We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Easter Island Eco Lodge
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Hanga Roa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Hotel Rapa Nui is a nice hotel in downtown Hanga Roa. I bought their 4 nights 5 days package which included Airport pickup and dropoff, breakfast daily and a scooter.
I arrived on Easter Island and when I walked out of the airport the driver was there waiting for me. We drove to the hotel where I checked in. I was given a the keys to the scooter however it didn't start so the hotel called someone to look at it. We decided it would not be a good idea for me to take the scooter because this problem may happen again on the other side of the island, so they called a local rental agency and arranged for me to get one from them.
I was in one of the rooms on the lower part of the property. Nice enough. The bed wasn't overly comfortable an probably needed a mattress change. Hot water took a while to get to the room, but being on vacation, I was never so pressed I couldn't wait 5 mins for the pipes to warm up and the hot water to come out.
The staff was very nice and acted immediately on any concern.
The internet is 'weird'. The hotel has 2 networks and one of them was just a router plugged into the wall. The only spot to get internet was in front of the office. Nothing so pressing in my life that this was a problem. The times I couldn't get my phone to connect the front desk allowed me to use the computer to check.
The grounds are very nicely manicured with different flowers and trees. Very nice for sitting on the patio.
The hotel is on a dirt road, but it's only a 20 meter walk down the road. It rain while I was on the island but I couldn't imagine it being that difficult to get to when the road was wet.
The neighbours have chickens and roosters that wake up quite early and make a lot of noise. Again fine with me as I wanted to spend time sight seeing not sleep until noon. A few dogs were present on the grounds but they were very friendly and left shortly after breakfast. (Seemed to be a lot of strays everywhere in the village).
I think I got good value for my money, specially since Easter Island is a 5/6 hr flight from the closest spot where owners can get materials.

Room Tip: The closer you stay to the kitchen the quicker you get hot water. The road view rooms seemed to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank JymMorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapa N, Admistrador at Easter Island Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014
Google Translation

Estimado, agradecidos por que hayas tenido el tiempo de comentar tu experiencia vivida en el hotel. Sin duda, tomaremos en cuenta tus palabras.
Esperamos que tu estadía haya sido muy buena en nuestro hotel.
Saludos.

Manual Farias
Administrador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 52 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

Well, maybe my room was not the best one they have. The window in the bathroom was broken..There was some sort of broblem with hot water: sometimes you got hot water sometimes you didn´t. Also I didn´t understand why the insect I had found in my bathroom was still there (under the drinking glass where I had captured it) after the room had been cleaned...But if we forget inconveniences of the room, this hotel was ok. Staff was helpfull and english was spoken. It was easy to contact staff before I went there, chat with them and make the reservation for Easter Island tours.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 825Niina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rapa N, Gerente at Easter Island Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014
Google Translation

Estimada
Muchas gracias por compartir en Tripadvisor su reciente estadía con nosotros. Me alegra saber su experiencia en nuestro hotel, salvo algunos inconvenientes que agradezco también nos lo haya hecho saber. Cualquier otro comentario será bienvenido y desde luego lo esperamos nuevamente en un futuro cercano.
Cordialmente

José Pakomio
Gerente General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I was a little scared about the accomodations on the island because we are used to so much "fluff" in the states even when staying at basic accomodations; but this is what I learned.
All the accomodations on the island are basic. It is not about the accomodations, it's the experience of the island itself that is the reason for going. Our room 123 was at the bottom of a curved path lined with tropical plants. Yes you hear roosters and dogs all the time, but you can't escape it and after a few days it's kind of funny to hear them all talking to eachother. Our room was very basic, but clean. No tv, no clock radio, no clock at all (haha). Breakfast everyday was a buffet style of ham and cheese slices, bread, pastries, fresh juice and biscuits. Sufficient to start the day and clean. We ate ours on the common are deck every morning. Wifi worked great on that deck and the reception area. We checked emails and uploaded photos each morning fine.

The icing on the cake of this hotel is the one and only Manuel. What a great manager! He was always around to help or just talk to about island life. He even attempted to teach my fiance spanish! Manuel-we cannot thank you enough for your true hospitality! Easter Island wouldn't have been half the experience for us without you! Never forget baby jane haha!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BeachBummmm17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JhoneRAPANUI, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Easter Island Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014
Google Translation

Estimado

Queremos agradecerte por compartir tu experiencia en Hotel Rapa Nui. Nos agrada que disfrutaras de la encanto de Rapa Nui y hayas tenido una linda estadía con nosotros.

Transmitiremos tus comentarios y felicitaciones sobre la calidad y servicio a nuestro personal, en especial a Manuel. Esta es una característica distintiva de nuestro hotel ,

Saludos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed there one night during our stay on Rapa Nui (we had made reservations elsewhere, but they couldn't accomodate us for our first night on the island, so that's how we ended up at Hotel Rapa Nui). The hotel is close to town. Here's the thing we figured out by the time we left: If you are "in town," you will hear roosters and dogs. More than likely, you will also see roaches. (Note: We did not see ANY roaches during our stay at Hotel Rapa Nui, but saw them every other place we stayed.) If you want to get away from the roosters and dogs, you will have to get away from town, which means you will need a rental car if you don't already have one to get back into town. (Automatic cars cost about $100/day). The wifi at the hotel worked if you sat on the bench outside of the office. Breakfast was "meh" - some juice, apples and bread from the nearby supermarket. There is not always a staff-member on the property. Our guide service picked us up at the airport, and I am not sure who she talked to at the hotel, but an employee gave us the key and eventually we saw Manuel that night. When we checked out, the office was closed. We could not see the ocean at all.

This is probably comparable to a Motel 6 back in the US. For the price of a Hilton in the US.

Room Tip: If you want to be close to the wifi, ask to be near the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CarrieMississippi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I just finished a 3 night stay there. I travel a lot but this is my first time to Easter Island. Here's what I liked and didn't like:

pros
1). It is relatively close to everything.
2). It was the best price I could find for a hotel.

cons
1). There is no service. Interns are brought in from Santiago to do front desk and given a place to stay apparently for compensation. My guess is that they weren't actually getting paid. At least that's how I was treated.

2). This was probably the second least nicest hotel I have ever been at. And that's actually pretty bad. The worst had cockroaches and mildew everywhere.

3). There doesn't appear to be any kind of management. It is family ran. Other than Manuel I didn't see anyone else around. And to be bluntly honest. He was only walking around or talking to the interns.

4). Wifi is non-existent. Even sitting 2 feet from the wifi transmitter at the comedor I still wast able to go on the internet.

5). The roosters will have you up at 4am.

Summary
I can't recommend this hotel. I would pay more and stay somewhere else with professional staff. There were just too many flaws with no apparent oversight of the hotel operation. In this case, I did get what I paid for. Next time I will pay more.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rob2817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My wife and I spent 3 days on Easter Island and found the accomodations in Hotel Noi to be first class. Stayed in cabin 3, and although nice with a partial ocean view, we would recommend trying to rent the cabin higher up (Cabin 7-10) that offer breath taking views. The restaurant and staff were excellent.
Our guided tour given by Matias (and his wife Uri with Uahu tours) was arranged by the Hotel staff. His knowledge of the island history and sites was amazing and his english and spanish excellent. We strongly recommend the guided tours to get a good feel for the island and it's unbelievable history!
My wife and I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Choose the higher number cabins for a better ocean view. Restaurant area had great views and good W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lespin93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

No frills but a good hotel to stay in. I spent most of my time exploring the island and would come in just to sleep. It is well located, around the corner of a main in stree in Hanga Roa. Just walk a few steps and you will have an internet spot which is not expensive to use it, and also a rental car place (oceanic). Some stores and few restaurants as well. Hotel room is big with a good size bathroom. Intenet connection is free but slow specially at hours guests are in all together using it. The internet place around the corner has it much faster. Hotel offers a airport pick-up and drop-off for $6 USD. Everything is really close by in the island.

Room Tip: I had room 121 which has a double bed and a single bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gilberto40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanga Roa hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 16 in Hanga Roa
304 reviews
0.5 mi away
Taha Tai Hotel
Taha Tai Hotel
#6 of 16 in Hanga Roa
411 reviews
0.4 mi away
Taura'a Hotel
Taura'a Hotel
#7 of 16 in Hanga Roa
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
1.2 mi away
Hotel Hare Boutik
Hotel Hare Boutik
#3 of 16 in Hanga Roa
249 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Altiplanico
Hotel Altiplanico
#8 of 16 in Hanga Roa
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Easter Island Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Easter Island Eco Lodge

Address: Avareipua s/n, Hanga Roa, Easter Island 2770000, Chile (Formerly Hotel Rapa Nui)
Region: Chile > Easter Island > Hanga Roa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Hanga Roa
Price Range: £92 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Easter Island Eco Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the navel of the world is our ecological project that seeks to optimize natural resources, with a philosophy that seeks to achieve sustainable development through the responsible use of our ecosystem. Hotel Rapa Nui was re-designed in search of the perfect balance of preservation and appreciation of the natural and cultural beauty that the mystical Easter Island offers its visitors. Our internationally certified ecological policies under the "Biosphere" and "TripAdvisor" stamps make us the only sustainable native island hotel in Easter Island. Come to enjoy and discover with us the mysterious ancestral culture of Rapa Nui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Easter Island Eco Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Turismo Chez Joseph Rapa Nui
Easter Island Eco Lodge Hanga Roa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing