We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best? You Bet'cha. Hands Down.”
Review of Taura'a Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Taura'a Hotel
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Hanga Roa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Hotel Taura'a is located right in the heart of downtown Hanga Roa on Av. Atamu Tekena but is tucked far enough back from the main thoroughfare that you can count on quiet nights and on being able to laze around peacefully in the gardens in front of the main house without there being any unwarranted or unwelcome distraction. The rooms are big, open and airy (as are the bathrooms) with ~beautiful~ TALL ceilings and have plenty of windows (many with gorgeous views of the hills in the northeast). Despite their seeming cavernous, the rooms feel comfortable and cozy. You'll feel at home in no time; especially given the warm welcome Edith and Bill extend starting the minute you step out of the airport. Seriously, Edith and Bill are honest gems. They're great people, both with very interesting stories. Both Bill and his friend Larry, who does GREAT, one of a kind tours (HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!) chock full of character and wit, were involved in filming the historical drama/action adventure movie "Rapa-Nui" (1994) . . . Beyond its great rooms and its genuine, down-to-earth and warm owners (I don't think I can wax enough about how great everyone at Taura'a is), the hotel also has one other very, very important thing going for it: location, location, location. The Hotel is located near some of Hanga Roa's best restaurants, including Izakaya Kotaro and Kanahau, and is minutes from Mokomae's tattoo parlor and what is, in my opinion, the best artisanal shop on the island: Luis Tomas Pate Riroroco's Artesania Vai Teka, where I picked up a handsome - really, stunning - mo'ai kavakava carving as beautiful as the one on display in the Museo Antropológico "Sebastián Englert". The hotel is also located, essentially, right next door to Ballet Kari Kari where you can hunker down and watch a traditional dance-and-music show. There's also a supermercado just across the street from the hotel where you can pick up any essentials you forgot to bring with you from the mainland. Everything aside, if I had to try and sum up what I've been saying it would be "Stay Here!" Whether you're planning on dropping in on Easter Island for a couple of days or for a couple of weeks, this is the place to set up shop and soak in the best the island has to offer.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akramarczuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
editheasterisland, Propietario at Taura'a Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Iorana
Thank you for your wonderful informative comments, it is very helpful<to people planing they stay on the island to read tripadvisor, your comments about the hotel are greatly apreciate and we are please you and your family enjoy the island so much.
mauruuru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

Karen and her parents made our stay on Rapa Nui (Easter Island / Isla de Pasqua) just wonderful.

I can't say enough about how friendly they were. From the moment we arrived at the airport and she was waiting for us to take us to the hotel I knew I had made the right choice. Breakfast every morning was just wonderful. The freshly baked bread and fresh mango shakes was our favorite!!

The rooms are clean and spacious. Keep in mind it is not 5 star. Almost everything on the island is a bit older and not fancy, BUT the service was 5 star. If I come back one day, I wouldn't consider staying anywhere but at Taura'a Hotel.

Thanks for a wonderful stay!!

Room Tip: I recommend room 1 if possible. Great location and view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RichRRodriguez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
editheasterisland, Propietario at Taura'a Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Iorana
Thank you for your comments, Tauraa is a family run bussiness and the whole family works to try and make sure you have a wonderful stay on the island.We recomend local bussiness that we know will look after our guest .
mauruuru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I went as a solo traveler to Easter Island and stayed at Taura'a Hotel in April. There are plenty of more expensive options on Easter Island, but if you want reasonably-priced accommodation with a friendly atmosphere, then Taura'a can't be bettered. The tours of the island offered by the hotel's tour guide are excellent, well-informed and good fun, and Bill and Edith are more than willing to give you recommendations of what else to do on the island whilst you're there.

The room itself is basic, but I didn't need anything else as I spent most days out and about exploring anyway. The service, however, is second-to-none and both Bill and Edith genuinely care about their guests having a good time.

Location-wise you're a ten-minute walk from the harbour and numerous restaurants and bars. Couldn't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ben F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
editheasterisland, Propietario at Taura'a Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Iorana
Thank you for your comments about the island as you have said it is very important to us you enjoy this wonderful and misteries island for us it is a pleasure to look after our guest and show them the island we both love.
mauruuru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We recently stayed almost a week at the Taura'a Hotel and enjoyed it immensely. We had considered one of the more expensive possibilities on the island and are so glad we decided to go with something homier and just generally more relaxing. The location in town, around the corner from the main street, is perfect for getting around, and the lovely front garden with beautiful views of the hills is a great place to relax. Edith and Bill are great people and fine hosts. They took care of all our tourist arrangements, tours and car rental and generally enabled us to have a wonderful, relaxing stay. Breakfasts are fabulous, and our room was spacious, comfortable and well equipped. This was a great place from which to explore one of the most fascinating places on the planet.

Room Tip: We and our friends stayed in rooms 1 and 2 which share a patio overlooking the front lawn and garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LLKCVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
editheasterisland, Propietario at Taura'a Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Iorana
Thank you for your comments, we at Tauraa get a great deal of pleasure when our guest truly enjoy they stay on easter island.
Today, services facilities has a high standar, considering the total isolating of the island, and is good advice to listen to the local people when it come to choosing services as sometimes they can be off the differents standard.
mauruuru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I stayed at the Taura'a with my 6-year-old son for 3 days. Really enjoyed everything about the hotel and Easter Island. Per the last review, there are no frills. Bill summed it up for us by saying "3-star hotel, 10-star service". The location is great - we walked down to the water and restaurants multiple times a day, and the closest major Moai site is only 10 minutes or so from the hotel on foot.

Breakfasts and coffee were enjoyable. They brought my son cereal and fruit every day, since he doesn't like eggs. I loved the omelettes and crepes.

As his normal guides were busy, Bill took us around the island for a day. Excellent tour. He knew (of course) the perfect photo ops and light. Really enjoyed the conversation too. And all of the restaurants he recommended were excellent. In fact, we never had a bad meal on the island.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelBabbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
editheasterisland, Propietario at Taura'a Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Iorana
Thank you for your comments, as your comments suggest the hotel is 3 star clean and very comfortable, with the best service we can provide on the island, this include tours, and advice on restaurants,car rental, diving, horseriding etc. to make sure that you get the best possible experience out of your short stay on the island.
mauruuru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Taura'a Hotel. Bill and Edith are lovely people. Upon arrival we were given a fresh guava juice to drink and then Bill took us for a short drive around Hanga Roa. Bill offered to organise a tour of the island for us and also arranged for us to hire the hotel's car for $50 USD for a half day and $100 USD for a full day. Petrol was extra. Bill also made some suggestions for restaurants which we appreciated. We tried out the restaurants he suggested and they were terrific.

Our room was clean and spacious. However there was no television and the wifi is poor. My biggest issue with the room was the hot water takes FOREVER to come on. I'd literally turn the hot water tap on in the shower and wait 5 - 10 minutes for it to get hot. I'm not sure why this was. We soon learnt to turn the hot water on first, wait for it to get hot and and then get undressed otherwise you'd stand there freezing waiting for it.

The included breakfast was good but also a little strange as there was no choice. When you go up to reception for breakfast you are not asked what you'd like or what is available, you are just given a plate of food. On our first day we were given omelettes with fruit and a huge pot of delicious coffee. The freshly baked bread was great after not eating any decent bread for 3 weeks prior whilst in Peru. My partner is allergic to cheese and wasn't asked if he'd like cheese in his omelette, it was just put in front of him. He ate it in order to not be impolite and did his best to scrap out the cheese. I'm vegetarian and mentioned this when I arrived at Taura'a so I was given an omelette without ham on the first day. On the next day we were given pancakes - again, we weren't asked what we'd like, we were just given it. The pancakes were amazing and the fruit was so yummy. On our third day I really wanted the pancakes again and I was hoping we'd get asked what we'd like. Nope... we got omelettes and this time they forgot that I didn't eat meat so I was given an omelette full of ham. I had to ask for another one which I felt bad about. I think it'd be a good change if they at least let people know what the breakfast is for that day before bringing it out. That way people can decide if they want it or not or mention that they'd not like cheese, ham etc.

On our second night there, there was a blackout. Bill brought us battery powered lamps without us even having to ask! It was so nice and thoughtful of him and we really appreciated it.

I'd definitely recommend Taura'a Hotel if you are looking for a no frills hotel in a great location close to the main area of Hanga Roa. The food is really good even though there is no choice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Peta_and_Jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
editheasterisland, Propietario at Taura'a Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Iorana
Thank you , for your comments we try to address any problem that occur to our guest, hot water is a problem on the island as there is a lot of salt in the town water, so it is necessary to the hot water tap on full to overcome this problem and adjust the cold water to it, normally we advice the guest of this. The vast majority of the time we now ask our guest what they would like for breakfast from what is available.We are glad you enjoy your stay on easter island
mauruuru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Edith and Bill made this a perfect allbeit short stay on Easter Island. Met by Bill at the airport and taken on a short tour of hango rao before checking in. Everything at the hotel is as described in previous reviews. Quiet, restful atmosphere. Fantastic breakfast. And best of all Bill and Edith's unintrusive assistance with anything you need. Forget the resorts stay here!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SailnMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
editheasterisland, Propietario at Taura'a Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Iorana
Thank you for your comments, 3 days is just enough time to experience the island but not the culture and so as a family run hotel we try to give you the feeling of the rapanui people as well as the misteries.
mauruuru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanga Roa hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 16 in Hanga Roa
306 reviews
0.2 mi away
Taha Tai Hotel
Taha Tai Hotel
#5 of 16 in Hanga Roa
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Easter Island Eco Lodge
Easter Island Eco Lodge
#9 of 16 in Hanga Roa
353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tea Nui - Cabanas y Habitaciones
1.4 mi away
Hotel Hare Boutik
Hotel Hare Boutik
#3 of 16 in Hanga Roa
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taura'a Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taura'a Hotel

Address: Atamu Tekena s/n, Hanga Roa, Easter Island 2770000, Chile
Region: Chile > Easter Island > Hanga Roa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hanga Roa
Price Range: £119 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Taura'a Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tauraa Hotel, is locate in the center of town, run by rapanui family, we specialice in english speaking guest and also our staff speak french and spanish, the rooms are large,comfortable with private bathrooms,has a fridge,cieling fans,hair dryer,safe beach towel and coffee making facilities in rooms. Close to all amenities and just a short walking to Pea Beach and Tahai the most complete archaeological sites in town, also free wifi and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Taura'a Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tauraa Hotel Hanga Roa
Taura'a Hotel Easter Island/Hanga Roa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing