We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a holiday to remember”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chez Jerome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chez Jerome
Ranked #6 of 34 Hanga Roa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Andorra la Vella, Andorra
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“a holiday to remember”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

nothing but great words to say.
we made our plans to visit easter island from one day to the other. we contacted jerome and he replied immediately, despite the time difference (we were in europe).
at the arrival he was waiting for us at the airport as he said he would.
at the hotel: the room is big enough for 4 persons (although we were just 2) and it has a nice terrace. clean, comfy, it is worth every penny.
breakfast was included in our price, it was a very good breakfast with all you need for a day of wandering around the island.
as for jerome, he is the perfect host: he goes out of his way to offer his clients the extra detail that we all like and want: he drives you into town, he tries to arrange all your requests and to make you feel at home at the end of the world.
as for excursions: he is a very knowledgeable guide, he makes his tours private ( much better than being in a bus with some 15 other people) he gives a lot of explanations, he has the answer to all your questions and the prices are at same like the others charge for an excursion with 15 people.
to sum up: great holiday, great room and great host, great value for the money.
looking forward to meet him again sometimes in the future.
:)
florin

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank florin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    65
    18
    7
    2
See reviews for
33
95
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Super nice place, quiet and not too far from the city center.
Jerome is TRULY AMAZING! He will come get you at the airport and bring you there. He even took us to the city on a little tour on the day we arrived. We booked all our tours with him, since they were not expensive and we all left from his place together.
Rooms are clean, breakfast is good.

Really perfect little place :)
STRONGLY recommend!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pichilemu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

My husband (geologist) and I (retired French teacher) just spent a fabulous week Chez Jerome and thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it. Jerome is a talented guide and linguist (speaks fluent French, Spanish and English) and is passionate about the rich history of Easter Island. Unexpected quirks included a clean, freshly painted room with a new memory foam mattress, delicious and beautifully presented dinners (mostly local freshly-caught fish), a wonderful evening dance performance that Jerome's teen-aged daughter performed in, and of course the small, some private, tours of the island. Every night we watched the sunset from right across the street, just above Ana Kai Tangata cave. While there, we snorkeled one day, ate a lot of red tuna ceviche, and totally relaxed amidst the friendly and welcoming Polynesian people on the Island. Great trip throughout!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RosiePichilemu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Köln, Deutschland
Level Contributor
190 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

This little Bed and Breakfast is probably one of the best budget options on Easter Island. It is run by Jerome (Frenchman) and his family. Rooms are built around a nice garden and each room has a veranda facing the garden. The rooms are not luxurious and could definitely use some fresh paint (you see dead mosquitoes on the ceiling etc.) or refurbishment, but they are perfectly okay. A fan in each room helps to keep temperatures in the room cool when it is hot and humid outside.

The breakfast is taken at a big table together with the other guests and is sufficient, yet not exciting. The best part about this place is really Jerome himself. He has been living on the island for many years and takes guests around on tours which are very informative and fun. Jerome also offers free airport transfers and is flexible when a flight is delayed. He is very knowledgeable and helps with whatever question you may have.

The location of the hotel is a bit outside of town, you walk around 20 minutes into the town centre, which can be a bit long on a hot day, especially when you want to return to the hotel in between. Nearby is the beautiful coastline with a quite spectacular cave.

There is wifi in the hotel, but as everywhere on the island it is a bit slow and sometimes interrupted. Well, you are probably not on Easter Island to spend all day surfing the internet.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank airevents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

The location is good and near the airport, Jerome met us and took us back 3 days later. The family home is across the road from a historic site and a good vantage point for sunset viewing.
The room was very basic, it would be worth checking which room is available because I think the facilities varied. Our bathroom had a very temperamental shower with intermittent hot water and over all was in need of and up-grade. There was a double bed and a bunk bed, had there been 4 in the room it would have been a very tight fit. The humidity was high after a rain storm and we were glad Jerome could lend us a fan because without window screens or mosquito nets the biting insects were having a feast.
Basic breakfast was provided, juice, local hamburger-type buns, cake with chocolate sauce, jam and coffee.
Internet connection very patchy and slow throughout the island.
Recommend car hire when you get here, it is literally half the price if you hire locally and Jerome will organise it for you when you arrive. If you do not have a car there is a 2k walk into the main street, not great during the storms, but there are a number of interesting places to eat and pass the evening. All prices are high as everything is imported.
The roads can be challenging and a 4x4 is the sensible option to reach some of the sights. The main hazard on the roads are the semi wild horses (more horses than cattle on the island) but some seem in a poor state as they have been left to fend for themselves in a sparse environment.
Jerome is a charming, affable Frenchman with good English who would be happy to give you a tour of the island or to advise on the best way to use the time you have available.
Having seen other Tripadvisor reports we were disappointed with room so check what you will get in advance!

Room Tip: Not Room Six!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havana, Cuba
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

We, a middle aged couple, stayed 4 days (November 2012) at Chez Jerôme and were very happy. The rooms are not fancy but have everything you need for a very decent stay at the Easter Island. The hotel provides internet, is a 15 minutes walk away from the town centre, and offers good food for dinner. Jerôme is charming and an excellent guide with profound knowledge of the island, its culture and history – and has a good sense of humour. We had our tours in French but he speaks English and Spanish as well. We can definitely recommend the hotel if you are looking for a pleasant stay and don't need glamour but a relaxed and casual environment.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jue55mue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Really great place in Easter Island! Very close to some amazing cliffs! Stayed for 3 nights and 4 days there. Airport pick up is included. Very clean and always had hot water! Jerome is a very nice guy and very accommodating. Breakfast (included) was great. Dinner was really good too. He brings in a gourmet chef who cooked us some serious meat.
His tour (he is a unesco tour guide) was amazing and definitely wouldnt be able to see all of the island if it wasnt for him. Very nice to get a local perspective on things as well.
Jerome also accepts credit cards (VISA, and perhaps others too). Overall, highly recommended!

Room Tip: Maybe ask to see the bathroom before you pick which room (if available).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RC_Vancouver_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanga Roa hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
0.9 mi away
Taura'a Hotel
Taura'a Hotel
#4 of 15 in Hanga Roa
437 reviews
0.9 mi away
Taha Tai Hotel
Taha Tai Hotel
#6 of 15 in Hanga Roa
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 15 in Hanga Roa
269 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hare Noi
Hare Noi
#3 of 15 in Hanga Roa
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabanas Christophe
Cabanas Christophe
#1 of 34 in Hanga Roa
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Jerome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Jerome

Property: Chez Jerome
Address: correo Central S/N, Hanga Roa, Easter Island, Chile
Region: Chile > Easter Island > Hanga Roa
Amenities:
Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Hanga Roa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chez Jerome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chez Jerome Easter Island/Hanga Roa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing