We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the price.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tea Nui - Cabanas y Habitaciones
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Hanga Roa
Certificate of Excellence
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good value for the price.”
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We stayed at Tea Nui for 6 nights. I read the reviews on tripadvisor before I booked the room and they were very consistent with my experience when we got there. Overall, for the price it was a good value. Obviously, hotels are very expensive on Easter Island-- Tea Nui is a good lower cost alternative. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The wifi was a bit spotty but not unusual on the Island in general. The breakfast was delivered to our room each morning which was excellent. However, it was quite minimal and oversold on their website. Food is very expensive on the island-- bring snacks with you! Tea Nui is close to the beach and to "town" in just a short walk. We rented a scooter for the week and I would highly recommend that to get yourself around the island. Overall, a positive experience at Tea Nui. Expect some noise from the rosters-- bring ear plugs. The island is very dusty and each day we would bring dirt into our room. The staff did a good job cleaning the room and keep our linens fresh. Remember the island is still developing it's tourism and the hotels might not meet your standards of other places; however, we enjoyed that and would prefer if Easter Island does not get any more "touristy" than it already is!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAnna_adventuretrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    77
    38
    6
    6
See reviews for
54
69
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We stayed here in August 2012. It was clean and the staff pleasant, and at about US$150 a night, much less expensive than some other places on Easter Island. That said, the hotel is sandwiched between local residences, and when they stay up late, you stay up late. Meanwhile, the roosters in the hotel yard wake you at dawn, so be sure to bring earplugs. Breakfast was included, but it was the same instant coffee, juice, ham slices, white cheese, white bread and cake, over, and over, and over, and over and over again. They knew we were booked in for 5 nights, couldn't they have mixed it up a bit? Breakfast is delivered to your room, ostensibly when they see that you're up, but we were woken by the food delivery the one morning we went back to sleep after the roosters finished crowing. Some rooms had shortages of hot water. No view and little ambience, but the location is convenient, two blocks to the main drag and a few blocks from the ocean. Mini fridges are a nice touch. It's fine, but bring ear plugs and have realistic expectations.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karentravelscribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
137 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We stayed in Hotel Tea Nui for 4 nights. The hotel is located off the main street in Hanga Roa. Location is good and close to the shore. Everything is in walking distance. Airport transfer is provided by the hotel and also includes information about the city which was very nice. Hotel is small in a graden setting. The room is very basic but comfortable enough. Room was clean. There is a safe, a fridge, a bathroom however with no toiletries, wifi and a fan. There is no AC that could be uncomfortable during summer time since the room has full sun. There is no tv which we didn't miss at all.Breakfast is included but quite boring every day bread with cheese/ham and jam and a dry cake. For 4 days this could be better with some simple variety. Other reviewers complaines about noise besides the noise from the roosters in the morning there was no noise. We actually likked the roosters since it reminded us from our time in the East where we have lived. Hotel was expensive but everything on Rapa Nui is expensive so we found it acceptable price quality. Staf is very friendly. Recommended hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dtjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We stayed there for four nights and we cannot recommend it - do not go there. We payed a horrible high amount for a really small room with dirty beds. During night you can hear your neighbour in his bed and whem he leaves for going to toilet or taking a shower. In the morning there is really a lot of noise from building works. They even work on Sunday up to 10 pm.
At 8.30 you have to get up because they serve the breakfast in your room. I mean it is holiday and I would like enjoy it. The breakfast is very poor. First day we got a small piece of cake, the next day the same, and the same old one again the third day. You only get one small cup of coffee each and water with sugar powder flavoured with orange. They did not even mix it well. The last day the even kicked us out without breakfast. The room mate changed the towels every day, yes, but she never cleaned the floor. She behaves like it is a burden to do her job.
It is so much money you have to pay there and so less you get there even the basics nice sleep and tidy room are missing. They always smile to their guests and try to be friendly but it is a really expensive smile.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MiriamOtto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asia, Peru
Level Contributor
171 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

LOCATION: Free hotel pick-up from the airport. Very informative ride through town. Less than a five-minute walk from the main road and only a ten minute walk to the airport.

HOTEL: Very friendly and informative check-in. Room on the ground floor was a bit damp and had a stench of bleach all day long. Dirty floor, bed covers and curtains. Uncomfortable beds and pillows. No air-conditioner, only a loud fan. Not so good shower. Tasteless breakfast served on the terrace in the morning where the roosters ran wild. They also crowed enthusiastically daily around 5 AM. Loud neighbors playing music until late at night. Early in the morning, the construction site next by the hotel took over the noise pollution.

CONCLUSION: All the staff was very, very, helpful and friendly. We wanted so much to give this hotel a good review, but the hotel did not meet basic requirement of a good stay: to provide guests with a good night rest in a clean environment. The daily struggle with huge cockroaches, the bleach stench, the damp and dirty room, the not so good shower and the noise from the construction site, the neighbors and the roosters, all led us to advice other travelers to consider other hotel options if they can.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank HKasyouare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
124 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We were picked up from the airport (that is literally less than 5 minutes drive from the hotel) and welcomed with fresh flowers' necklaces. Instead of taking us directly to Tea Nui they took us on a small drive around town: on the ride we were appointed to the main road, suggested restaurants, shops and even spotted a turtle napping by the water - a great start!

Upon arrival to the hotel we were received by the friendly Moea. We had never been given such a good introduction of a new place as we got by her. The check-in was prompt (while we were sipping fresh fruit juice) but Moea took her time to show us in a map everything we could see and do in town - from archeological spots, to recommended places where to eat and local hang outs!
We spent 4 nights on a comfortable room with tons of natural light. The room includes a mini-fridge you can use to store some goodies and coffee/making facilities.

Tea Nui is just 3 minutes walking from the main road in Hanga Roa, where most restaurants and services are located. It's easy to walk to and from at night if you want to have dinner in town. This is a very good choice of hotel if you want to be in the heart of town and, at the same time, 3 minutes walk from the shore - the best of both worlds! Another plus is that they'll be happy to help you book all activities and tours in the island at fair prices.

Room Tip: Cabins are a very good option for families/groups or if you want your own kitchen - this comes in ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zararock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Unique island, unique experience. The accomodation is simple, but clean, loud neighbours . No tv in our room. Breakfast simple and served in the room. Staff are friendly, with limited English, only a French girl had fluency. Car rental is available at the hostal.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andras V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanga Roa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
0.3 mi away
Taura'a Hotel
Taura'a Hotel
#4 of 15 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 15 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Taha Tai Hotel
Taha Tai Hotel
#6 of 15 in Hanga Roa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mana Nui Inn
Mana Nui Inn
#12 of 15 in Hanga Roa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
4.9 mi away
explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
#1 of 23 in Easter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tea Nui - Cabanas y Habitaciones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tea Nui - Cabanas y Habitaciones

Property: Tea Nui - Cabanas y Habitaciones
Address: Avenida Pont s/n, Hanga Roa, Easter Island, Chile
Region: Chile > Easter Island > Hanga Roa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Hanga Roa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tea Nui - Cabanas y Habitaciones 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tea Nui - Easter Island ahoy! Fully-equipped cabins, comfortable executive rooms, and a wide range of excursions and activities await you in Easter Island. Tea Nui takes care of all your requirements and needs, making of your trip to Rapa Nui a fascinating, authentic and unforgettable memory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Tea Nui - Cabanas y Habitaciones reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tea Nui - Cabanas y Habitaciones Easter Island/Hanga Roa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing