We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Easter Island Accommodation,not bad but nothing special”
Review of Mana Nui Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mana Nui Inn
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Hanga Roa
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Typical Easter Island Accommodation,not bad but nothing special”
Reviewed 12 April 2013 via mobile

Like most accommodation on the Island, this is a family run venture, they pick you up from the airport and make recommendations to take tours etc through their connections. We organised all these ourselves for much cheaper. But that is Easter Island, tourists come to an isolated island to look at the wonders, the locals provide the key to these and they make their living from it. We go there aware of this and know that it will be expensive and not 5 star and that's fine. We thoroughly enjoyed the island, the volcanic craters, famous Maui, caves, the gorgeous little beach near the large platform of Mauis...more powerful and awe inspiring than we'd imagined. Our 3 night stay gave us plenty of time to cover the island. Mana Nui Inn is on the edge of the only "town" a nice location that's about 15 minute casual walk in. A tad hilly if that is an issue for you. As others have said, the loud music from a nearby place on weekends was very annoying, and I am a music lover, but this was selfish, smothering every place anywhere nearby and such a pity to ruin the natural beauty and a good nights sleep. None of the Inns personnel were around that night so you had no one to talk about it to get it turned down a bit. I have tried to give readers a good overview of what to expect on the Island and at this Inn. We are so glad to have finally got to this destination of our childhood dreams, that's what it was all about for us and the amount of time there was plenty for us to do all we'd planned.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellersT00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    61
    19
    10
    5
See reviews for
25
76
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

I absolutely fell in love with this island. Based on many reviews I was hesitant on how many days to stay not knowing what to expect, but definitely it was the simplicity and genuine feel of the people that made it all much better. The hotel staff were very welcoming and attentive. The location was perfect to what I was looking for. It was close to the moai, restaurants and city center. Having the staff pick us up from the airport was very convenient and offered a great introduction to the island. Our flight arrived very early in the morning yet we were allowed to check in before permitted time. It was also beneficial to have continental breakfast included. This hotel is not luxurious, it is basic yet compliments the island feel. They do offer wi-fi in the common area where you have breakfast. They do accept credit card but it is dependent on the Internet being available. Be sure to have extra cash handy just in case, if relying to use credit card. We stayed for two nights and were able to have a very good stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Copper07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Nice little hotel run by a family like many hotels in Easter Island. We were here for 3 nights. We arrived late from Santiago and Patricia welcomed us at the airport in the middle of the night with a flower necklace. The room they planned for us had some issues and we stayed in another one (room 4 if I recall correctly) for the first night. They asked whether we wanted to move to another room (room 7) on the second day. Yes we did because it was closer to the ocean and it was a small building without other rooms. Both rooms were clean and very big. We had good space to open our two big luggage without having those in our feet all the time. The breakfast is also nice and set ready on the table for all the rooms in the dining area. The breakfast varies a little from day to day. The staff was very nice and ready to help in everything related to tours and car rental. Not all of them had good English skills but some of them did so we were able to take care of what we needed. We had a late flight away from Easter Island. Although we had to give away our room already 10am, we were allowed to leave our bags in their facilities and there was kitchen and toilet in our use in addition to nice living room type of terrace where we surfed the Internet and relaxed the last few hours before our flight. And we were taken back to the airport by the staff and a necklace was given to us. Location of the hotel was good as it was 10min walking distance from Hanga Roa ”city center” and 5mins from Hanga Roa coastline where you'll also find restaurants. We liked the location on coastline and still walking distance to Hanga Roa. Airport pick up and drop off as well as breakfast was included in the 100e per night rate and made the rate very reasonable considering the island's rates.
On the down side, there are few things I'm pointing out and these don't take anything away from the hospitality and kindness of this hotel. In the first room on the evening of our arrival, I stepped onto cockroach while washing my teeth. In the morning when we woke up, we saw another one in the toilet. I just got rid of them and believe they might be normal here just like in many other warm places. In the second room, we didn't notice those. There are also cocks around the hotel and many other places around the island. In the first night, I had really bad sleep because of one starting to yell 4am. My earplugs couldn't do much as it was behind our room. The second room we had was somehow better and I couldn't here them although I saw some cocks walking just outside our room. Maybe they stayed further away from it overnight.
The hotel has three rooms that are a bit closer to the ocean and these are separate buildings without other rooms. On the back of these rooms, there are roughly ~5 more rooms with a bit less ocean view.
If I ever come back to Easter Island which may be unlikely, Mana Nui Inn is definitely an alternative. However, I would browse a bit to see alternatives in the 70-80e/night category.

Room Tip: The hotel has three rooms (at least #4 and #7, don't know the third one) that are a bit closer t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ranttis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milano
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Good compromise between price and location, the cabanas are not all new, but the service is good, recommended especially for the angle and quiet but still within 10 minutes from the center of hanga roa

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ser_mazzol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

The owner/manager of the hotel is SUPER AMAZING and friendly!!! She actually served us breakfast every morning and the food is awesome!!! The room is very natural with local flavour. It is relatively simple therefore please do not expect any fancy facilities or accommendation. The vibe and atmosphere is really authentic. We could park our car right in front of our door steps. It's actually located a bit out of the main street but it's only a 10 minutes walk. I really enjoyed my stay!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Mana Nui is a great value. We stayed in a separate cabin for about $110 per night, which gives you a lot for your money compared with the rest of the lodging on the island. Easter Island is notoriously pricey anyway, so this was a pretty good find.

The cabin was pretty good--two rooms, bathroom, front porch, lots of sliding glass doors to let in the breeze, refrigerator. We ended up in a cabin that was directly behind the main building and lobby, so I can't exactly say we had an ocean view, unfortunately.

The breakfasts were good, and Bicky is very nice (though she does not speak English, so we had some difficulty communicating with her). The hotel is slightly outside town, just about a 5-minute walk, which is perfectly fine and offers some peace and quiet from the bustle of town.

My only complaint is that from early in the morning until late at night (about 7 a.m. to 11 p.m.) we would hear bass from music somewhere. I don't know if it was the neighbors' music or music coming from the lobby area (I think it was probably a mix of both), but when you are trying to relax in your private oasis and all you hear is the walls vibrating, it gets very annoying very quick.

I would have given Mana Nui 4 stars, but I have to go with 3 because the bass sometimes interrupted sleep and irritated me whenever I was in my cabin. If bass doesn't annoy you like it annoys me, then I'd say Mana Nui would be a good choice considering the other options on the island.

SIDE NOTE: I'd highly recommend taking the full-day island tour that Mana Nui offers. We normally aren't the type to take guided tours, I should add. The guide, Patricio, gave us such an outstanding perspective of the island and history that our tour day was one of the highlights of our entire 17-day vacation. The difference is that the tours through Mana Nui are only offered to the hotel's few guests, so it ended up that our tour was a private tour. We encountered other tours through the town's tour agencies and saw big groups of about 15, which I think would ruin the experience. Our tour with Patricio was money well spent.

Room Tip: If you request a cabin, ask for a cabin near the front of property near the ocean. You will have bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Islandgirl3285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

They were so nice and although it was a fair bit cheaper than other hotels on the island it had the best service. They were actually concerned with our experience rather than us paying the bill (as another hotel we stayed at). This one was walking distance from the best sunset place on the island and had a couple of restaurants (good values) also within walking distance. They have a communal kitchen so we could buy stuff at the store and eat at the hotel or do take out and bring it back to see sunset while we had dinner.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uluwhehi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanga Roa hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Hotu Matua
Hotel Hotu Matua
#14 of 15 in Hanga Roa
35 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Puku Vai
Hotel Puku Vai
#2 of 15 in Hanga Roa
281 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tea Nui - Cabanas y Habitaciones
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Hangaroa Eco Village & Spa
0.7 mi away
Taha Tai Hotel
Taha Tai Hotel
#6 of 15 in Hanga Roa
378 reviews
0.7 mi away
Taura'a Hotel
Taura'a Hotel
#5 of 15 in Hanga Roa
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mana Nui Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mana Nui Inn

Property: Mana Nui Inn
Address: Peterep Atamu, S/N | Tahai, Hanga Roa, Easter Island 100, Chile
Region: Chile > Easter Island > Hanga Roa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hanga Roa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mana Nui Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with familiar environment near the Tahai area with ocean view. We have a complete kitchen to be use only for our guest with no additional charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mana Nui Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mana Nui Hotel Hanga Roa
Manu Nui Hotel
Mana Nui Inn Easter Island/Hanga Roa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing