We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than expected” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Hanga Roa
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

I booked this hotel months in advance 'stayed over Christmas) and was a bit reticent given some of the comments on TA. But it seems that any teething troubles they might have had have been sorted out. The service was simple but efficient and friendly. We stayed on a B&B basis, but had no problem eating at both restaurants whenever we wanted. They even served one lunch by the pool for us. The food was really rather good.
My 2 children and I stayed in a Ma'unga suite which was brilliant. Very light and airy, well furnished and masses of space. A small dressing room, two toilets, one bath tub and a separate shower. The only odd thing was that there was no door to separate the bedroom from the bathroom - all open plan. What was the architect thinking of? There was a small kitchen area, with an Illy espresso machine - fantastic!
We had a couple of small problems in the room and both were sorted out by maintenance within 10 minutes. Can't ask for more.
Can't say anything about their excursions as I took a private guide.

Room Tip: Our suite was quite a way from the reception are but we still had a very good wi-fi connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    90
    36
    10
    13
See reviews for
80
163
35
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

The eco, earthy and elegant feel of the hotel is refreshing. Rooms are spacious, beautiful and comfortable. The staff is really dedicated to customer service even if they don't always get it quite right. They want to and are eager to learn and grow. Sometimes things don't always happen on time and the internet can be elusive when the hotel is full, but it all works out in the end. The food is getting better each time I visit. I will come back to this place again and again. Lynn Garrison

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
132 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

the place in renovated to the highest class.
rooms are amezing (we had 2 kaniga rooms)
food/cook excellent ,we ate too much...
matress firm and confi.
the ocean view and the wine selection...
go there..

Room Tip: all rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LosAngelesSnagov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

My wife and I concluded a South American holiday which gave us an insight to a number of top flight hotels and Hotel Hanga Roa Eco Village was by far the best. On entering we were offered refreshments and sat in comfort while passport details were taken which was in stark contrast to having stand at the Concierge's desk.

Design innovation throughout and functionality within the rooms are combined with a nod to history. This innovation includes grassed-over roofs on the suites which helps with maintaining a comfortable environment inside.

Its aspect is enhanced by its location, which is ideal for those who like to watch the sun set over the Pacific while it is an easy walk to the town centre. We found much to explore in close proximity which we didn't encounter on several guided tours.

The staff were universally friendly and courteous. We ate at the buffet each morning and had some meals in the restaurant/bar of an evening, finding the service comparable to other hotels we had stayed at.


.

Room Tip: We had a room on the eastern side overlooking the ocean and although there was a road nearby we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevepollard1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Hanga Roa, Eco Village and Spa Hotel is the most beautiful and well-located hotel in Easter Island. It is a new resort, consisting in 77 individual suites with terraces aligned in 2 rows facing the ocean, that resemble the cottages of the Rapanui people. With an incredible architectural design made with huge, knotty cypress logs brought from the south of Chile, grass rooftops and dark, volcanic rock in some of the walls, show respect for the surrounding environment and is something that stands out. Amazing ocean views from every part of this property, that is walking distance from the main road were you can find nice handicrafts to take back home; also, it is just 5 mins. from Mataveri airport. The rooms are big, beautiful and very comfortable, with led lights, A/C, minibar, coffee and tea, a terrace, and details like built-in furniture and a lovely ceramic tub, with the best bedding and towels. There is no TV in the room (something we didn't miss at all, as there is a lot to do outdoors) and the breakfast buffet was good. Set-backs in this hotel are the slow service in the restaurant as it seems there are not enough employees, (this applies for the room service too), no internet in our room though we were supposedly "connected", no brochures in the room with information of the hotel, tours, services, prices, etc. The fact that the manager was recently appointed and taking over, explains some of these flaws that may be easily corrected, as they have what it takes. Great hotel experience in a remote island that is a real adventure to discover. Lovely!

Room Tip: Try to get a room as close as possible to the reception, if you don't like to walk. Every cottag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lily-Mario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

We stayed at Hotal Hangaroa for one night (we had bad luck with the Air BNB we were supposed to stay it and our guide got us into Hotel Hangaroa). Let me say that the property is pretty neat - the point of the design is to "blend into the landscape" like the ancient villages did. It is on the ocean and within walking distance of town. After one mediocre night at one hotel and one really bad night at our Air BNB, this place was amazing! :) As soon as you walk into your room, you get that overall, "Ahhhh!!" feeling! The rooms are pretty spacious and very clean. The towels are oversized and soft. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms are beautiful.

As far as the restaurants go - like another reviewer said, the service is SLOW. It took a long time for the waitress to come to our table after we first sat down. We got one menu (looked like a fixed three-course menu), but other people got what looked like a full menu. Not sure why there was a difference and our Spanish wasn't good enough to try to ask. I ordered the vegetarian lasagna (that's what the menu said) and when it finally got to the table, it had chicken in it. Since it had taken SO long to get the food, I opted to just pick the chicken out instead of sending it back. It would've taken another hour to get a truly vegetarian plate and who knows if it would've been vegetarian! (Total dinner time was 2 hours). Breakfast the next morning was a nice buffet. Again, service was slow. We just helped ourself to the food and finally called a waitress over for coffee because one never came over on her own. The frustrating thing about taking so long to eat is that we wanted to see Rapa Nui - not sit in a hotel restaurant and eat.

There is Wifi on the property - I think we had ONE bar for ONE minute in our room. It worked well in the restaurant. (Sadly, we used our long wait time at the restaurants to check emails).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarrieMississippi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
135 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

This is the best hotel on Easter Island but compared to others in the world, needs a little work. The rooms are kind of funky in design with an organic look. For instance the bathroom sinks are black vessel type that looked volcanic. The electrical is a little tricky and can go off sometimes. Although we had a suite, the bathroom was right off the bedroom with no door between so if someone is sleeping the other person is washing up in the dark. At least the toilet was in a separate room. The pool is quite nice and we had a view of it from our room. There is a road that runs alongside but wasn't noisy. The food was good quality and Easter Island is a wonderful place. There isn't much choice on the island so I would recommend this if you're going there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Openstudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanga Roa
5.0 mi away
explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
#1 of 23 in Easter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 14 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hare Noi
Hare Noi
#3 of 14 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Taura'a Hotel
Taura'a Hotel
#4 of 14 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Rapa Nui
Hotel Rapa Nui
#7 of 14 in Hanga Roa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taha Tai Hotel
Taha Tai Hotel
#8 of 14 in Hanga Roa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa

Property: Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
Address: Av. Pont, Hanga Roa, Easter Island, Chile
Phone Number:
Region: Chile > Easter Island > Hanga Roa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hanga Roa
#2 Family Hotel in Hanga Roa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa, the newest hotel property on Easter Island located just a 5-minute walk from the island's only town, Hanga Roa. It features 75 elegant and smartly decorated rooms, the Poerava and Kaloa restaurants, the deluxe Manavai Spa, an outdoor swimming pool and its Vaikoa bar, a reading room and excursion center, a 60-person auditorium, and a 300-person conference space for cultural seminars, dance and music presentations or corporate meetings. The Hangaroa sits high on a dramatic, steep-sloped cliff facing the Pacific Ocean, and all guestrooms boast panoramic windows and terraces with sea views. The Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa offers "B&B" rates for lodging and breakfast only, and "Premium" packages that include lodging, excursions and all meals and beverages. Each detail of the hotel's architectural design and functionality is cutting edge. Inspired by the Orongo ceremonial village and site of the island's Bird Man ritual, all of the walls are curved and topped with grass roofs. Theyfavor natural light and landscaping of local flora and fauna that allow the hotel to artfully blend into its natural environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hangaroa Hotel Hanga Roa
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa Easter Island/Hanga Roa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing