We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Mix of Facilities and People on Rapa Nui!”
Review of Hotel Puku Vai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Puku Vai
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Hanga Roa
Certificate of Excellence
Berthoud, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Excellent Mix of Facilities and People on Rapa Nui!”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Beautiful property - exquisitely maintained - spotless and tasteful. Pool area tropical, clean and inviting. Great breakfast each morning - freshly cooked eggs, fruit fresh from their own pineapple, mango and papaya plants, cheese, meat, bread, cereal and coffee. Jarkko (Finish hotel manager) is fantastic - goes out of his way to meet your needs, ensure your trip is going well and that the hotel is doing everything possible to make your stay on Rapa Nui memorable and fun. Some tips: Hotel is about 20 minute walk to the main part of town - or a $4 cab ride - so considering your overall trip expense - it is a non-issue. Also, for $30 you can do a round trip cab ride from the hotel to one of the worlds most beautiful beaches (Anakena) - about a 20 minute ride - and you DON'T PAY anything until you are safely dropped back off at the hotel (ensures you get picked up at the beach). Tours are worth it if this is your first trip. This hotel is a great base!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarkko S, Manager at Hotel Puku Vai, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you for your practical review John, we appreciate your words!

Tours by Kia Koe Tour are a great way to visit the archaeological sites of Easter Island - you can be sure that you won't miss anything important.

Additionally, the experience with a guide can be much more rewarding than just driving around with a guidebook.

Taxis in Hanga Roa are an easy way of moving around since there's no public transportation. The price is fixed so when you just remember to make sure the price before hopping in, you're fine.

There's airport extra (from and to airport) but otherwise, the price is good. Anyway, if you book your stay with tours, Kia Koe Tour will be receiving you at the airport with a collar of flowers and tour program.

However, taking a taxi outside Hanga Roa is a bit more complicated and if you're not careful, it might turn out to be very expensive, as well.

Personally, I always make sure to confirm the price before we'll order a taxi outside of Hanga Roa. Then I hand you a small note including the service details and total cost. In case your taxi driver tries to charge you more than agreed, you'll just show the note.

In case of Anakena, the main beach, there's no mobile network meaning that you cannot call from the beach. You just tell your taxi driver the time when he/she has to come to get you back. Like you wrote, we advise that you do not pay anything before you're back.

All the best for you and your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    102
    17
    2
    1
See reviews for
47
148
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sf,ca
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We loved our stay here. Room was large and bed was comfortable. Had plenty of outlets for all the modern technology for two travelers. Internet was free though slow as to be expected on Easter island. Breakfast was great. Management couldn't be more helpful with arranging tours recommending restaurants etc. Several people mentioned the distance from town; we actually enjoyed the pleasant 20-30 min walk back from town after dinner. (And if you don't a cab is only $4USD). Highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gbs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarkko S, Manager at Hotel Puku Vai, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for your review, we really appreciate it!

We offer all Tours by Kia Koe Tour without extra cost. That's what makes us special.

The most popular options are available as Complete Programs. You might prefer Guided Tours (with a group) or Private Tours (only for you). Please, check the offers and prices for 2014 on our website.

We recommend booking tours in advance since there's only a limited availability during weekends, national holidays and high season (including vacation periods in the middle of June and September).

We have a Free WiFi internet in your room, poolside area, lobby, bar and restaurant.

Naturally, internet is not as fast than in cities (there's no sea cables connecting Easter Island to continental Chile). That makes even calling quite challenging (sometimes all lines are occupied), some tv channels might not be broadcasted (there's only 3 national and 1 local channel, anyway) etc.

However, we provide the best there is and, at least you can get connected with your family and friends, check news and use email etc. while you're visiting the most isolated location permanently inhabited on Earth!

All the best for your future adventures!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

A great hotel located centrally, highly attentive and friendly staff, relaxed, with facilites close by, pool fantastic, great breakfast, informative reception, taxi's on standby. Spacious Room's, always willing to offer advice and tips, day and night,
Very typical Rapa Nui hospitality :)
Will definately return.

Room Tip: room 8 closest to pool and exit to reception.. King bed and single
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarkko S, Manager at Hotel Puku Vai, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for your review Chris!

We'll assist and advise you with anything you need on Easter Island.

Tours we recommend booking in advance (see our website) but other activities, such as horseback riding, diving, shows etc. can be easily organized on the island.

In general, it might be a good idea not having a very detailed plan since at least some level of flexibility (perhaps an extra day or two on the island) allows you to relax and enjoy your vacation.

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We were a group of 3, 1 couple 1 single and this accommodation far exceeded any other option for amenities and price in Easter Island.

The pool was fantastic after tours during the day or a dip before a tour, the breakfast was always something to look forward to with everything fresh and lots of options. The room was very spacious even with 3 of us, always immaculately clean with a very effective air conditioner and the mini-bar was great to stock up from in town. The wifi was included and as expected in such an isolated island was reliable although a little slow at times.

Although the hotel is a little way from the main street this was never an issue for us as the taxi's are $2000 ($4 AUD) fixed price to/from town.

A major attraction for this hotel was the manager Jarkko who could not be more informative and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble and if he was not sure of an answer he would find out and get back to you. All of Jarkko's recommendations for places and restaurants were spot on.

If we returned we would not stay anywhere else but here! I could not recommend Puku Vai highly enough, it far outweighed any of our expectations.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Escaping_the_ratrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarkko S, Manager at Hotel Puku Vai, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Thank you for your valuable review, we appreciate every word!

It's very kind of you to point out the fact that any similar hotel on Easter Island charge much more than we do - even we might have more to offer (including Air Conditioner, Outdoors Pool, Free Wi-Fi etc.).

This is due to our unique strategy: we maintain our price category below our main competitors' level to be able to offer you a balanced, high-quality combination of Accommodation and Tours.

Thus, when you book your stay with us, you have an option to book tours by Kia Koe Tour, as well. These tours are available as Guided Tours (with a group) or Private Tours. Tour details, prices and complete Tour Programs you can check on our website.

In case you'll be traveling between May and August, make sure to check our Special Offers including all tours - only available when you book directly with us.

We wish all the best for you and your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dupont, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Puku Vai overall was a very lovely find on Easter Island. It is managed by a very nice Finnish man named Jarkko, and he takes much pride in his establishment. They serve a wonderful buffet breakfast with a nice variety, fresh fruit, breads, cheeses, juices, good strong coffee, and they will even make you an omelette. The free internet was very nice to have, although slow at times...but, you are on Easter Island. The main town is a good 30 min walk along a road with no east abolished sidewalk and crazy drivers, so you either need to prepare to walk a lot, or you can take a taxi (but you need pesos), or you can rent a vehicle like we did. Despite the fact we were just across from the airport, air traffic noise is not really an issue, as there are few flights during the week. We stayed for seven nights, and the only real issue were the dogs and roosters talking most of the night, as well as pool noise (we stayed in room # 7), as well as the farm neighbors wanting to party it up Saturday night until about 0100... Which we were told occurs b/c it was getting close to Christmas. The hotel itself will serve you lunch or dinner, but you have to tell them you want this in the morning, and I am not sure of the cost, ..it is not an open restaurant. Also, water is not included on a daily basis as part of your $250 a night fee, so you will need to pay about $3.00 a bottle if you want a small bottle of water. If you are a hard sleeper, you will be fine staying here...it really was a nice place overall, nice people, nice pool and grounds. The room does have a refrigerator, so you can go into town and stock up on supplies from the supermarket if you want.

Room Tip: End rooms would probably minimize pool noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarkko S, Manager at Hotel Puku Vai, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Thank you for choosing Hotel Puku Vai and Kia Koe Tour!

We appreciate your review and, since you had a 7 nights stay with us, it's a good advise to book tours and, then, rent a car unless you prefer trekking, horseback riding, diving or other options of the island.

However, rental car is not necessary and since you cannot get any kind of insurance for you or your car, it might even be best to avoid rental cars.

Occasionally, there might be some chatter and laughter while our guests enjoy our pool. However, that's not the case during the night - Easter Island has it's own rhythm while everyone's tired after visiting archaeological sites during their tours.

Easter Island really is full of dogs, roosters, cows and horses. In practice, you cannot escape countryside noises but just accept that as a part of your Easter Island experience.

However, our hotel is much more peaceful than hotels located near residential areas.

Our Free Wi-Fi Internet is as fast as it gets even internet in general is not as fast as in cities (there's no sea cables entering the island, only a satellite connection).

All the best for you and your friend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel on our way to South American and found the staff very helpful. It is very close to the airport however we took a taxi as the roads are mostly unmade. The room was basic but very clean and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast is included as is the wifi. There is a small pool however we didn't use it as it was too cold when we were there. We found Easter Island very interesting as we took tours on the days we were there. We took taxis when we went out in the evenings as there are no street signs anywhere on the island!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BepeAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarkko S, Manager at Hotel Puku Vai, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Thank you for your comments!

We agree that tours by Kia Koe Tour are the best way to experience the island but if you have a few extra days to spend, there's several other ways to enjoy the island. These include horseback riding, diving and trekking. We'll happy to give you some recommendations and assist of booking these services for you.

Even you might refer to our rooms as simple, we'd like to remind you that Hotel Puku Vai offers Superior level accommodation with Air Conditioning, Free Wi-Fi Internet, TV, safe box, minibar, phone and other essentials such as bath tub and outdoors pool.

All things considered, we're far above the standard of Easter Island.

Additionally, we're the only reasonably priced hotel that's able to offer all these services and amenities. That position allows us to compete with the most expensive options of the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff, especially Finnish man at reception. Very clean room, excellent breakfast ( watery coffee though), excellent bed and pillows, hot water and water pressure great in the bath and shower. Very roomy. Probably one of the best reasonably priced hotels on this very expensive island.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarkko S, Manager at Hotel Puku Vai, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you for your review!

Our hotel offers the highest value on Easter Island, especially when you book your accommodation with tours.

The concept we chose is to offer reasonably priced accommodation but with amenities and services that even the high-end hotels cannot provide on Easter Island (including Air Conditioning and free Wi-Fi internet in rooms).

That way you're able to benefit one of the upgrade options that include tours (we call them Complete Programs on our website).

There's several options ranging from Guided Tours (with a group) and Private Tours.

The best thing is that we guarantee that all tours will be provided by Kia Koe Tour, the main tour operator on Easter Island since 1984 meaning that you'll have all the services that were previously available only for the clients of top travel agencies.

Regarding your comment about coffee, as a Finn myself, I know that nothing beats strong coffee in the morning. I'll make sure that I'll try coffee every morning (even we have to consider that not everyone favors their coffee as strong as we do). However, please, do not hesitate giving feedback to your hotel staff if there's something that bothers you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanga Roa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
0.7 mi away
Taha Tai Hotel
Taha Tai Hotel
#6 of 15 in Hanga Roa
378 reviews
4.5 mi away
explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
#1 of 23 in Easter Island
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hare Noi
Hare Noi
#3 of 15 in Hanga Roa
234 reviews
0.6 mi away
Taura'a Hotel
Taura'a Hotel
#5 of 15 in Hanga Roa
439 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Rapa Nui
Hotel Rapa Nui
#8 of 15 in Hanga Roa
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puku Vai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puku Vai

Property: Hotel Puku Vai
Address: Hotu Matua s/n, Hanga Roa, Easter Island 2770000, Chile
Region: Chile > Easter Island > Hanga Roa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hanga Roa
#4 Family Hotel in Hanga Roa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Puku Vai 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Puku Vai invites you to explore the mysteries of Easter Island and enjoy the harmony of nature. Our services include Accommodation, Airport Transfer, Tours and Complete Programs. We offer Superior level rooms with all the modern comforts - including Air Conditioning and Free Wi-Fi Internet - a peaceful location close to the main attractions of Hanga Roa, and a pool surrounded by a garden full of tropical flowers and plants. Our Service Provider is Kia Koe Tour, the first and leading Tour Operator on Easter Island, founded 1984. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Puku Vai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Puku Vai Easter Island/Hanga Roa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing