We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience. We were treated like family.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taura'a Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Taura'a Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Hanga Roa
Certificate of Excellence
Santiago, Chile
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience. We were treated like family.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

Edith met us at the airport with the most beautiful flower leis. She helped us plan our stay so we had all the most significant experiences and ate at the best restaurants. For our family of four the family room was spacious and comfortable. The hotel grounds are full of beautiful flowers. The location is very convenient to everything.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebChile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
editheasterisland, Propietario at Taura'a Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Iorana
Thank you for your comments, as the hotel is run by family it has a family enviroment, and the large room are idea for this purposes and the island is wonderfull to explore in a small group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    106
    26
    13
    11
See reviews for
80
167
69
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Hotel is located in the center of the town with a nice garden and great room. Just a few steps walk to ATM, post office and restuarants. Hotel provide very good island tour at reasonable price, driver and guide speaks good English and really help us (not many people speaks good English here) Edith is extremely nice, she replied all our Email promptly and spoke very good English, everything was very well organized before our arrival. The wifi on island is not good, but here you can get very good signal.
All-in-all, it's a good hotel and you MUST stay here. Mauruuru Edith and I'll give you my "FREE HUG".

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eboy1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
editheasterisland, Propietario at Taura'a Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Iorana
Thank you for your comments, we are so please you enjoy your stay in Tauraa and the island so much as you can tell by your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Edith and Bill were amazing hosts. The service, cleanliness and comfort were just what we needed. All arrangements went smoothly. Edith gave us lots of recommendations for where to go and eat and all did not disappoint!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DLuloff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
editheasterisland, Propietario at Taura'a Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Iorana
Thank you for your comments, when we recomend services outside of Tauraa, we only recomend a bussiness that can offer quality and servces as this is very important for us that you enjoy our island to the maximun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Very welcoming, clean, bright place.
The included breakfast is wonderful.
Edith & Bill are friendly and helpful.

Edith will organize any of the many tours available, with local guides who are very knowledgeable and speak many languages - if you wish she will also help you rent a car.

All in all a great place to spend a week! Enjoyed it immensely

Dave

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Dumbtwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
editheasterisland, Propietario at Taura'a Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Iorana
Thank you for your comments, Tauraa is a family run hotel, and the family take great pride in looking after our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

The staff - namely Edith - was exceptionally involved in making our trip one to remember. She helped us with all inquiries and went above and beyond to ensure we had a wonderful stay. She gave us the tips and suggestions we needed and arranged our tours and activities. The ambiance was one of relaxation, and the food was delicious and healthy.
The hotel is conveniently located in Hanga Roa, a walking distance from the seaside restaurants and dive shops.
The rooms are simple and comfortable, and appear new. Anyone traveling to Easter Island should expect to hear roosters and dogs, and to experience a slow Internet connection. These do not affect the hotel's quality and personal touch.
We were very happy with our stay and would gladly return to Taura'a.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dani L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
editheasterisland, Propietario at Taura'a Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Iorana Thank you for your comments, all our staff work very hard to make sure your stay in rapanui is wonderfull, the staff also enjoy sharing the culture of the island with the guest.
mauruuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
196 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Having just left the hotel there's not much else nice I can say that hasn't already been said. The hotel pickup and drop off went smoothly. The grounds were appropriately tropical. My room, while basic, was very clean and functional. (no lizards, no bugs) The bed was comfortable. The linen was in good shape. The mini fridge stayed cool. Hot water and water pressure were plentiful. The served breakfast was very good, which included an entire, fresh, French baguette and their breakfast black tea had just a hint of fresh lemongrass. (It was the owners secret ingredient) I didn't get the chance to use their in-house tour guides because I had booked with Green Island Tours several months earlier. (What a great day we had) The hotel guides seemed nice from the conversations I overheard while eating breakfast. The room rates must have changed since my original booking, but the owner took me at my word when I questioned the bill. (I had the email) She was gracious and redid my bill without any issues.
I forgot to tell them that fan in room two was making an annoying tap tap tapping noise the first night, then a constant grinding noise the second night. Luckily it was cool enough both nights that I didn't need the fan, otherwise I would have had to change rooms. Only one suggestion for improvement, soft soled shoes for the Edith, the owner. The clomp clomp clomping of her shoes on the tile floors..., well you get the idea. (Sorry Edith)
If asked, I definitely would suggest this hotel to friends and strangers.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank tonetone2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
editheasterisland, Propietario at Taura'a Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Iorana
Thnak you for your comments, you are right the hotel is not a 5 star but it is comfortable , clean and very well locate , we try to give our guest 5 star service, anythings mecanic on the islanf has a very short life and we are due to replace the fans yet again with night time temperature of 20 degress celsius are very comfortable.
mauruuru,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

I was distressed to read the Moscow review since we stayed here three years ago and it was absolutely wonderful. No, it is not fancy but for our family of four it was perfect. Great location and wonderful owners. We stayed four days and were very glad we did since it gave us much more opportunity to go for walks, go to church, and meet so many fine people. This hotel was a wonderful base.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rocket7893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
editheasterisland, Propietario at Taura'a Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Iorana
Thank you for your comments, and answering the moscu comments, as you will know it is not possible to please all the people all the time, We think Mr. Moscu was on the wrong island due to lack of research as the island did not live up to his expectation.It is wonderfull you are still reading the comments after 3 years. honestly rapanui did live up your expectation.
mauruuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanga Roa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 14 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
4.6 mi away
explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
#1 of 23 in Easter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Taha Tai Hotel
Taha Tai Hotel
#8 of 14 in Hanga Roa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rapa Nui
Hotel Rapa Nui
#6 of 14 in Hanga Roa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hare Noi
Hare Noi
#3 of 14 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taura'a Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taura'a Hotel

Property: Taura'a Hotel
Address: Atamu Tekena s/n, Hanga Roa, Easter Island 2770000, Chile
Region: Chile > Easter Island > Hanga Roa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hanga Roa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hanga Roa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Taura'a Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tauraa Hotel, is locate in the center of town, run by rapanui family, we specialice in english speaking guest and also our staff speak french and spanish, the rooms are large,comfortable with private bathrooms,has a fridge,cieling fans,hair dryer,safe beach towel and coffee making facilities in rooms. Close to all amenities and just a short walking to Pea Beach and Tahai the most complete archaeological sites in town, also free wifi and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Taura'a Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tauraa Hotel Hanga Roa
Taura'a Hotel Easter Island/Hanga Roa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing