We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for Rapa Nui”
Review of Taura'a Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Taura'a Hotel
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Hanga Roa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Everything is on your doorstep, restaurants, shops and tours.
Family room makes for a very affordable base for exploring this extraordinary island.
Good breakfast sets you up for day's exploring, and the guides they arrange are first class.
Definitely a great way to visit Rapa Nui.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank foliumnondefluet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2012

We had booked on the Internet and have no direct communication with the owners yet were met at the airport by Edith with flower garlands for us. We had not requested the transfer to the hotel and so this was a very nice initial contact with the owner.
Our room was at the back and away from the street. It was very quiet and pleasant (apart from the snoring guests in the room next door about which the owners could clearly do nothing) . The amenities were adequate and met our expectations given the remote location. We did not expect a fancy bathroom etc
The breakfast was as good as other reviewers say. Again small touches such as fresh lemongrass in the teapot and a small flower to garnish each dish enhanced our experience.
We do not meet Bill but found Edith and her daughter and her sister to be extremely personable and helpful. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MoonrakerRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

The hotel is certainly not luxurious, but it fits the bill for Easter Island - great location for tourists (right on the main street), excellent breakfast, attentive service in the mornings, and a reasonable price (plus TripAdvisor discount!).

The breakfasts were beyond delicious (homemade fruit smoothies, bread and jams, omelets, crepes, eggs & ham, cereals, coffee, tea, etc) and kept us full until 4:00 or 5:00 at night, saving us money on lunch.

I highly recommend taking the full day (Southwest) tour offered by Taura'a, as it offered a great overview of the island and set us up nicely to be able to explore the island on our own the next two days ($60 USD per person when we went, and we were led by a Rapa Nui guide with 7 total Americans on the tour).

I was fine with having no TV, but my friend was expecting one, so just know that in advance (there are also no radios or clocks in the rooms, so come prepared). The hotel wifi is very slow (so slow I couldn't even send a single picture via email or watch a youtube video uninterrupted), but it's free and is fast enough to check email and websites.

The rooms had wood floors and were on the chilly/damp side in July, but, again, all of Easter Island is very rustic and a plush, carpeted, modern hotel room would have felt out of place!

Edith (owner) and Bill were helpful and sweet; they are around in the weekday mornings until 10:00 but after that the hotel is pretty deserted (e.g. no one staffs the office all day). If you need anything for exploring on your own, just ask! Bill offered us flashlights when we said we'd be exploring the cave, and Edith offered us beach towels when we were headed to the beach. However, just a word of caution: Edith's sister owns the hotel/restaurant next door, so Edith recommended very strongly that we eat there (without telling us that it was her sister's place). We did, and it was a huge rip-off and really bad food.

Room Tip: Get a room that's NOT facing the main street (very loud)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank psiloveya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We could not have made a better choice than Taura'a; the warm hospitality, the perfect trips organized by Bill, the spacious room, and the excellent breakfasts have made our six days on Easter Island a most enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcm_boticelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

This ranks in our top three destinations ever and it is due in part to the wonderful accommodations and service at this fantastic b&b. If I had it to do over, we would stay here again, only longer!

The breakfasts were delicious, the hotel services were above and beyond our expectations and they gave us perfect advice to make our stay the greatest ever!

In addition, they have a tour office next door which made getting a guide easy and perfect. We had a private guide for the two of us who gave us detailed explanations and drove us around in a jeep. It was the best and reasonably priced.

Can't say enough about the place and the owners and family. Incredible service, b&b and made our trip one of the best.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

enjoyed the clean rooms, hot showers, fridge, very comfortable beds, and excellent breakfast every morning. wonderful real coffee ! Edith, Bill and family were welcoming and helpful regarding travel and touring around the island. great location with young children, we could easily walk everywhere in town.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We were in Hanga Roa in April and stayed at the Taura'a. The owners are wonderful, breakfast was great and the rooms were clean and pleasant. It was all you could ask in terms of location in town, parking was available and the other travelers were pleasant.
We will go back if we ever get back to Easter Island!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SBMNm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanga Roa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 16 in Hanga Roa
293 reviews
0.2 mi away
Taha Tai Hotel
Taha Tai Hotel
#7 of 16 in Hanga Roa
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tea Nui - Cabanas y Habitaciones
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rapa Nui
Hotel Rapa Nui
#8 of 16 in Hanga Roa
343 reviews
4.6 mi away
explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
#1 of 24 in Easter Island
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taura'a Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taura'a Hotel

Address: Atamu Tekena s/n, Hanga Roa, Easter Island 2770000, Chile
Region: Chile > Easter Island > Hanga Roa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hanga Roa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hanga Roa
Price Range: £121 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Taura'a Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tauraa Hotel, is locate in the center of town, run by rapanui family, we specialice in english speaking guest and also our staff speak french and spanish, the rooms are large,comfortable with private bathrooms,has a fridge,cieling fans,hair dryer,safe beach towel and coffee making facilities in rooms. Close to all amenities and just a short walking to Pea Beach and Tahai the most complete archaeological sites in town, also free wifi and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Taura'a Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tauraa Hotel Hanga Roa
Taura'a Hotel Easter Island/Hanga Roa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing