We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It”
Review of Chez Jerome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chez Jerome
Ranked #10 of 34 Hanga Roa B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We stayed at Chez Jerome for 3 nights in August. We took the 3 day package which included breakfasts, all dinners, and 2x 1/2 day tours and a full day tour. We're so glad we did! We saw all that the island has to offer and met some fabulous people along the way. Jerome has lived on the island for over 18 years and has taken a vested interest in the islands heritage and its people. Room was basic, but comfortable and roomy and very clean. Dinners were delicious home cooked meals and the pisco sours before dinner were fabulous! Had a brilliant time - thanks again Jerome :-)

Room Tip: Rooms cleaned daily and quite spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharlsG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2011

We stayed at Chez Jerome for a week in June. The dinners by Ricardo were remarkable and gave us a chance to sit down and chat with the other guests. Although we do not speak French (which the rest of the guests did), everyone, including Jerome, made us feel very welcome. Jerome conducted the tours in both French and English. Chez Jerome is a 45 minute hike to the Rano Kau crater which is a spectacular sight. Chez Jerome is also within walking distance of the village, although there are many taxis available. Jerome was also helpful organizing our horseback ride and returning our rental car when we weren’t able to return it ourselves. We had a nice combination of both organized activities and free days and Jerome made very good recommendations for things to do and places to eat on our free days.

Pisco Sours were also incredible!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toronto_Blueberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

The moment we met our host Jerome we felt accepted / welcomed. He has only 4 rooms and treats all the guests like family.

The guesthouse is out of the village, but in walking distance (taxi is cheap too). Rooms are simple and very clean. Bathroom is excellent (in Easter Island standards).

Jerome does excellent island tour, you'll see all the important moai statues and have plenty of good photo opportunities. He also knows other interesting places and good restaurants in the island. You can eat at the guesthouse, food is very tasty (+good value).

Definitely yes.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taavitoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

We just got back from Rapa Nui. Jerome has a great place with 4 rooms to rent. Separated from the main house, each has it's own lanai and bathroom. All very basic, rustic, but clean. Jerome's tours were very informative, he knows the island history. We ate dinner at his home one evening, Ricardo is a good cook, and Margarita the housekeeper is very friendly. Great location, outside of town, quiet but close enough to walk to town. Iorana and Thank you Jerome for helping to make our visit so special.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thrftymama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2011

It seems at whatever hour LAN decides they should arrive – including 6.00am on a Sunday morning - Jerome meets his guests personally at the airport with a smile! The room is yours from the time you arrive until the time you depart on your last day. There is no set check in or check out time. Our outgoing flight was at 10.00 pm. Keeping the room was not a problem, as Jerome explained “I can’t expect my guests to wait on the island for 10 hours when there are no other flight options”. Very civilized indeed.

Jerome, who is French, and his Rapa Nui wife (and two daughters) operate their guest house just outside the main town facing the ocean about 100 metres away – far enough away from the noise of late night live music and barking dogs, upon which many reviewers have commented - but near enough for a 15 minute walk into town.

The flair is French, as is the breakfast and optional dinner, and many of the guests are French nationals from Tahiti. However, English speaking guests are made to feel very welcome. Jerome and his wife both speak fluent English, and Jerome’s tour of the island, which was very informative and knowledgeable (he is an official UNESCO guide), was conducted in flawless English.

Before settling in, Jerome gave us a fast tour of the town to get our ‘bearings’, showing us the locations of recommended restaurants, ATMs, car hire, post office etc.

Each room has its own terrace, and is set in a beautifully maintained floral garden. The room, although smallish, was impeccably clean. The bathroom and shower were quite adequate, with plenty of hot water available – a big plus to wash off the dry dust that blows relentlessly around Easter Island from the many unpaved roads and lack of rain.

The optional dinner, where all guests sit informally around one large table, was of a high ‘home cooking’ standard, although my wife would have preferred more vegetables.

We found our stay at Chez Jerome to be very good value, particularly given Easter Island’s reputation for high prices. The best selection of wines and spirits on the island is in the ‘Mini Market’ attached to the nearby gas station. We enjoyed an excellent meal on our last evening with another couple from Chez Jerome at the restaurant ‘les Pecheurs’, located by the wharf in town.

Overall, we enjoyed Easter Island and its amazing Moais - even more than we had expected.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brockles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights and got the "package" including tours. Jerome gives a great tour! We were with 3 french families from Tahiti and he did the site explanations in both english and french. Of course, as everyone said, the dinners were the best!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeetdragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2010

Easter island tends to be an expensive place to stay. Our rooms at this B&B were very clean but a bit dated. The location is very nice, near the ocean. Jerome's tours were done equally well in French and English. They were well paced and detailed. The food was very good and done in a french style with lots of cream sauce. The menu seems to be fixed which may be a problem if you have special dietary requirements. Jerome was very helpful with transportation and travel arrangements, especially when our flight was delayed!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanga Roa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 16 in Hanga Roa
294 reviews
1.2 mi away
Atavai Pension
Atavai Pension
#12 of 34 in Hanga Roa
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kahina Lodge
Kahina Lodge
#7 of 34 in Hanga Roa
75 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cabanas Moenga Rapa Nui
Cabanas Moenga Rapa Nui
#12 of 56 in Hanga Roa
57 reviews
0.7 mi away
Camping Mihinoa
Camping Mihinoa
#5 of 92 in Easter Island
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Jerome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Jerome

Address: correo Central S/N, Hanga Roa, Easter Island, Chile
Region: Chile > Easter Island > Hanga Roa
Amenities:
Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Hanga Roa
Price Range: £74 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chez Jerome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chez Jerome Easter Island/Hanga Roa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing