, we update our Easter Island information site on regular basis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in August, and had a fantastic time. The staff were really welcoming and friendly, and rooms were a good size with sliding doors onto the pool area.
Being close to the airport (the fence is about 100 yards away!) is a bonus one one hand in you wont have a long transfer time, although it did seem to mean we were last to be picked up on most of our tours.
Although a bit further out of the centre than some places (20-30 mins walk), there are loads of taxis which can take you back for a fixed $2000 (about USD 4), so it was nice to wander in and then take a lift back when needed.
The pool was great, and I guess although it was winter when we went, it was a lot better weather than the UK, so we were delighted to basically have it to ourselves to relax after day trips.
Some reviews describe this as a B&B, but it is a proper hotel, although I am sure most people would want to eat in the centre if only in for a few days.
Breakfast was also better than most other places we stayed at during our time in Chile, with decent eggs cooked to order, and nice fresh juices. There was only about 5 other couples staying whilst we were there due to low season, so there was not too much elbowing each other for room as you sometimes get!
Overall we would happily stay here again if we are fortunate enough to visit this fantastic island again, and thank you for helping make it so memorable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jimmyur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarkko S, Manager at Hotel Puku Vai, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Thank you for your kind words, we really appreciate your review!

Actually, thanks to our location, you might be the last ones who'll get to join a group and the first ones who'll return afterwards (if you did book Guided Tours since Private Tours have a fixed pick-up times and guide arrives with a private vehicle).

That means you'll just spend a bit less time in a bus and - while waiting your tour to arrive - you might relax using our Free Wi-Fi internet or plan the rest of your vacation.

Our reception can book you in for a horseback riding, Polynesian dance show, give advices regarding scuba diving etc. or simply recommend souvenir shops and restaurants - we never charge any commission fees so do not hesitate asking for help!

It's true that most people head out to Hanga Roa for sightseeing and Polynesian dance shows and, thus, our restaurant works on based on reservations (meaning we have certain limitations, depending the season).

However, like you noted, moving around in Hanga Roa is not a challenge at all and if you're not real hungry we'll prepare you a sandwich, salad or something similar even when the restaurant is not open. Naturally, we can also reserve you a table in a good restaurant or simply recommend some simple but delicious alternative that's close.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Like most of the hotels on this island this was more like a small B&B. The room was nice enough with double and single bed and a view of the pool. The gardens were lovely BUT the water was cold in the morning until after 8am. Breakfasts were ok with a buffet of one sort of fruit, toast, limited cakes and fruit juice freshly made that arrived at about 8.30. The hot element was a scrambled egg or olette that was so small that I ordered mine as well for my husband to have.Considering the price was $240 a night I would have expected more. They also charged $10 for an airport transfer which you could walk to as it was across the road. They did lend beach towels to take on trips and offered a packed lunch for about $25 which we declined.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank catsholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarkko S, Manager at Hotel Puku Vai, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about us!

We apologize since the water heater had a malfunction during your stay. Actually, it occurred a few times in the end of May even it was properly maintained. The maintenance was able to fix it and to avoid that to happen ever again, we did buy a whole heating unit so we might just completely replace it if it ever occurs again.

However, we'd like to straighten out that Hotel Puku Vai is a peaceful 3 star "boutique" style hotel and certainly far above the level of the any B&B of the island, especially when it comes to services and equipments of the rooms.

Please, note that one of the photos is not from our hotel (the concrete building is one of the constructions on the main road), our hotel is painted white and decorated with art of stone.

Since eggs and omelets are provided free based on request during breakfast, you might as well inform the staff that you're hungry or, alternatively, specify how much you wish to eat. Additionally, you might also ask for more if you're still feeling hungry after the first plate.

Airport Transfer is part of the Tour Program we provide on our websites. When requested separately, we'll inform the price of the local tour operators and charge according to it if you wish to have it.

Generally speaking, Airport Transfer might be very important to families, seniors, travelers with heavy luggage or people who have any restrictions to move around.

Naturally, Airport Transfer is also requested for pure convenience since it adds a nice touch when you're greeted with a collar of flowers and assisted safely to the hotel.

Additionally, Airport Transfer is a guaranteed service so you can relax even the flight is delayed: there will always be a person waiting for you even in the middle of the night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights during our visit to Easter Island and absolutely enjoyed our stay. It's just a basic little B&B so don't expect much (but it is pretty much the same with all of the lodging facilities available on the island), but it is nice and clean, the rooms are very spacious (we had a queen bed and a twin) with good size bathroom, the place is well situated, and staffed with just absolutely nice and friendly people. It is also super close to the airport, we took a cab there when we first arrived because it was cheaper than arranging pick up from the hotel and it literally took us two minutes (if not one) to get there. We decided to just walk to the airport for our flight home..it was maybe a 10 minute walk. It is also fairly close to city center (which is not much more than one main road leading to the pier/dock with a bunch restaurants and coffee shops and minimarts). Our room rate included a daily breakfast, which consisted of a buffet of local fruits, bread, coffee/tea, cake, ham, cheese and made to order eggs..it's pretty good actually :-) And the staff are just really nice and friendly and really accommodating. Really nice little place overall.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cuteicecube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarkko S, Manager at Hotel Puku Vai, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2013

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your effort!

We'd like to straighten out that Hotel Puku Vai is a 3 star hotel to avoid any confusion amongst our future guests.

The concept of our hotel is "boutique" meaning that we focus on providing a friendly atmosphere and quality services.

Our services fairly exceed the standard level of Easter Island and we provide services that even the some of the high-end hotels on the island are not able to. The rooms include Air Conditioning and Free Wi-Fi internet, just to mention the most important ones.

Our speciality are Tour Programs by Kia Koe Tour seen on our website. Airport Transfer include a nice touch when you're greeted with a collar of flowers and assisted safely to the hotel. The greatest thing, however, is that the service is guaranteed: in case there's some last minute flight schedule change, you can relax since (as long as your flight number does not change) there will be a person waiting for you even in the middle of the night.

Please, note that we confirm Airport Transfer separately via email that includes instructions how to locate your tour operator at the airport.

In case airport transfer is requested separately (without a program), we point out that there are other alternatives, as well. However, when you'll take taxi, always remember to verify the price to avoid any surprises.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanga Roa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
0.7 mi away
Taha Tai Hotel
Taha Tai Hotel
#4 of 16 in Hanga Roa
417 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Hare Boutik
Hotel Hare Boutik
#3 of 16 in Hanga Roa
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Taura'a Hotel
Taura'a Hotel
#6 of 16 in Hanga Roa
450 reviews
4.5 mi away
explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
#1 of 24 in Easter Island
505 reviews
0.7 mi away
Easter Island Eco Lodge
Easter Island Eco Lodge
#9 of 16 in Hanga Roa
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puku Vai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puku Vai

Address: Hotu Matua s/n, Hanga Roa, Easter Island 2770000, Chile
Region: Chile > Easter Island > Hanga Roa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hanga Roa
Price Range: £138 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Puku Vai 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Puku Vai invites you to explore the mysteries of Easter Island and enjoy the harmony of nature. Our services include Accommodation, Airport Transfer, Tours and Complete Programs. We offer Superior level rooms with all the modern comforts - including Air Conditioning and Free Wi-Fi Internet - a peaceful location close to the main attractions of Hanga Roa, and a pool surrounded by a garden full of tropical flowers and plants. Our Service Provider is Kia Koe Tour, the first and leading Tour Operator on Easter Island, founded 1984. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Puku Vai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Puku Vai Easter Island/Hanga Roa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing