We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The words "arrogant" and "ripoff" come to mind!”
Review of Hotel Rapa Nui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Rapa Nui
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Hanga Roa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 16 July 2010

The owners and staff of this hotel saw the influx of tourists for July's total solar eclipse as an ideal opportunity for large scale price gouging on an unprecedented level.

The hotel is set off an unsealed, dirt road which was mostly muddy during the three days of our group's stay. This meant that mud was unavoidably tracked along hotel pathways (making them slippery) and into rooms.

The rooms were small but adequate in size. The beds had thin, old matresses although the linen was clean. The spare blankets had been folded sometime in the last century and left on top of what was laughingly called a wardrobe to gather dust.
The room was musty and smelled like a 1970's beach shack.

The very small ensuite was basic. The door only closed with great effort and alot of noise from the door binding against the frame. The toilet would, at times, not stop flushing and it was quicker to fix it ourselves than to get hotel staff to look at the problem.

The supply of hot water was a contentious problem. No one in our 32 member group had a hot shower for every day we were there. Hotel staff did look into the problem but only reluctantly.

Breakfast was served before anyone was actually seated in the dining room. The tables were laid and food was placed in the bowls/plates and then left for an unknown amount of time (possibly for up to two hours) before patrons came in for breakfast. A typical meal consisted of a small serving of fruit, two small choc-chip cookies, one bread roll, one slice of cheese, one slice of ham and a single serve of butter and jam. A waitress poured half a small glass of fruit juice upon your arrival. Tea and coffee were available.

Wireless internet access was available but only within close range to the reception desk and even then only intermittently.

Considering this level of service, I would expect to pay about USD20 per night. The reality was 100 times that amount! This is where the words "arrogant" and "ripoff" come to mind.

Rapa Nui is a wonderful place and well worth the visit but do not stay at this hotel which is run by a family of Shylocks!

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Volans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 74 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2010

We stayed for 4 nights at this hotel, if it hadnt been for the fact we were there to see the eclipse and travelling with such wonderful people this part of the holiday would have been a travisty. The hotel was damp, old, unkempt, the majority of the time no hot water, majority of the time no WiFi as advertised, the food left a lot to be desired.... stale breadrolls, dried up cheese and meat and a combination of unrecognisable fruit juices and cake!!! The hotel seemed to have been over booked and seemed not to care too much. Our tour leader did his upmost to sort it and did a great job, heaven knows what it would have been like if he hadnt been there! So if you get chance.... find somewhere esle. They did have some new rooms which they encamped some extra guests, but we were led to understand they were unfinished!

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank eclipsevirgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

A complete rip off from the moment we arrived. Mouldy and smelly rooms greeted us. The breakfast was one stale bread roll with meat and cheese and the service was terrible to say the very least. Do not stay here under any circumstances.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FrankNni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2010

Joseph is very kind and helpful, he organizes half/one day trips over the island (at a reasonable price) and he's a good and well prepared guide. He's also available to rent you one of its cars if you need it for a self made trip. The residence is very simple but clean. Breakfast is not that rich but it's good and acceptable. I think a reasonable price for one night-double room + breakfast is about 90$, more than that is too much and I got a discount from the initial 120$ after a quick discussion (we had some complaints). However, in general, a very nice stay for people without too many requirements..

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davdtm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

I was not very happy with this hotel because there is a lot of broken promise from the hotel manager! I booked a single occupancy and paid USD110 for 4 nights. When I arrived, they lead me to a room with 2 single bed, so I said I thought it is a double bed. They said it is no problem, you are alone. Then, I met a guy from US the next day and he got a room with a double bed, a much nicer room and he paid USD60 for it.
On top, the hotel manager tries to persue ppl to buy the tour from the hotel and end up paying USD60 for the entrance fee. If you take a tour with the tour agency, it is only USD10. But the hotel manager will not tell you that.
The hotel manager tried to book a tour through the tour agency and the tour agency refused to give me any space until he used my name. It is something to be aweared!
On top, they said got WiFi, they will turn it off anytime they want.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SepilokfFui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2010

chez joseph is the best place on easter island. a quiet and small oasis with a warm welcome. rooms are nice and the service is more than friendly. The staff will organise everything for you.

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tapati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2010

The rooms have a musty smell though the floors are clean. The showers were bad. It was difficult to adjust the temperatures of the showers. It took long time for the warm water and within a minute the water turned cold.

The toilet flush was also not functioning well.

The hostel staff agreed to assist us with the booking of tours but they booked for us only one full day tour and forgot about the half day tour. We reminded the hostel staff to confirm our tour booking but the staff carelessly told us that they did the booking (without even calling to check with the tour company).

Even the meals requests were not well followed up. Bad communication between the hostel staff and the agency.

Look elsewhere in Rapa Nui, there are more and better choices !

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LavanderiaChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanga Roa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 16 in Hanga Roa
294 reviews
0.5 mi away
Taha Tai Hotel
Taha Tai Hotel
#7 of 16 in Hanga Roa
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Taura'a Hotel
Taura'a Hotel
#6 of 16 in Hanga Roa
442 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Hotu Matua
Hotel Hotu Matua
#14 of 16 in Hanga Roa
36 reviews
4.3 mi away
explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
explora Rapa Nui - All Inclusive
#1 of 24 in Easter Island
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rapa Nui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rapa Nui

Address: Avareipua s/n, Hanga Roa, Easter Island 2770000, Chile (Formerly Chez Joseph )
Region: Chile > Easter Island > Hanga Roa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Hanga Roa
Price Range: £88 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rapa Nui 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the navel of the world is our ecological project that seeks to optimize natural resources, with a philosophy that seeks to achieve sustainable development through the responsible use of our ecosystem. Hotel Rapa Nui was re-designed in search of the perfect balance of preservation and appreciation of the natural and cultural beauty that the mystical Easter Island offers its visitors. Our internationally certified ecological policies under the "Biosphere" and "TripAdvisor" stamps make us the only sustainable native island hotel in Easter Island. Come to enjoy and discover with us the mysterious ancestral culture of Rapa Nui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rapa Nui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Turismo Chez Joseph Rapa Nui
Hotel Rapa Nui Easter Island/Hanga Roa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing