We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You don't come here for the hotel.”
Review of Taura'a Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Taura'a Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Hanga Roa
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“You don't come here for the hotel.”
Reviewed 11 March 2009

You don't come to Easter Island for the hotel and there's not to many to choose anyway. The hotel is a nice place to come back to after exploring the Island, it has everything you will need for your stay.
People are so friendly and Easter Island is one of the most amazing places to see, bit of a problem to get to we connected in Lima, Peru which is about a 6 hour flight.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scharn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    106
    26
    13
    11
See reviews for
81
167
69
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2009

There`s nothing wrong with the Tauraa, but nothing special about it, and at $157, it`s grossly overpriced, even by Easter Island standards.
The location is central. The room was OK, but there was no effort to make it cozy. One of the owners, Bill, made an effort to be friendly, but the rest of the staff were not very pleasant. The breakfast is quite good.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tnbms162016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Flores, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2009

I stayed here for 10 days in 2008 and loved it for its location, friendly and very competent staff, and cleanliness, as well as great breakfasts! So, back here again in 2009 for 2 weeks for another thoroughly enjoyable visit. Bill & Edith, the owners, are wonderful people, as are Edith's sisters who help run the hotel. I never had a bill problem on either visit (paid with AMEX both times). Re the comment about ants, yes they sometimes visit your room, as they do at my current house in California and previous one in Texas. A word to one of the staff and they come right over and spray the affected area. End of problem.

Another benefit for me as a single traveler is the ease of meeting other guests at this hotel. Everyone seems to inherit the friendliness of the Rapa Nui people, so you rarely have to dine alone. A final word: if you are looking for 5+ star elegance, don't even bother with Easter Island - it is not a place for you. Go to Dubai and spend your $1000 per night. However, if you are looking for a wonderfully unforgettable experience of a lifetime, this is your destination, and Taura'a is the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEDeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2009

We were aware of the credit card fee, so we decided to pay our bill in cash. Our bill for 6 nights (70,000 pesos/night), including two excellent island tours, came to 599,775. This also included a 10% gratuity, which I have never seen on a hotel bill; however, we didn’t argue it. We didn’t have enough pesos left, so paid in American dollars.

Edith (the proprietor) wasn’t having a great morning and recalculated the bill several times before coming up with an amount of $1,185 US. It was time to leave to go to the airport, so we paid the bill and went on our way. At the airport, we realized the conversion didn’t make sense. Our bill should have been less than $1,000. We looked for a phone at the airport, but there weren’t any so we waited until we got to Santiago to email Edith about the mistake.

The following is her response which makes absolutely no sense…

“when we convert dollars to pesos we multiply that by the rate that the dollar is worth
wich was 635, in dollars it aded up to 1,185 so when i converted the dollars to pesos it all aded up to $752.475 pesos”

Using her conversion rate of 635 pesos to $1 we came up with $945. I have no idea why she converted back to pesos again. If your bill is 599,775 pesos, how does it end up at 752,475 pesos?

We replied that this didn’t make sense. We had been overcharged by $240 and how would she like to handle it. We haven’t heard from her since and I am sure we won’t.

That aside, the Hotel Taura’a is nice and the people are nice; however, I don’t think it rates the rave reviews it has been getting. Our room was plagued with small ants and, as there are no screens on the windows, each morning we found several large roaches in the room.

Would we return to Easter Island? Absolutely! Would we stay at the Hotel Taura’a? Absolutely not.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joytrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2009

The place is nice and clean although noisy since it is close to the main street.
We reserved via email and thanks god we kept the copy. The bill at the end was 50% higher, plus a 10% service charge (it is customary in Chili but not on hotels), plus a 10% surcharge for paying with credit card (it is also customary to charge 3 to 10% on credit card on the island, one way the places exploit tourism since there is no ATM...). Ouch.
My impression is that since they got a Trip Advisor award in 2008 (the mention is all over the place) they thought they can behave like a 4 star hotel.
At the current price there are much better places on Easter island, especially now when they have build serious overcapacity.

Stayed February 2009
Helpful?
3 Thank Globalbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york new york
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2009

After a few nights at a guesthouse -- which was booked for the remainder of our trip -- we moved to Tauraa. The hotel is clean with spacious rooms centered on a garden. the staff seemed very nice and were friendly. However the hotel is a bit noisy with dogs barking at night & roosters crowing in the early morning. A family with a cranky toddler & crying infant in the room next door didn't help matters. Also if you want to go to sites early in the morning breakfast is a problem as service starts at 8:30 (and there is no place in town open earlier for coffee). The hotel's central location is a positive if you don't have transportation.

  • Liked — size & cleanliness of the rooms
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newyorker59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2009

Owners Bill and Edith were both away during our stay but the hotel was more than ably run by a number of Edith's sisters, one of whom met us at the airport. Very clean, airy rooms, superb cooked breakfasts with variety every day, and a terrific location only 10 minutes' walk from the harbour area. The hotel organises its own small minibus tours of the island - a West coast tour and a South coast tour - both are well worth doing and our guide was fantastically well informed and interesting. On our last day we decided to return to the quarry we'd visited but under our own steam and hired a jeep for a few hours - there are several hire car options on the main street by the hotel. A really fantastic place to stay, cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Liked — Location, atmosphere, friendliness, the breakfasts
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Spinnaker47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanga Roa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 15 in Hanga Roa
282 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
0.2 mi away
Taha Tai Hotel
Taha Tai Hotel
#6 of 15 in Hanga Roa
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hare Noi
Hare Noi
#3 of 15 in Hanga Roa
234 reviews
4.6 mi away
explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
#1 of 23 in Easter Island
429 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rapa Nui
Hotel Rapa Nui
#8 of 15 in Hanga Roa
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taura'a Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taura'a Hotel

Property: Taura'a Hotel
Address: Atamu Tekena s/n, Hanga Roa, Easter Island 2770000, Chile
Region: Chile > Easter Island > Hanga Roa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hanga Roa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hanga Roa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Taura'a Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tauraa Hotel, is locate in the center of town, run by rapanui family, we specialice in english speaking guest and also our staff speak french and spanish, the rooms are large,comfortable with private bathrooms,has a fridge,cieling fans,hair dryer,safe beach towel and coffee making facilities in rooms. Close to all amenities and just a short walking to Pea Beach and Tahai the most complete archaeological sites in town, also free wifi and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Taura'a Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tauraa Hotel Hanga Roa
Taura'a Hotel Easter Island/Hanga Roa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing