We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort just 400 yards from the airport terminal”
Review of Hotel Puku Vai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Puku Vai
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Hanga Roa
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Comfort just 400 yards from the airport terminal”
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

But with only one flight arriving and leaving each day you'll be lucky to hear it. After all the horror stories in reviews of other hotels in Hanga Roa rest assured that you will be clean and comfortable in this one. My room was, and has been kept, clean; it is well maintained; it is wonderfully spacious; and like all rooms the patio doors open on the central garden and pool - but with only about 14 rooms this is almost always quiet. The air conditioning is quiet and efficient, which is important if you do not feel safe leaving the patio doors open overnight. There is a minibar but no kettle. Admittedly the facilities are a bit limited: for example the restaurant does not serve lunch, and does not serve dinner unless 6 guests request it the day before, but most guests seem to prefer to eat in one of Hanga Roa's many restaurants anyway. The reception staff are most helpful eg in recommending restaurants, and speak enough English. The breakfast buffet is limited but includes eggs cooked to order, ham, chorizo, breads, cereal, yoghurt, fruit - in short, something for everyone. As you hear chickens, and cocks crowing, from well before dawn, the eggs must be fresh! The wifi is a bit slow but that is pobably the local service. Tip: I had to change the email accont setting for outgoing email to SSL Security in order to be able to send emails from my smartphone. While close to the airport the hotel is about a mile from the town centre on level roads. If you do not want to walk the receptionist can get a taxi by phone within minutes, and there is a flat fee to anywhere in Hanga Roa of just 2,000 pesos. Weirdly the fare to the airport, closer at just 400 yards but too far to drag a case along the road, is more, but still very modest.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarkko S, Manager at Hotel Puku Vai, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for your review!

Hotel Puku Vai is a new property (opening was on October 2010) and the rooms include efficient A/C unit, Free Wi-Fi internet, bathroom with a bathtub and an outdoors pool - a unique combination on Easter Island.

Our restaurant is open on basis of reservations and, depending the season, we apply some restrictions. The reason is, just like you wrote, most of the guests are attracted by Hanga Roa, especially because of its Polynesian dance shows.

We have room service and the staff will serve you tea, hot water or, alternatively, give you a thermo full of hot water. Thus, kettle is not really necessary even it's absense is due to fire safety regulations.

Our Wi-Fi is a secure network, just like you noticed. Since all telecommunications of the island are satellite based, the speed is not the same you get in cities but, after all, our internet is as fast as it gets on the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    102
    17
    2
    1
See reviews for
48
148
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winterport, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

My wife and I stayed for four nights in mid March 2014 and really enjoyed it. Hotel was very clean and the staff was very nice. Plenty of hot water and good wifi connection. Owner was very helpful. We walked to town for dinner, although it was nice to take a taxi back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john52978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarkko S, Manager at Hotel Puku Vai, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with everyone!

When it's getting too hot for sunbathing, you might appreciate an option to turn on Air Conditioning and get connected in your room even you're in the middle of Pacific Ocean.

Naturally, you might use our free Wi-Fi internet even when relaxing in our tropical garden and the poolside!

Free and reliable Wi-FI internet, Air Conditioning and outdoors pool - this is a combination even the most expensive high-end hotels on Easter Island cannot provide.

We wish you and your wife all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
354 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

It took us days to get to this hotel from the north of England but as soon as we arrived we knew we had made the right choice for us. The manager was there with a warm welcome and fruit juice which didn't touch the sides! Reception, lounge area, bar and restaurant are all in a large, airy room with patio doors open to the lovely gardens complete with local motifs on the walls. It really did feel like we were dreaming!

The rooms are arranged around the swimming pool and have chairs on the terrace outside which are private being screened with hibiscus trees. We were given a spacious triple room which had everything you could want including a very comfortable, large bed in which we slept well every night. From our room we could only hear dogs and roosters in the distance - they never disturbed us.

We really enjoyed the breakfasts which had very good choice including eggs any way you liked and freshly squeezed juice. The cakes and pastries may seem a strange choice to us for breakfast but they were so nice the diet can start again in two weeks time! Lunch and dinner can be ordered the day before and we had a nice lunch one day.

Easter Island is an expensive destination and hotels are not cheap so you cannot compare what you get for what you pay with elsewhere in the world but we would go back to this little bit of paradise anytime. The staff are all so pleasant and helpful it was a joy to be there. Thank you for four days we will never forget.

Room Tip: We were pleased with our room which faced the restaurant so was further away from the roosters and d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flowerlady64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarkko S, Manager at Hotel Puku Vai, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you for your review! We appreciate the kindness that shines through your words.

Easter Island is a challenging but rewarding destination that most of our guests have been dreaming of for years.

We're proud to offer a new property in exotic setting with quality rooms for those who have the opportunity to fulfill their dream.

Even the island is located in the middle of Pacific Ocean we provide all the modern comforts with a reasonable price.

Additionally, when you choose a locally owned property, such as Hotel Puku Vai, and a locally owned tour operator, such as Kia Koe Tour, you're supporting local economy. That way locals are able to make sustainable choices for the future.

You might also be interested in hearing that if you book your accommodation and tours directly using our website, you'll get all tax-free. That gives you a nice start when planning your vacation of dreams!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend this family run hotel with its very helpful and friendly team. We overslept one day and missed the breakfast deadline, however the kitchen conjured up an excellent breakfast for us despite the time. Rooms were good, with excellent air con and bathrooms, perhaps a little gloomy though with poor bedside lights. The hotel is in a quiet area, an easy 10 min walk to the airport and the wonderful Japanese restaurant Kotaro. Many good restaurants 30 mins walk away. We hired a small 4 x 4 and found driving here easy and stress free. A great place for independent travellers.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exbiztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarkko S, Manager at Hotel Puku Vai, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for your review, we really appreciate your words!

Hotel Puku Vai is a locally owned hotel, administrated and managed by a family. We believe it adds a nice touch when you might get to know the owner and manager in person. However, we run our business professionally and maintain the distance unless encouraged otherwise by our guests.

We're efficient both on-line and on-site, easy to approach and always engaged. Our specialty are tour programs provided by Kia Koe Tour - available as guided tours with a group or private tours only for you - always with a professional, native guide.

We appreciate your comments regarding illumination and certainly take them into consideration when we make changes (possibly later this year). Last year we already renewed illumination in bathrooms and passageways and we're now more energy-efficient due to led based technology.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hoathly, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Hotel Puku Vai is nice and modern, and we enjoyed the space in the room/bathroom with a sitting area with patio door onto the gardens and pool area. Jakob and his staff were excellent (and many thanks to whoever found the credit card I had mistakenly left in the safe). Eggs for breakfast were lovely. The drawback was the distance to the restaurants in Hanga Roa and the coast. We walked the first night, but it is quite a long walk and warm, and there are loose dogs everywhere (not threatening, but even so). We used taxis after that. However the excellent restaurant Tataku Vave sent a taxi to pick us up and paid the bill one way. It is only 3 minutes from the airport, but there is no problem with noise.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AoftheManor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarkko S, Manager at Hotel Puku Vai, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for writing nice things about us!

Our tropical garden with a pool is a perfect option for you to relax after you've visited archaeological sites with your guide.

Unless you prefer to rest in our spacious rooms including air conditioning (provided by only a few hotels of the island), you might rest using free Wi-Fi internet on the poolside (that is available in your room, as well).

Hanga Roa itself is a small countryside town with dogs and roosters around every corner.

Thanks to our location, you might find your stay with us more peaceful than in case of most decent options of the island.

We're an easy walk from the restaurants and attractions of Hanga Roa but, if you prefer, a few minutes taxi ride might be more comfortable when the day is hot and humid. Taxi inside Hanga Roa has a fixed price, making it the most reasonable option to move around in town.

However, a good tip for anyone visiting the island and followed by dogs is that they're just begging for food: use your voice and make a gesture and you'll get rid of them for good.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The hotel is near the airport and so it's quite a walk into town. On the other hand, Kotaro, the highly-rated Japanese restaurant, is within easy walking distance as is the solitary moai at Huri A Urenga. We spent our last sunny morning walking to this lovely atmospheric site which was devoid of tourists - highly recommended.

Very good breakfast, different choices every morning.

Comfortable room, spacious bathroom, good air conditioning and reasonable wifi. The manager and his young family are a delight - we wish them well.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank herebedragons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarkko S, Manager at Hotel Puku Vai, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for your time to write nice things about us!

Hotel Puku Vai really is a family-bysiness, even we run it professionally and, thus, you might not be aware of the fact.

Our location might turn out to be very practical if you do tours (or if hiking/biking is your thing) since you can head straight exploring the island.

Generally, there's only 1 daily flight after midday (and another daytime flight during the high season) so you shouldn't be able to hear any airport noises.

Unless you prefer walking, you might just take a taxi since the price is fixed in Hanga Roa (only CLP 2.000.-) excluding airport (that has airport extra).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NW England
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

A excellent base for exploring this incredible place from the comfortable rooms to the variety at the buffet breakfast to the helpful staff especially in recommending local restaurants to the free and quick internet access (not common in many places south of the equator). Close to the town so you can easily walk to some of the sites as well as the restaurants, etc., but far enough out to give peace and quiet also.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NewRoader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarkko S, Manager at Hotel Puku Vai, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for your review!

Your review nicely sums up the most important points and we're happy to hear you appreciated both our services and location.

Even it might not be obvious when checking us on internet, the location is really convenient whenever you're ready to explore the island with a guide or, alternatively, rent a bike or do some trekking.

Additionally, you will not hear any nightlife but you're still close enough to participate, if you prefer.

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanga Roa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
4.5 mi away
explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
#1 of 24 in Easter Island
443 reviews
0.6 mi away
Taura'a Hotel
Taura'a Hotel
#5 of 16 in Hanga Roa
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Taha Tai Hotel
Taha Tai Hotel
#6 of 16 in Hanga Roa
384 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hare Boutik
Hare Boutik
#3 of 16 in Hanga Roa
237 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Rapa Nui
Hotel Rapa Nui
#8 of 16 in Hanga Roa
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puku Vai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puku Vai

Property: Hotel Puku Vai
Address: Hotu Matua s/n, Hanga Roa, Easter Island 2770000, Chile
Region: Chile > Easter Island > Hanga Roa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hanga Roa
#4 Family Hotel in Hanga Roa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Puku Vai 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Puku Vai invites you to explore the mysteries of Easter Island and enjoy the harmony of nature. Our services include Accommodation, Airport Transfer, Tours and Complete Programs. We offer Superior level rooms with all the modern comforts - including Air Conditioning and Free Wi-Fi Internet - a peaceful location close to the main attractions of Hanga Roa, and a pool surrounded by a garden full of tropical flowers and plants. Our Service Provider is Kia Koe Tour, the first and leading Tour Operator on Easter Island, founded 1984. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Puku Vai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Puku Vai Easter Island/Hanga Roa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing