We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable and great price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chez Steve Residencia Kyle Mio
Ranked #3 of 34 Hanga Roa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
127 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable and great price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

If all u need is very clean,comfort and affordable topped off with friendly, helpful and cheerful hosts this is the place

The downside is dogs bark a lot rosters crow and wi fi is not .good. That being said I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank filisann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    34
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
87
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Steve and Ana are such amazing hosts--offering advice, taking you around, helping you with anything you need. They go above and beyond to treat you like family and share their love for Rapa Nui. The room was very comfortable and provided everything that you need, and was good value. My biggest criticism was that there was no window, only the patio door, and it had nos screen, so I wasn't comfortable leaving it open at night (worries about bugs, and as a New Yorker, worries about strangers :-) This made the room a bit hot. Steve gave me a fan which helped and I suggested he install a screen door (obvious it isn't going to cut a new window)...

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank metayel1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

I stayed alone with Steve and Ana for just three short days on Rapa Nui. They pick you up and drop you off at the airport, and they even give you a little tour of your surroundings upon arrival so you can get your bearings. Great stuff!

Great room. Great patio out back. All modern, all clean and new accommodations. Hot water. Soap/Shampoo. Complimentary tea/coffee in the room. Breakfast was varied and delicious, and they'll even make it to go for you when you want to see the sunrise between the moai on the other side of the island. Internet was spotty, but its an island in the middle of the pacific ocean....you won't be downloading movies here, but you'll get your email when you need it.

They set me up with a great native rapa nui guide, who then introduced me to many other rapa nui. It was wonderful. They even helped me get a discount on my ATV rental because they knew the workers!

I love the location. Its out of the main town and touristy areas. Instead, you live among Rapa Nui houses and get to at least see how some of the inhabitants live. Pretty cool.

Overall, the hotel and accommodations are perfectly in order, but their service is incredible and puts them over the top. Oh, and did I mention its extremely affordable? I paid only 70$ a night as a single traveler. With more, I imagine it increases for food, water, etc, but thats really really reasonable for Rapa Nui! Everything else will be expensive.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good! There are 3!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, UK
Level Contributor
98 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and it was terrific. Steve and Ana exceeded expectations in every area
- on pick up, we were given garlands and a tour of the town, pointing out where to eat, etc.
- breakfast was great and there was so much food on our last day we took some away and had it for lunch as well
- rooms are large, spotlessly clean and the little things (like well lined curtains) have been thought of
- on the first day, Steve asked how long we were staying and suggested an itinerary then every morning he met us again to offer more suggestions
- the tour he organised with another B&B owner was terrific and had only 1 other passenger - I felt really sorry for the tourists in the vans in tours of 20-30!

The only small caveat is that the B&B is a 15 minute walk from the town centre. We thought this was a very small price to pay but anyone with mobility problems should be aware of this.

Room Tip: Only three rooms, I think they are all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank willgo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
Level Contributor
95 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here in May. There are three rooms in a row, facing the host family's house. Located a few blocks from the main road where you can find a pharmacy, convenient stores, restaurants but far enough so it is always calm and quiet. In the opposite direction and still within a 10 min walk is Datai ahu, a great place for enjoying sunset. The host family is a French speaking husband and wife with 2 children. During our stay, only Ana, the wife, was around and French was the only language available! I speak non :-) luckily my partner is fluent in French. But I could tell Ana was a great host, always went the extra step to accommodate our requests. She is obviously very knowledgeable about the island and can arrange car rental, island tours, diving excursion, etc. Our room was spacious and clean. The only complaint is the short shower curtain that is barely adequate to keep the water from splashing all over and flooding the floor every time the shower is on. But it would be thoroughly clean by the time we come back in the evening. Breakfast was different each day and always satisfying. Over all a great pleasant stay!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nguyenntvu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

I stayed at Chez Steve for 3 nights in March 2013. The units are basic but very comfortable.

Steve and family are great hosts. They picked me up from the airport and gave me a quick tour of the city to show me the main sites, restaurants and other facilities.

They were also willing to answer questions and provide information about activities on the Island.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pafkac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

Stayed at Steve's for three nights. A clean room with a comfortable bed, fan, fridge. No AC, no heater, no TV. Basic breakfast is included. Every day Steve buys fresh bread from French bakery. It's very good!

Convenient location. 5 minutes walk from Ahu Tahai - the best spot for sunset photos on the Island. There is also a little private shop on the road (5 mins walk) that sells water, soft drinks, bakery, etc. closes at 10pm. Very helpful. The port is 15 mins walk. Restaurants, ATM, diving, etc located around the port. The Museum is located in 5-7 mins walk. I highly recommend to go to the museum as soon as you arrive (Entrance: $1000 pesos = $2 USD). It will provide you with introduction to the history of the Island, Moai and culture of Rapa Nui. There is the only moai eye found on the Island displayed in the museum. Also read the display by a female moai (interesting story). You will need about 45-60 mins for the museum. Also, I highly recommend to watch Rapa-Nui (1994) movie before going to Easter Island. My memories are vivid b/c of the movie.

Very kind hosting family! Ana (Steve's wife) and Noelany (daughter) have met me at the airport and gave me a brief tour of the city. Ana was very kind to help me with laundry, but didn't want to charge for that. Noelany booked a show for me. Steve helped to reserve a tour and rent a scooter, what I highly recommend to do if you are not renting a car. If you wanna see as much as possible, you must have wheels. Don't worry, it will be plenty of walking anyway. You have to park your car or scooter at the entrance to the parks or sights and walk/hike. A scooter was about $50 per day. Just a round trip to Ahu Tongariki 25-30km (the best spot for sunrise photos) by taxi will cost you more. But, you must go to other places as well (Anakena beach, Orango village, Rano Raraku, etc). Note, a scooter may not have working dashboard and may not have gas in tank. So, your first stop must be a gas station (which is very close to a rental office). A full tank of gas ($5-7) will be enough for two days of riding.

Wi-Fi/Internet was very weak, but I was able to receive and send emails from a smartphone. It seems like entire island uses one satellite antenna... So, there is nothing much can be done to fix that.

Some people have mentioned that Steve's English is not perfect. I didn't have any communication problems during my stay. He also speaks French and Spanish (!) You should know that Rapa Nui people prefer to speak Spanish (not English). Some knowledge of Spanish basics and a phrase book will help you on the Island. Also, Noelany's English is perfect. She gave me a cellphone (FREE) with her number in contacts in case I need any help. So there is NO PROBLEM at all with communications!

There are reviews on TripAdvisor with complains about small capacity of a water heater. Not true. I had no problem with that. It is a gas heater and it heats up water constantly when you turn a hot-water knob clockwise (ON). You will just need to wait a few minutes when it starts. Sometimes, when you turn a hot-water knob counterclockwise (e.g. to get less hot water), the heater may turn itself off. So it feels like hot water is gone. But, you will have to turn the knob clockwise again to turn it back on. You can hear how the unit is clicking when turning on and off. NO PROBLEM at all with hot water!

Don't worry. Book with confidence. Highly recommend!

If this review was helpful, please click on "Yes" below.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 69w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanga Roa hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
0.7 mi away
Taura'a Hotel
Taura'a Hotel
#4 of 15 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 15 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mana Nui Inn
Mana Nui Inn
#12 of 15 in Hanga Roa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.8 mi away
Taha Tai Hotel
Taha Tai Hotel
#7 of 15 in Hanga Roa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cabanas Christophe
Cabanas Christophe
#1 of 34 in Hanga Roa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Steve Residencia Kyle Mio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Steve Residencia Kyle Mio

Property: Chez Steve Residencia Kyle Mio
Address: Sector Tahai, Hanga Roa, Easter Island, Chile
Region: Chile > Easter Island > Hanga Roa
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Hanga Roa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chez Steve Residencia Kyle Mio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chez Steve Residencia Kyle Mio Easter Island/Hanga Roa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing