We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trip Vacation Easter Island”
Review of Hotel Rapa Nui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Rapa Nui
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Hanga Roa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Antofagasta, Chile
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Trip Vacation Easter Island”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

The Administrator (Manuel) it´s a very friendly guy, and get all the request that we need.
The rooms are clean.
The breakfast is the standard
The tours are very complete, but if you need another places can ask to Manuel directly.
Another good tip is to rent a Jeep and drive in to the different places with a map, the cost is US 80 per day.
I strongly recommend to ask the curanto and dance Show the first day and request a place directly, cause all the people can be n that and the reservations its only to 80 peoples.

Try the two caves place.
Try the sunset in to the fifteen moais.

Room Tip: The rooms in the bottom are quiet and have a nice view to the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Dasencic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    121
    76
    16
    11
See reviews for
65
113
62
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Chez Joseph Hotel, Hanga Roa, Easter Island, Chile
This hotel was selected for us by the Visit Chile travel agency.
It is a well located bungalow-type hotel, simple but clean and comfortable.
Similar to most other hotels in the island, it has no phone nor TV in the room and the restaurant serves only continental breakfasts to the hotel guests. Neither is there a bar.
On our arrival there were some minor details which needed some asking and prompting on our side, but they were soon resolved. The administration was helpful and attentive.
From this hotel It is a short walk up to the church, some restaurants and a handicrafts market or down to the coast, stores and other restaurants.

Room Tip: Rooms in the higher area were better; we saw oyher rooms in the lower part and they seemed to be hum...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edgarubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We were in the hotel for 4 nights in July 2012. Apart from one shower each, all our showers were with cold water. The only person in charge, Manuel, gave excuse after excuse but not once did he apologise or try to resolve the problem. We were not able to sleep until 4 am on the first night because a group of tourists were having a barbeque right outside our window. Manuel's reaction was a shrug of the shoulders and the words "it has been authorised" and by whom I wonder? Towels were changed every 2 days and one day they took the towels away but didn't completely replace them. Manuel's only comment was "Oh, the cleaners probably didn't have any left when they got to your room". I almost had to chase him to the laundry room for a fresh towel! We would have missed the only show open on the island (the others were closed for holidays) due to his bad advice. Luckily we knew him by then and so we ignored his advice and managed to get into the club for a great "curanto" and show. Breakfast was fine and served with a smile. Wifi was weak, usually unavailable inside but often accessible from the garden. The most positive aspect of the hotel is it's central location. The worst aspect was Manuel's "couldn't care less" attitude.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BJCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Hotel has good location near the central square and all services. Staff is pleasant. Breakfast is on the small side but served with a smile.

Rooms are spartan but fine for a few days if you dont' have great expectations. Can't say if good value or not because don't know the prices at other properties on the island.

Wifi is available only from 7pm to 11pm although there can be interruptions. service is slow to glacial at times. Don't know how this compares to service at the private outlets or other hotels on the island.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oswestry, england
Level Contributor
574 reviews
213 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We were hoping for more from this "hotel" which is really not much more than an outbuilding turned into chalets. The rooms were big enough, the bed ok, and the price reasonable enough, but that was about it. It was a little shabby, which you can understand for anywhere on the island, and breakfast was barely worth bothering with, but the staff were friendly enough, not that we really saw them much. No facilities at all, just somewhere to sleep. Worth the price, but I wish we'd splashed out a bit more in this case...

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shaunsouthern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

The hotel is very well located, just a step away from the center of Hanga Roa. the rooms were clean, and the breakfast were good too. Just a little problem: for those bringing their own food (in cans or dehidrated, as is often recommended to travelers, given high food prices in the island), the hotel restaurant has no microwave to help you heat them.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CloBar17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easter Island, Chile
Level Contributor
116 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

This is a great hostel, if you want a quiet place, without television, internet ,telephones or hair dryers in the rooms, but who needs this stuffs?. That is perfect if you need a pause in the stressful modern life. The rooms are clean, and have a confortable bed, a closet and and a private bathroom. If you really need internet WIFI is available, and you can found a cybercafe in front of the hostel.The breakfast is small , but the hostel´s prices is low, so if you need a buffet you can take another hostel´s choise, but the food in Hanga Roa isn´t expensive in the Supermarkets and in the fast food places located in the main street. The owner is a very kind person and he can help you to found tours and cheap taxis for any place in the island.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jlizama16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanga Roa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 15 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.5 mi away
Taha Tai Hotel
Taha Tai Hotel
#7 of 15 in Hanga Roa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Taura'a Hotel
Taura'a Hotel
#4 of 15 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
4.3 mi away
explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
#1 of 23 in Easter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hare Noi
Hare Noi
#3 of 15 in Hanga Roa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rapa Nui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rapa Nui

Property: Hotel Rapa Nui
Address: Avareipua s/n, Hanga Roa, Easter Island 2770000, Chile (Formerly Chez Joseph )
Region: Chile > Easter Island > Hanga Roa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Hanga Roa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rapa Nui 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A standard option in the remote and mystical Easter Island, to satisfy the needs of those who come to know and enjoy the Rapa Nui culture . Located in Hanga Roa, between Avareipua streets and Te Pito o Te Henua, a privileged area defined by those already visited. A few minutes from the most important services for our guests, banks, Souvenirs areas, restaurants and archaeological sites as Ahu Tahai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rapa Nui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Turismo Chez Joseph Rapa Nui
Hotel Rapa Nui Easter Island/Hanga Roa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing